[彻夜难眠●不敢相信] Nvidia, Super Micro Computer all 惨重大跌.... whats happening to AI theme?

BBClone

Big institutions everywhere scratch their heads and wonder why their attempt to crash the market has failed!

selemuse

The DeepSeek thing is likely overblown.

There are a lot of LLMs on Ollama with FP8 quantisation and comparable parameters size. I really think this is a China operative.
One of the most important reason why Deepseek is so successful is basically just one simple reason. It is very accessible and free to use with no limit (not that I experience the limit) which include its advanced model (Deepthink, which is incredible which imitates how human, or it therefore, will think to achieve good answer), and one can integrate using its API a way cheaper cost than established offerings. It is just another Chat system that ready to use, no need to configure with messy configuration. This creates a very good branding.

Honestly I didn't care how advance it is or is it open-source as long as it is free to use and good enough for own use. Everyone can use Deepseek, no need to register using China verification system like most China-made Chatbots (eg baidu). I will have ignored Deepseek has it not been so accessible and generous.

PaboJames

The coming tariffs will have a much greater impact on the bubble. But regardless, the AI buildup will continue. Facebook had been dumping tens of billions before NVDA became hot.

after witnessing someone driving a company selling water in a dessert bankrupt, I can't be sure a company will definitely survive because there is an AI buildup.

The bet here is on China won't be able to make any breakthrough in their chip manufacturing front.... if there is a black swan event of them succeeding .... what ever they make become cabbage price

Eliwood

Does it mean Deepseek just pulled an Nvidia, by using software to overcome hardware limitation like DLSS?

If so, kinda ironic...

dontwastetime

Paiseh. The pics mean I have 1 + 2 TOTAL now.

And is in USD, not SGD.

When market opens, both will fall off the cliff.
oic.. seems to be clearer now..

U have my condolences.

however, to be able to have enough $$ to loose 700k is an accomplishment already.

Many here dun even have 70k to lose

focus1974

lmao, wad talking u. deepseek approach is same as openai o1 onwards just that it costs less since they found way to optimise nvidia amd hardware. there is nothing preventing openai n other companies from doing the same n they can do it with such scale and abundance that make them even more profitable. openai still have o3-o4 and gpt5 in the pipeline. anyway openai from o1 onwards also the same minimizing costs making their model more efficient so they can sell their API at profit since there are no challenger at that time.
anyway all these companies u listed will be the main beneficiaries instead since they require less compute/costs to offer AI solutions to existing real customers. all can scale up faster.

this was what happened in china

After releasing DeepSeek-V2 in May 2024, which offered strong performance for a low price, DeepSeek became known as the catalyst for China's AI model price war. It was quickly dubbed the "Pinduoduo of AI", and other major tech giants such as ByteDance, Tencent, Baidu, and Alibaba began to cut the price of their AI models to compete with the company. Despite the low price charged by DeepSeek, it was profitable compared to its rivals that were losing money.[6]

BBClone

yea fake paper training dummy account

u think someone of this net worth will post on edmw
or need to ask people to buy the stock to build demand and increase price and reduce your loss?

rich people dont care lol

You clearly have not read his AVGO thread

dereth

paper trade account lah.
i used to hv many many
open acct easily got 1M 'credit'
yea fake paper training dummy account

u think someone of this net worth will post on edmw
or need to ask people to buy the stock to build demand and increase price and reduce your loss?

rich people dont care lol
Morgan Stanley and Fidelity Investments have paper training accounts? You have to show me. 😏

1. I come to HWZ because I've been coming here for almost 30 years. It's kind of a habit. Please look at my account age. It is actually created pre-2000 before the first major forum revamp.
2. My progress to this day was documented in the MONEY MIND forum back in 2017 when I asked for advice on what to do with my shares worth 300k. That was 8 freaking years ago. It's not exactly CSB if you look at how semiconductor stocks have been performing in recent years.
3. I worked for Broadcom from when they were still called Avago. What I have now is a culmination of options, grants, and purchases I made when I was working there.

I don't need to tell people to buy Broadcom stocks. I knew Hock personally even as a rank-and-file employee. I know how he is like and what a miracle he is to the company formally known as the SPG department in Agilent.

Broadcom is now the eighth largest trillion dollar company in the US.

coolhead

One of the most important reason why Deepseek is so successful is basically just one simple reason. It is very accessible and free to use with no limit (not that I experience the limit) which include its advanced model (Deepthink, which is incredible which imitates how human, or it therefore, will think to achieve good answer), and one can integrate using its API a way cheaper cost than established offerings. It is just another Chat system that ready to use, no need to configure with messy configuration. This creates a very good branding.

Honestly I didn't care how advance it is or is it open-source as long as it is free to use and good enough for own use. Everyone can use Deepseek, no need to register using China verification system like most China-made Chatbots (eg baidu). I will have ignored Deepseek has it not been so accessible and generous.
Do you happen to know who funds the continued development of deepseek and do the founders of deepseek have any political affiliation with the political elites in China?

MyWill

Do you happen to know who funds the continued development of deepseek and do the founders of deepseek have any political affiliation with the political elites in China?
How does this matters? If deepseek is good, use it.

touchring1

after witnessing someone driving a company selling water in a dessert bankrupt, I can't be sure a company will definitely survive because there is an AI buildup.

The bet here is on China won't be able to make any breakthrough in their chip manufacturing front.... if there is a black swan event of them succeeding .... what ever they make become cabbage price

Perhaps for chip manufacturers, but it won't affect Facebook, Amazon and Microsoft. Microsoft will continue selling their 365 and teams with AI and virtual employee, secretary, whatever they come up with in the future. Companies pay hundreds of dollars for each employee to use 365 and teams annually. It's a lot of money if you consider there are plenty of free alternatives. A big organization like SIA can easily spend millions on microsoft licensing a year.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.