Really a lot of people around me who migrated overseas come back to Singapore.

Laneige

My cousin migrated to Australia a decade ago came back here. He say salary wise here more competitive and also want his children to grow up in the environment here.

My neighbor's son and his wife who migrated to Australia also now back and staying with his parent.

One of my fren migrated to NZ a couple of years ago and another one who migrated to UK all now back here.

Grass is always not greener on the other side?
They come back as FT or what
If they come back as FT, is it better than us still here like same education n experience but go overseas work liao the ink diff so more ppl want them etc

Zinna

My cousin migrated to Australia a decade ago came back here. He say salary wise here more competitive and also want his children to grow up in the environment here.

My neighbor's son and his wife who migrated to Australia also now back and staying with his parent.

One of my fren migrated to NZ a couple of years ago and another one who migrated to UK all now back here.

See 10 years ago aussie currency vs SG and today then chiu noe liao

dilphinus

I studied in Australia but moved back to Singapore after graduation.

90% of my friends who studied in Australia at the same time as me, and who obtained PR, moved back to Singapore.

I just moved to Australia on 01 January 2025.

I won't be earning as much as compared to when I was earning in Singapore.

Daily eating out is more expensive as compared to Singapore. I was at a Singapore restaurant this afternoon. A bowl of Yong Tau Foo with 4 ingredients and noodles, cost almost A$20.

I eat at home most of the time as my mother-in-law cooks for every meal. So eating out hasn't really affected me much. But would prefer to eat out at least a few times a week.

Can't go anywhere without own vehicle. Lost my independency. Hate this aspect.

Other than the eating out and losing my independency (temporary), and being bored, living in Australia has been pretty good so far. Helps that I'm not working so life is pretty stress free (for now).

Pretty homesick. Miss my mum a lot though.

Nemesis_lane123

So far TKL migrate forest city dun seem to wanna return. Maybe need to migrate to FC.

TS, you will be soon labelled as PAP IB...

orpisia

drkcynic

Migrate or work overseas? Big difference.

Migrate, as in give back passport, most of the time they won't let you back. Just ask that guy who migrated to canada.

curiosity_20

Everyone wants to raise kids in SG..cos scared their kids get bullied in school esp by bigger size caucasians and lose out. Asian hate crimes.

Then if send their kids to chinese school in Australia get indoctrinated with CCP. Singaporeans are neither here nor there and our population is too small to have a self-sustaining unique cultural identity which is going the way of the dodo....sad man...really sad. :cautious:

We're not like Japanese, Thai or Vietnam with population of > 50 million. There's only 2.5 million true blue sinkies who grew up under LKY...frankly I don't know what to do...give up my citizenship and assimilate into Australia and speak like Aussie?

After migrate, they realise all their neighbours are from Pakistan, India, China, Vietnam, Indo, they get sian bcos of cultural gap.

tuxguy

usually .. overseas country .. the foreigners are not so easily accepted and can find good jobs.

you think every country like singapore so good where foreigners get accepted easily and find good jobs and live good life?

and sg gov still tell its citizens to integrate with them

li9ht5peed

very different for my case. i have relatives in malaysia, china, hk, holland, usa and nobody liked singapore. those in malaysia even asked me to join them coz life is easier

i also have friends who worked illegally in australia & usa & thus never paid taxes. life is of course good lol. anthony & trump didn't manage to deport them because as illegal aliens, you have to be very cautious with your movement, communications & whereabouts

I came across this blog many years ago. Not sure if he is married now but he gave up his Pink IC to advance his career and returned as an FT many years ago...
http://limpehft.blogspot.com/?view=classic
https://www.blogger.com/profile/14608910232359247437

Btw, ts did not substantiate his stories with IG accounts or other evidences. I can easily make up 5 other stories with 5 imaginery neighbours and distant relatives for a CSB contest here right?

That's like, half the threads in EDMW

they're very bo liao, just anyhow whack and create threads
Esp those Tiagong, my friend threads

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.