Is it that difficult to choose a cca that you want in secondary school?

Mama_alicia

P3 exams can hot house one.

P4 WA4 come first then TS tok. :s13: The cracks will just get wider and wider one.

and once go IP, good luck. see how TS going to hothouse and hothouse until when.
Do you hothouse ur kids? And why do u assume everyone does? My kid doesn’t go tuition at all

Emperor_Hippo

Do you hothouse ur kids? And why do u assume everyone does? My kid doesn’t go tuition at all
that's good. means he's truly talented and smart at 9yrs old! no doubt. tall order to score >94% at P3.

truly amazing.

now i have zero doubts in ur kid's ability. 👍❤️

Can Or Not

Last time I want to join my school basketball team also need selection. In the end, I was not selected. That was in the 90s, I don’t know why nowadays need to 靠背 so much…

begintoend

P3 exams can hot house one.

P4 WA4 come first then TS tok. :s13: The cracks will just get wider and wider one.

and once go IP, good luck. see how TS going to hothouse and hothouse until when.
great isn't it

at p3 can plot all the way ahead with the scores.
RI/HCI, grow up become lawyer
now is need to plot some CCA

my experience says
do the cop way since so confident

dun rely on cca since he had no significant talent in p3 if held in regards to his >94 scores.

Mama_alicia

great isn't it

at p3 can plot all the way ahead with the scores.
RI/HCI, grow up become lawyer
now is need to plot some CCA

my experience says
do the cop way since so confident

dun rely on cca since he had no significant talent in p3 if held in regards to his >94 scores.
How smart is your kid? In any of the top 4 schools? You can tell us more, especially how talented he/she is.

begintoend

How smart is your kid? In any of the top 4 schools? You can tell us more, especially how talented he/she is.
:s14:
sorry sorry

my kid not smart... sorry offend your elite parenthood views.

i is only from top school.
genes neh pass down well.

deep apologies.
may the world and god bless your child good passage to good school

CCCustom

I joined Photography Society for easy points :o But it was here I learnt 1 of the most valuable lessons in photography … take photo must gar gar go in front and take, cannot scareded paiseh block other people.

The Teacher-In-Charge of Photography Society wasn’t even a teacher but the school Administrative Manager :s14: But this lesson, where he showed us photos taken right in front of the stage vs those further away so you can really see the difference in photo quality side by side … that stayed with me for life.

Plus it was fun too, e.g. when old boy turned artist performed at our school we go in front of the stage to take photos, then stick our hand out to shake hands with him :s13: Memories :s19:

hachi

Hi, I never believe in DSA. My kid will enter IP school with his own merit. He scored more than 94 marks for all his 4 subjects for P3 so I have high hopes of him entering IP school. He’s a SG50 kid so I suspect the competition will be very fierce, just like the dragon cohort. To be honest, we are looking at RI or CHS secondary. I am looking at CCA options for these two schools now, bearing in mind that many slots will be taken up by the DSA kids.
Some primary schools at P3 will select and form the first and 2nd classes... Which most IP students will come from there... Too bad my younger one did not... Even he is in the first class... 35/37 go IP

hachi

Wow need the top 4 schools meh? Any IPs is good enough.... They are alr top 10%...

Even some better schools with G3 which is non IP also good.

GundamG

i tot CCA should be activities that student enjoy. why make them join something they dun like.

sk0065

i was in pri sch school team for a sport

in sec sch - don't have this sport

never mind - during eca fair, can sign up many and go for many

i think at one point, i had 3 eca
then gradually, found the one i liked most and dropped the other 2

that's the whole spirit of eca lo

fast forward - my son told me, a few of his classmate, kena "posted" to NCC air
(when they never put this in their choice in form SG)
damn sad... if need to go there for 4 years
like NS comes early like that ---- posting to unit eh

sk0065

Wow need the top 4 schools meh? Any IPs is good enough.... They are alr top 10%...

Even some better schools with G3 which is non IP also good.

u based on what ? PSLE cut off point?
that is only a popularity measure

cannot say a AL10 sch is "BETTER" than a AL 9 school
(using your range of IP vs non-IP)

plus with up to 75% cap for affliated kids
non-affliated entry score kena pushed lower (i.e more competitive)
(of cos not all affliated sch takes in 75%, some take in 25-30% only)

begintoend

i was in pri sch school team for a sport

in sec sch - don't have this sport

never mind - during eca fair, can sign up many and go for many

i think at one point, i had 3 eca
then gradually, found the one i liked most and dropped the other 2

that's the whole spirit of eca lo

fast forward - my son told me, his classmate, kena "posted" to NCC air
(when they never put this in their choice in form SG)
damn sad... if need to go there for 4 years
like NS comes early like that ---- posting to unit eh
So hor, when posted without being in shortlist still must LLST join? So barbaric huan ar..

sk0065

So hor, when posted without being in shortlist still must LLST join? So barbaric huan ar..
ya
then what Leaps 2.0 la

got various qualifying conditions to get the elusive 2 points la
imagine the kena posted child needs to stay at NCC for 4 years just to get the A grade in the participation catagory (we haven't talk about the leadership / competition cat yet)

very depressing for the kids
it is only February lo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.