Really a lot of people around me who migrated overseas come back to Singapore.

cyke69sg

Lol

Its bcos they see our pee ah pee hv been giving out "generous" goodies, they dun want lose out anymore so all cumback lo (dun say first will take back whole chix later)

Whatsmore, we all know this yr ish what yr :grin::grin:

Overseas they hab CDC/CVC, GST money, Assurance Package, NS credits, U-save rebates, $1 eggs, $1 rice, community events with fwee sweet treats, ice creams, teddy bears etc all that boh ?

:s13::s13:
Not so good.

We got no GST for 2 months over Xmas and New Year for food restaurants toys gaming consoles
At first also want to give us money to spend but later finance minister say Canada no money cannot afford and she resigned. 😞

cyke69sg

I guess, it's all about how suitable you are to the country, not that SG is bad or AU is good, AU is bad or SG is good. It works different for everyone.

For us, we made lots of aussie friends, went for our footy, assimilate and immersed into Aussie culture, my wife and I both found full time employment, got our PRs, bought a house, paid our bills.

But eventually we came back, and I am glad we did.

Might prob be because we didn't have kids, we don't intend to. And we agree that aussie might be a better place to raise one, or two or three kids.

But for 2 working adults? Taxes killed us, we done our sums and we would have way more income after taxes in SG as a sandwiched middle-income couple, and not to forget... CPF.

I won't talk about the negative of 'straya but we returned back for family, and maybe the perks of easy travelling within and out of Asia, and it was an adventure overall.

I would encourage all whom are hesitating to give it a go, at least you might discover that grass is or isn't that greener after all on the other side, and a little something about yourselves.

Don't say no PR cannot go, I went through the super extreme route, didnt qualify for what SOL/CSOL cause my work is totally out of the skilled list & I am not in my prime age & my highest quali was Diploma. Quit my job in SG -> went for a postgrad subclass 573 -> and then secure a job for RSMS subclass 187.

(you'll be surprised actually quite a number of our Aussies colleagues and friends, envy Singaporeans and they wanna migrate or at least work here in Singapore)
SG is the best. Glad you realized it and you didn't give up your SG citizenship. Good you went back to SG.

I regret burning my bridges give up SG citizenship. Now can never go back. 😞

cyke69sg

I always felt middle class in AU after taxes, should be similar to SG middle class. Downside is no CPF.
Most ppl out there do envy Singapore, but they cannot accept the rules and regulations that creates the system that causes their envy......if you know what i mean
Seems like all who migrate are those not so rich one. Migrate is to become even poorer.

How come don't have those migrate and earn 500k-1m a year type?

Is so hard to be rich in other country. Much much easier in SG.

cyke69sg

Walan eh, why some of you go against edmw narrative. Here we complaint about living in sg is like hell and living overseas is like heaven one. Please stop sharing the unglam stories living overseas!
Cos is real. Overseas is very tough. Much tougher than in SG.

kimsix

But that's most important isn't it? Money.

Sorry miss one important part :o

SG is always a good place to work and earn $$ and balek kampung by 50, but nothing else.

No need NS, 2 years head start some more!

samloi

Seems like all who migrate are those not so rich one. Migrate is to become even poorer.

i also dont know anyone personally in sg that makes 500k-1mil a year.....
But i assume its easier to do it singapore.
Dont have those minimum wage lah, no need deal with unions, no work-strikes.....can jiak workers gaogao.

But that's most important isn't it? Money.
If want money, then Dubai is better imo.

cyke69sg

Sorry miss one important part :o

SG is always a good place to work and earn $$ and balek kampung by 50, but nothing else.

No need NS, 2 years head start some more!
No need balek.
hop around different countries.
But still go back SG.
You want your dividends to be taxed?

cyke69sg

i also dont know anyone personally in sg that makes 500k-1mil a year.....
But i assume its easier to do it singapore.
Dont have those minimum wage lah, no need deal with unions, no work-strikes.....can jiak workers gaogao.

If want money, then Dubai is better imo.
I know many.

More than million also several.

There also those with stock options. Several million.

Mecisteus

My cousin migrated to Australia a decade ago came back here. He say salary wise here more competitive and also want his children to grow up in the environment here.

My neighbor's son and his wife who migrated to Australia also now back and staying with his parent.

One of my fren migrated to NZ a couple of years ago and another one who migrated to UK all now back here.

Grass is always not greener on the other side?
Maybe too much forest fire.

How to remain green on the other side ?

Tio boh @cyke69sg ?

inf|uencer

Blame PAP for what?

SG has always been like that. Is SGreans ownself want. Be rich. Pay low taxes. Ownself care ownself.

People go back SG cos SG is better for them. High salary low taxes.

PAP do what SGreans want. That's why they still so popular all these years.
Wrong. They do what businesses want not what singaporeans want

cyke69sg

I got 3 friends migrate to canada, all came back after a few years, they said canada cold is really cold, bei tahan.

I have been saying that too. My siblings also went back with my parents. Only I remain cos I kumgong renounced my SG citizenship so cannot go back SG forever.

We got deep freeze now. -28. Roads all covered in ice. Driving on skating rink slide all over. Jin cham

cyke69sg

Wrong. They do what businesses want not what singaporeans want
I disagree.
Foreign maid policy is people want.
Low tax is people want
No capital gains tax is people want
No investment income tax is people want
No higher tax to pay for more health care coverage for people is people want. Nobody wants pay more tax
CPF is people want. Small number don't like majority like
SGD strong is people want
NS is also people want they support strongly defend own country is good.
Is just small number of people no happy then say people dowan PAP but election time they win big big always.

peterlim95

Not everyone migrate to get rich . There are many more things to life than just money and getting rich .

peterlim95

I have been saying that too. My siblings also went back with my parents. Only I remain cos I kumgong renounced my SG citizenship so cannot go back SG forever.

We got deep freeze now. -28. Roads all covered in ice. Driving on skating rink slide all over. Jin cham
Can sic pic of ur house and surrounding neighbourhood area in snow ? 😍

cyke69sg

Not everyone migrate to get rich . There are many more things to life than just money and getting rich .
Migrate is to be poor.

That's maybe why end up so many still go back to SG. After play finish then go back SG to get rich.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.