Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

Emperor_Hippo

Interesting observation. I notice when I go to bread and butter car dealers they always show me the exit door when I enquire if there’s further discount to seal the deal.
However conti dealers are more accommodating and like to talk even when you low ball them they don’t get angry.

I initially wanted to seal the deal with a byd seal last year at 168K but the dealer refused to process my order. He kept saying 168k is marketing price and Won’t get it. Even asked to quote trade in price of my old car he didn’t respond or even reply.
actually the reason why B&B car dealers gets annoyed for deal seekers is because their margin is technically very low cos they do and thrive on volume sales.

for conti dealers, their margins are higher and therefore as long as u are not making unreasonable demands (like free upgrade from GLB to GLE), typically 好商量 (like GLA to GLB upgrade cos their GLB model not moving + GLA and GLB belong to the same market categorization one).

yah. so for B&B cars, don't bother seeking deals.

this is also the reason why Conti ADs are pushing out Cat A vehicles and willing to give free upgrade at first launch.

LoUsyGamER

the Clutch Pack wear out primarily becos of the physics and working principles of the DG240 dry clutch. plus ppl treat the DSG clutch macam like some shiet CVT automatic car, sure chui damn fast.

the MU issue is due to the use of synthetic oil (or mineral oil) that caused the MU Board to leak sulphur into the oil that caused damage, this issue already solved since 2015 batch liao mah.
The vw brand or sub brand had slowly moved to torque converter, tc.

Zf8 torque converter tuned is better than dct tuned, in term of reliability and performance.

Emperor_Hippo

The vw brand or sub brand had slowly moved to torque converter, tc.

Zf8 torque converter tuned is better than dct tuned, in term of reliability and performance.
hmmm? not implemented in current VW models yet right?

anyway, lets see how it all goes.

RePlaY

actually the reason why B&B car dealers gets annoyed for deal seekers is because their margin is technically very low cos they do and thrive on volume sales.

for conti dealers, their margins are higher and therefore as long as u are not making unreasonable demands (like free upgrade from GLB to GLE), typically 好商量 (like GLA to GLB upgrade cos their GLB model not moving + GLA and GLB belong to the same market categorization one).

yah. so for B&B cars, don't bother seeking deals.

this is also the reason why Conti ADs are pushing out Cat A vehicles and willing to give free upgrade at first launch.
Yes! Look at the price of BYD dolphin after ARF but before COE and you start wondering how much it really costs them to produce one car. Whereas conti brands adopt a super mark up strategy and then give generous discounts or freebies to entice buyers.

TopGun

Interesting observation. I notice when I go to bread and butter car dealers they always show me the exit door when I enquire if there’s further discount to seal the deal.
However conti dealers are more accommodating and like to talk even when you low ball them they don’t get angry.

I initially wanted to seal the deal with a byd seal last year at 168K but the dealer refused to process my order. He kept saying 168k is marketing price and Won’t get it. Even asked to quote trade in price of my old car he didn’t respond or even reply.

Pretty much the same now when I went with my friend to purchase a BYD. The advert price is not the price you will get to pay. Basically it's based on 6 non guaranteed bids which you will surely not get.

Couple years back when I was buying my car, Kah motor gave me such a poor trade in price that the cost of a 1.5T civic is just slightly lower than the top line VW group 2L Turbo sedan after some negotiation. And Kah was not even willing to negotiate. None brainer decision for me. Even Merc, Audi, Volvo gave a good quote.

Emperor_Hippo

Pretty much the same now when I went with my friend to purchase a BYD. The advert price is not the price you will get to pay. Basically it's based on 6 non guaranteed bids which you will surely not get.

Couple years back when I was buying my car, Kah motor gave me such a poor trade in price that the cost of a 1.5T civic is just slightly lower than the top line VW group 2L Turbo sedan after some negotiation. And Kah was not even willing to negotiate. None brainer decision for me. Even Merc, Audi, Volvo gave a good quote.
Bite the bullet.

a entry level VW is wayyyyyy better than a B&B brand.

eversomighty

Its a money-grab strategy by merc trying to cash in on brand conscious Asians lah.

want to look at the real lineup? C, E, S, Maybach.
what wrong with earning what they deserve? U can CHOOSE not to buy, got ppl point gun at u meh? Since u are a saint, why not tell your boss, u dont need salary for the rest of your life and be holy about it.

