GLGT - [BREAKING!] ICA temporarily suspends e-service after 80 unauthorised attempts to change residential address

BohemianSG

The real issue they do not believe it is their system at fault but it is the peasants who stupid thats why all these things happen. Despite what is really happening, they will stick to that narrative. Cause they so smart, how can they be wrong one.

BuffBuffForevaAttached

doubt it is related to ACRA issue
likely could be those NRIC alrdy leaked online or dark web

https://www.resecurity.com/blog/art...geting-digital-identity-of-singapore-citizens

eacdd39cb47f887f20b75fd95acae031.png
No matter what it is still related. At the minimum, it highlights the risk brought about by the leak and the potential problems it can bring.

BuffBuffForevaAttached

who lai de
but ACRA the programmers v wu gu leh
to programmers the logic is as such what!

whoever comes up with nric same as name logic one, 甘拜下风

whoever thinking of replacing yet with another set of date of issue is really ....... dont know what to say liao
the director jin cham lo if he didnt propose for this, if he warns of it etc n feedback not taken then how

somehow i see my friend working in big co environment, i wonder such big organization, is it only got boss giving commands and those below just have to follow instructions?

r there any reasons those below cannot give feedback??? or they dont dare to give because if they give,,,???

1-scare tio arrow then become own prob and ppl so high salary why must do their work?
2- say liao ppl think they act smart or think they know it bigger but they r small flies??? credit also not taken by small ones???
3- those higher up the ladders dont even wana open their ears to listen??? they dont want to hear excuses but solutions??? then no(1) might come up because if got taichi = no2???
4-silent feedback- then working culture really jialat liao until no one wana voice out , something those on top need to reflect upon???
QFT!!

BuffBuffForevaAttached

Quote: "At a press conference on Jan 11, ICA Commissioner Marvin Sim said there was no indication that foreign actors were involved, and that the scammers were likely to be locals. There was also no particular demographic of victims involved.
ICA has temporarily suspended the change of address function on its website to implement additional security measures to prevent further abuse."

This stupid govt allowing scammers to control and instill fear into our daily life. Damn. Go introduce death penalty for all these scammers starting with local scammers especially, they deserve death for trying to scam fellow countryman , they should be classified as traitor, they are worse than drug dealer becos drug most sinkies are not using drugs but online service every single citizen are using..

but knowing our govt, they will do nothing , maybe go catch chicken anti-vice they very on the ball
Actually, on what basis is ICA, saying that the foreign actors were not involved in the scammers are likely to be locals?

Just based on the IP address used to access the portal or the physical address that the new password is sent to? Don't they know that it is possible that foreigners can somehow have backdoor control over this kind of location based identifiers? Or are saying this statement to give the possibly false impression that the issue is small and localized, instead of international?

tExtra

Actually, on what basis is ICA, saying that the foreign actors were not involved in the scammers are likely to be locals?

Just based on the IP address used to access the portal or the physical address that the new password is sent to? Don't they know that it is possible that foreigners can somehow have backdoor control over this kind of location based identifiers? Or are saying this statement to give the possibly false impression that the issue is small and localized, instead of international?
Because locals commit more crimes. :rolleyes:

prudie

it’s easy to guess the date of issue - can narrow it to the year.

if adult means 30 years old it changed. If senior means 55 years. The first 2 digits of the nric gives the year liao. So add 30 or add 55. Just need to brute force 365 times

not many would have an odd / off cycle issue date due to lost / replacement.

prudie

How to guess the issue date? It should be a sequence of logic that generates the issue date. So does that mean internal process has leaks?
There are fixed periods for ic issuance… for adults 1 update at 30 years old another at 55 years old. The first 2 digits of nric gives your year of birth Liao ….. so it’s a matter of 365 guesses

I think they should make online change of address to require singpass login. Not just input issue date. And if you cannot receive your Singpass mailed due to the change of address, it has to be self collect at govt agency.

Wu-Han Clan

i nt surprise lah... is a matter of time something go wrong lah.... if one moment we treat NRIC like password... all secretive... use NRIC to authenticate this... authenticate tt... suddenly say NRIC is nt secret... can unmask... is nt v diff from a password leak right???

jywy2005

They say those who abuse it to change address might do it so that they can activate the SingPass password reset that would send the new password to the registered address... then the SingPass account tio hijack liao...
Yes, received a call from a scammer purportedly working in a bank anti-fraud department. Told me my cc card chalked up unauthorized transactions.

But the truth is I do not have any cc with that bank. So I questioned the scammer how was it possible to apply for cc on in the first place and didn't receive the card or otp to activate the card.

Scammer mentioned about identity theft via compromised singpass. So hacker got in and changed address and hp no. And applied for cc without my knowledge.

He told me to mare a police report some more.

What gave him away was he offered to link me up with MAS anti-fraud department to file a report. This second scammer told me to make a video recording of myself holding my ic ...of course no no. Told him I see him personally at MAS building

The scary part is that the two scammets sound like locals..with our accent...and could give me details like Ang MO address that the card was mailed to etc.

Fortunately, it's just a scam. I called up the bank hot line. No cc under my name. Also reported to MAS

Come to think of it, if I made a video, I think they can use AI to unlock my Face ID, change the IC details and hack into singpass. Probably access my cpf too.

Nowadays, be careful of sending digital copies of your nric. They can phish for the date of issue.

blueweed

they still dont want to come clean who exactly did this crap and fire the person in charge.

NeonX

lol, sg cyber security has always been a joke, well known fact amongst the scammers ma, nothing suprising

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.