Is it that difficult to choose a cca that you want in secondary school?

fortunehunter

Anyone know cca still got home Econ?
If I got son want let him join next time become cai png scooper and ask him call me Yan Dao everyday.

hachi

I had always thought we should select sch based on cop, but after seeing the CNA article, I wonder if I should place more importance on cca choices.
I think P6 then you decide as your child will show more clarity on the academic... Coz at P5 there is a suddenly ramp on tempo.

Like my nephew. P4 all subjects 80ish. P5 suddenly total AL more than 20. Tuitions on every subject.
This year P6.

sanukboy

Cca at sec sch are no longer at interests level... Do that when your kids are in primary school.
Unless you got certain attribute that need for certain sport. Like longer limps or height then they might consider. If not UG CCA
What if you have a long ....?

grevq80o

What’s wrong with library club? I was librarian before but I was quite nerdy type

During my time, other than stock taking, you have two jobs

One is to chop on the book that says return by such and such a date plus write the borrower’s name on the card or sit at the entrance of the library and check the chop on the book
its another meaningful position lah... For young kids need to learn how to work even as librarian - like being punctual, being methodical, customer facing at front line - so need some communication skills.... and also admin skills.

begintoend

iirc last time

for my sch,
must have cca. (some sch is mus choose uniform grp)
uniform grp got weekend activities huan
u can join cca and not be in school team.
can switch cca, as long as teacher see potential in u or if they are jus fine with it
can even represent school in multiple sports if u r that gd

now whole lot is diff
all is link to teachers and school kpi to dig funding from moe
dats why need a selection into cca.

if got 100 students wants football as cca
school only selects max 25-30 to form a team.
the selection is dumb as the cca will lose a potential from the remainder.
remainder jus have to go hop around see wat cca wanna accept them.

Emperor_Hippo

This woman must be dreaming.

Secondary school ECAs (yes, not CCAs) in the early 90s already required students to exhibit talent in selection trials before they can join. If I have to hazard a guess, this was already the case long before my time.
yah. for sports based ECAs this has always been the norm.

the reporter how old ah? is she even sinkie in the first place? or another "young" parent who only read kid's school stuff last minute and then start asking "why this why that" kind?

@Mama_alicia If u want to "make school selection based on CCA" or "put kid thru DSA", then you bear all consequences of it.

The good old route of studying hard or studying normal still available. Schools still have G1, G2, G3 routes available at different levels.

If u gonna pressure ur kid to go G3 or IP all the way, that's onto you also.

dun one hand say, "I wan my child to enjoy" and simultaneously say, "I wan my child go to Top 4 without stress."

Emperor_Hippo

Its all part of an effort to help boost the economy.

For the secondary school kids that had no talent to join sports or music CCAs or clubs with aircon, they will be forced to join UG. Then they will suffer from self esteem issues and resentment of all the negative things in UG.

Then when they give birth to their own children 15-20 years later, this trauma will cause them to be more likely to spam their kids with enrichment for sports and/or music.

More huat for enrichment centre and music schools.

Anecdotal Sauce: my female friend was in UG during sec school, but intends to send kid to learn violin so that the kid can siam UG.
erm... i was in UG. Military Band.

sent my kid for piano lessons since 4yrs old not to siam UG or what nonsense. but to ensure proper all-rounder development cos physiology and psychological development in kids who learn piano and/or violin from a young age is proven long ago and not some hogwash.

Emperor_Hippo

It was called ECA back then.

I was in the band & athletics which took up 4-5 days in a week, including Saturdays.

Eventually cannot tahan have to give up 1.
which school? Bowen?

those who stayed on all the way AND returned as alumni are those who truly have a love and passion for it. Typically the Majors.

very hard to find a Drum/Band Major who let their passion for music die one or "give up halfway". :s13:

campoix

I joined Chinese orchestra. Actually quite fun and I would have never learned an instrument outside. It improves my music literary as well.

Humster

Damn, I was lucky back then when ECA first started.
Managed to worm my way out of everything.
Did joined tge Air Rifle club. But club closed down 6mths later and for the next 4.5yrs, didn't re-open at all.

Mama_alicia

yah. for sports based ECAs this has always been the norm.

the reporter how old ah? is she even sinkie in the first place? or another "young" parent who only read kid's school stuff last minute and then start asking "why this why that" kind?

@Mama_alicia If u want to "make school selection based on CCA" or "put kid thru DSA", then you bear all consequences of it.

The good old route of studying hard or studying normal still available. Schools still have G1, G2, G3 routes available at different levels.

If u gonna pressure ur kid to go G3 or IP all the way, that's onto you also.

dun one hand say, "I wan my child to enjoy" and simultaneously say, "I wan my child go to Top 4 without stress."

Hi, I never believe in DSA. My kid will enter IP school with his own merit. He scored more than 94 marks for all his 4 subjects for P3 so I have high hopes of him entering IP school. He’s a SG50 kid so I suspect the competition will be very fierce, just like the dragon cohort. To be honest, we are looking at RI or CHS secondary. I am looking at CCA options for these two schools now, bearing in mind that many slots will be taken up by the DSA kids.

begintoend

dunno when but many years ago
i was actually shocked to hear some primary / sec schools already had no football as a CCA.
they have a field, but no football.

going on, any school with boys without football as a cca is crazy.
I could only see all girls schools not having it...
by which kudos to some had picked it up for a girl's team(y)

begintoend

Hi, I never believe in DSA. My kid will enter IP school with his own merit. He scored more than 94 marks for all his 4 subjects for P3 so I have high hopes of him entering IP school. He’s a SG50 kid so I suspect the competition will be very fierce, just like the dragon cohort. To be honest, we are looking at RI or CHS secondary. I am looking at CCA options for these two schools now, bearing in mind that many slots will be taken up by the DSA kids.
you plot everything jus becos p3 score >94?

ok..... :crazy:

Whirling_Dervish

Back in secondary school, we just joined whatever CCA caught our fancy. It was only in JC when they had interviews to see if someone is a good fit for a CCA or not.

Emperor_Hippo

not really the case.

got hope is one thing (given ur kid only 9yrs old). u urself know in ur heart ur kid's true ability ah.

firezero10

Moi regretted joining uniformed group - really is very boring and not much benefit (except for a guaranteed A grade for CCA). Heng moi school not competitive at all (bronze unit) and kept the training sessions to the minimum - only one day per week.

muji4832

Somewhere in the west. Yup I joined the alumni for quite some times. After go army then no more :LOL:

which school? Bowen?

those who stayed on all the way AND returned as alumni are those who truly have a love and passion for it. Typically the Majors.

very hard to find a Drum/Band Major who let their passion for music die one or "give up halfway". :s13:

Emperor_Hippo

you plot everything jus becos p3 score >94?

ok..... :crazy:
P3 exams can hot house one.

P4 WA4 come first then TS tok. :s13: The cracks will just get wider and wider one.

and once go IP, good luck. see how TS going to hothouse and hothouse until when.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.