Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

deathscthe

Yes! Look at the price of BYD dolphin after ARF but before COE and you start wondering how much it really costs them to produce one car. Whereas conti brands adopt a super mark up strategy and then give generous discounts or freebies to entice buyers.
thought normally they put rrp higher so can get higher loan amounts only

previously under cat b makes no sense lah.

i mean for that kind of cat b pricing for tiguan, go buy a Q2 or Q3 makes more sense.

but even though VW Singapore takes the 1.5 version of the Tiguan and up-spec it to include all the "little luxuries", it makes it quite competitive among the SUV market.

all it takes is just people to break away from that VW = bad gearbox.
yea the 1.5 now is ok for those looking at conti on a tighter budget. now mostly all go to x1 since it is slightly more expensive only and u get the bmw badge

deathscthe

Why go for Q2 or Q3, compared to the Cat B Tiguan? Thought it's all the same, just different body style and brand.

:bandit:
that's why last time SEAT was the value leader since all on same platform now it's back to skoda

Emperor_Hippo

Why go for Q2 or Q3, compared to the Cat B Tiguan? Thought it's all the same, just different body style and brand.

:bandit:
MQB same platform. branding and software different.

the tiering of brand value set by VAG also different mah. its abit like Luxottica. u offer choice of brands but underneath, u use the same MQB platform to daisy chain out the same car to cut cost and maximise market profit.

i think this one we all know.

MarkerForProjector

may i know what does 180 200 250 300 mean?

when i yanger, my uncle drove E200, he told me 200 is 2L, 280 is 2.8L, 300, is 3L, 500 is 5L engine...

but earlier posts say both 180 and 200 are 1.3L renault engine.
so the 180 200 means what actually?

deathscthe

MQB same platform. branding and software different.

the tiering of brand value set by VAG also different mah. its abit like Luxottica. u offer choice of brands but underneath, u use the same MQB platform to daisy chain out the same car to cut cost and maximise market profit.

i think this one we all know.
ok la trim a bit different. tech u find in porsche now maybe few years later trickle down to audi then few years later VW.

carey

Since no more warranty, just get the higher specs one if their mileages are quite close.
Exactly, I think TS should test drive both and see for himself

Even though the power difference may not seem a lot on paper, real road driving is quite different

Those extra horses would be very helpful in moving such a heavy car ;)

carey

may i know what does 180 200 250 300 mean?

when i yanger, my uncle drove E200, he told me 200 is 2L, 280 is 2.8L, 300, is 3L, 500 is 5L engine...

but earlier posts say both 180 and 200 are 1.3L renault engine.
so the 180 200 means what actually?
In the past, those numbers were representative like your uncle's E200

But these days, the model numbers are just "power" variations as many of them are still using the same engine, only that the lower model numbers use a "detuned" version of that engine

180 and 200 would differ in BHP and torque - the 180 model would have a lower power rating

Emperor_Hippo

ok la trim a bit different. tech u find in porsche now maybe few years later trickle down to audi then few years later VW.
Yah. That's how business usually is.

we all know. we are all admittedly suckers for brands and their perceived value (i dun blame badge whores, its just built-in us).

but for me, its more like a whether the brand itself provides for what i perceive as value on top of the brand.

do i need ventilated and massage seats with 3 zone air con with crazily kiasee safety features? yah. so, Tiguan is for me.

do i need the prestige of a Merc or Porsche and its perceived accompanying lifestyle assumed of a true Merc (C, E, S and Maybach ah) owner? I have no need for that cos I prefer a quiet lifestyle. I have no need for flashy bungalows or flashy clothes.

this kind of things well-known. just that if TS feels GLB suits his lifestyle over a Odessey, Noah or Vellfire for example, then its up to him to buy it.

after all, all car owners should know. the moment we ask people "what do u think of this car?", 95% our minds made up liao. :s13: people's opinions are just the icing and cherry nia. :s13:

MarkerForProjector

But these days, the model numbers are just "power" variations as many of them are still using the same engine, only that the lower model numbers use a "detuned" version of that engine

in this case, can someone buy a cheaper 180, then go tune up to 200?
since the engine the same.

csoyzx

Skoda is actually quite a well desired brand, but most people in SG don't really know about it unfortunately.

The way people buy cars here is quite unconventional too, price, interior trim & brand matters more than the drive experience and overall drive comfort. Guess also due to the distances traveled is too short (and slow) for most to matter.
if u look inside skoda.. they also using parts from VW.. being driving skoda for the last 5 yrs.. no major problems and also when driving to msia no scare coz msia no skoda..

carey

Not so easy as the ECU is locked

Some will try to replace the ECU but if the system kaput, then agent will not honour the warranty

Audi on the other hand is easier to tune up and the agent even offer tuning services

"Stage 1" refers to a basic ECU remap with minimal hardware changes, "Stage 2" adds performance upgrades like upgraded intake and exhaust systems, while "Stage 3" represents the most extreme tuning with significant hardware modifications like upgraded turbos, intercoolers, and potentially fueling system upgrades, resulting in the highest power gains.

Emperor_Hippo

In theory, possible.

but if merc develops 2 completely separate engine powertrains with very different engine tuning and hardware in the first place, then chipping or retuning the car will invalidate the warranty.

deathscthe

Yah. That's how business usually is.

we all know. we are all admittedly suckers for brands and their perceived value (i dun blame badge whores, its just built-in us).

but for me, its more like a whether the brand itself provides for what i perceive as value on top of the brand.

do i need ventilated and massage seats with 3 zone air con with crazily kiasee safety features? yah. so, Tiguan is for me.

do i need the prestige of a Merc or Porsche and its perceived accompanying lifestyle assumed of a true Merc (C, E, S and Maybach ah) owner? I have no need for that cos I prefer a quiet lifestyle. I have no need for flashy bungalows or flashy clothes.

this kind of things well-known. just that if TS feels GLB suits his lifestyle over a Odessey, Noah or Vellfire for example, then its up to him to buy it.

after all, all car owners should know. the moment we ask people "what do u think of this car?", 95% our minds made up liao. :s13: people's opinions are just the icing and cherry nia. :s13:
but hor actually odyssey and vellfire think more exp than GLB after all the promo. to me is like watch, merc is like rolex sure got resale value and brand is there but build quality and features dont justify the price especially the lower end suv models since they are based on small cars.
if u look inside skoda.. they also using parts from VW.. being driving skoda for the last 5 yrs.. no major problems
that day after i parked my kodiaq got 1 uncle walk up ask me what brand is this ah never see before in singapore :ROFLMAO:

Emperor_Hippo

if u look inside skoda.. they also using parts from VW.. being driving skoda for the last 5 yrs.. no major problems
Same MQB or MQB-Evo platform.

just trimming and market brand perception different .

but if u open bonnet to compare, actually only mild diff

deathscthe

In theory, possible.

but if merc develops 2 completely separate engine powertrains with very different engine tuning and hardware in the first place, then chipping or retuning the car will invalidate the warranty.
iirc can is can but c&c warranty i heard not bad , dont think will risk voiding warranty for a bit of increased performance

csoyzx

Same MQB or MQB-Evo platform.

just trimming and market brand perception different .

but if u open bonnet to compare, actually only mild diff
yea.. when i bought my skoda during 2019.. also walked over and look at tiguan.. at least 20k more den karoq.. end up got the karoq instead.. now no more karoq coming in.. only its big bro kodiaq

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.