Emperor_Hippo

what wrong with earning what they deserve? U can CHOOSE not to buy, got ppl point gun at u meh? Since u are a saint, why not tell your boss, u dont need salary for the rest of your life and be holy about it.
sorry to had touched your bottomline, ex-car salesman.

fact is, you get a different commission tier selling mass market, easy-moving GLA and GLB models vs C, E, S and Maybach right?

That's why the often nicknamed C class level is called "cheap class" as opposed to the traditional E, S and Maybach.

eversomighty

Thanks for recommendation.

I watched the entire sgcarmart youtube review on this car.

It looks really nice and is a bigger class than glb for sure. More like alphard competitor.

But its unlikely that i want to spend over 300k for a kimchi car
I went to kaypoh about this car.. apart from the brand, the finishes are quite nice. Like u, I wont spend that kinda money on a kimchi car too. I was in Korea last year and was looking at Genesis, it feels really up market. Also part of Hyundai group.

eversomighty

sorry to had touched your bottomline, ex-car salesman.

fact is, you get a different commission tier selling mass market, easy-moving GLA and GLB models vs C, E, S and Maybach right?

That's why the often nicknamed C class level is called "cheap class" as opposed to the traditional E, S and Maybach.
Im in the industry but not car salesman unfortunately. Even car salesman earn better than 90% of the ppl here la.. u didnt touched my bottomline but i see the ugly side of u. U so atas, u drive what car? Stay GCB ar? U need some ppl to carry your heavy balls?

Emperor_Hippo

Im in the industry but not car salesman unfortunately. Even car salesman earn better than 90% of the ppl here la.. u didnt touched my bottomline but i see the ugly side of u. U so atas, u drive what car? Stay GCB ar? U need some ppl to carry your heavy balls?
if pointing out an internal hardcore fact for what it is openly is sufficient to piss you off to go on a rabid attack on me out of nowhere, then it's clear where your position is in the car industry liao. :s13:

if calling out facts = seeing my ugly side, please say what you feel like.

There may be an urgent and angry need to defend your industry given that I'd just pointed out the actual market demarcation between GLA-GLB vs C, E, S (Maybach is on a different level) class, but frankly speaking u don't really need to go to this level.

and frankly speaking, even if I were to tell u anything real, there's 100% chance that you will not, in your current fit of anger just by reading my replies, believe me at all. :s13:

so, enjoy your holidays. this is my last reply to your reply, so feel free to have your last words at me if this is your style. :s13:

deathscthe

Maybe Gen 4 Tiguan will see implementation of ZF8 TC.

by that time, I think mine also due to change liao. Maybe hit 150,000 or 200,000 liao.
Now the cat A tiguan pricing makes more sense previously under cat b think everyone just go audi instead. Actually now tiguan price can walk over to skoda see kodiaq, bigger with 2 extra seats

Emperor_Hippo

Now the cat A tiguan pricing makes more sense previously under cat b think everyone just go audi instead. Actually now tiguan price can walk over to skoda see kodiaq, bigger with 2 extra seats
previously under cat b makes no sense lah.

i mean for that kind of cat b pricing for tiguan, go buy a Q2 or Q3 makes more sense.

but even though VW Singapore takes the 1.5 version of the Tiguan and up-spec it to include all the "little luxuries", it makes it quite competitive among the SUV market.

all it takes is just people to break away from that VW = bad gearbox.

XcoVar

Jialat ehhh....so many conflict & bitter comments. Organise a boxing match suah.

dirtysock

previously under cat b makes no sense lah.

i mean for that kind of cat b pricing for tiguan, go buy a Q2 or Q3 makes more sense.

but even though VW Singapore takes the 1.5 version of the Tiguan and up-spec it to include all the "little luxuries", it makes it quite competitive among the SUV market.

all it takes is just people to break away from that VW = bad gearbox.

Why go for Q2 or Q3, compared to the Cat B Tiguan? Thought it's all the same, just different body style and brand.

:bandit:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.