Toyota Corolla Altis can buy?

agent_719

Last Dec already this price.

really good price. Bread & butter car. Boring but reliable.

EJB

I think once SG phased out ICE cars, those workshop jialat
That one remains to be seen because overseas, car makers some pulling out of the EV race, plus now also seems to have increase in complains with regards to available charging spots.

Even my office now like got people buay song with each other liao.

The number of chargers vs availability vs speed of charging doesn't seem to encourage a move to EV for non landed house owners. My friend also joked with me about using extension cable from my window all the way to MSCP.

Petrol is still drive in, pump 5mins, Q and pay and out.

My MSCP is mostly full daily, I doubt 3 chargers will support the car population. Adding 20 more will make the MSCP into a mini nuclear bomb.

Let's see they will uturn or not by 2030. I need to change by 2031, still got time, not in a hurry to go EV and fight for chargers. It's a hassle actually.

EJB

Last Dec already this price.

really good price. Bread & butter car. Boring but reliable.
Like all cars from all brands, as long as don't lemon, is not an issue.

JDM usually if got problem, year 1 all appear. If don't have... then heng heng all the way liao.

esandwich

Toyota never fails to deliver. At least based on my experience when I ordered my car. They didn't place a single bid until my car arrived at the shore of SG. They place 1 bid and got it.

$138K is no brainer if you just want a car, at least in SG, being able to afford one is not bad liao. Going to see alot of Altis on the roads at this price.
i read before 2 times in mcf where BM lapsed the NG orders for those who chose not to top up.
and the story was also the later orders at higher prices got their coes. so these low price orders were left to dry.

end of the day, at 138k, it is really down to whether is there still margin for the distributor.
if have, then got chance to deliver car. if not, then the only way to get car is coe drop further.
Toyota has strong demand, so they dont need to lose money to do business.

but no doubting if can get altis at 138k nowadays is a good deal. 12k+ depn brand new car.

GreatPumpkin

Sorry guys, I caved. Put deposit liao. Lol
giphy.gif

EJB

i read before 2 times in mcf where BM lapsed the NG orders for those who chose not to top up.
and the story was also the later orders at higher prices got their coes. so these low price orders were left to dry.

end of the day, at 138k, it is really down to whether is there still margin for the distributor.
if have, then got chance to deliver car. if not, then the only way to get car is coe drop further.
Toyota has strong demand, so they dont need to lose money to do business.

but no doubting if can get altis at 138k nowadays is a good deal. 12k+ depn brand new car.
Usually the 'top up' option if presented, is a good grab. Mazda also offered that to my friend, 1K, he was hesitating. Luckily he did. His COE was the one before it flew up in 2021. If he didn't.... .... ....

NG orders used not to be an issue for BM, they always delivered very confidently. but I guess when COE exploded they were not able to keep up. They have margins from each car so that they can sustain the next cOE bids but I guess from 50K CAT A suddenly go up to 100K, they can't pay through their nose for NG. Not siding them, but I guess it makes business sense and that's why they have NG packages so that they can exit the deal. Refund the $12k deposit and move on.

My understanding about the $138K deal is that the COE is bidded at 77K only? They will not go above it, so if COE dips, lucky people, else...

They will not do money losing deals, COE though not supposed to 'earned' off, but that's how everybody works, margins, margins margins....

Toyota, Mazda, Nissan demand are dropping because of directives to move to EV by 2030. BYD and TESLA are almost on par these days. $138K for altis but it's $180 for Atto3.

But like you say, depre is still a worthy consideration.

EJB

elegance model? the ACC and lane keeping assistance is worth it.
I heard mixed reviews on the LDW.

Mazda one, if you don't signal and try to swerve, it will pull you back. It's good in a way but if you had to swerve to avoid an accident, and it pulls you ... wah lao eh...

kingofcaipng

I heard mixed reviews on the LDW.

Mazda one, if you don't signal and try to swerve, it will pull you back. It's good in a way but if you had to swerve to avoid an accident, and it pulls you ... wah lao eh...
I believe current tech is able to differentiate between unintentional lane departure vs driver-controlled movement. At least for mine, it does minor corrections only when car is out of lane.

But I recall there was a video of BYD on Malaysia roads where it swerve because of the lane keeping or blind spot function?

esandwich

Why not take the chance? The COE supply is increasing anyway in the next few years. You have nothing to lose

however if the dealer refuses to accept your order (like BYD) you can’t do anything. I want to buy non guaranteed COE but they don’t want to process it.
ya if looking to buy a car in the next months, can jus lock in and wait.
but if have longer time frame, and like u said coe supply increasing, i would wait.

Asphodeli

Cheap to maintain but the truth is very few Toyota owners go for original parts.

"$80-100 for a pair of Toyota original wiper blades? Hell no - the stockist must be scamming me! Elsewhere selling $50-60 for a pair only OK!"

Most go for cheapo Chinese aftermarket parts. And then the car goes to shlts afterwards and stops being a "reliable car".
The problem is also partially due to Toyota's parts being easy to replicate...but whether the replica part can perform as reliably as OEM Toyota from online stockists is another question. ;)

But hey I'm a guy who will scrimp and save on car parts such as gluing replacement Corolla side mirror to my Prius, DIY replacing my rubber wiper blades with silicone ones from Shopee/China, so...hehe! :flash:

Emperor_Hippo

Friend just texted me that he bought a Toyota Corolla Altis at a road show yesterday, going for $138k with COE. How come price drop so much? Is it because BYD overtook Toyota last year?

I'm seriously considering now, if really $138k, I'd rather buy now than wait for COE to drop further sia.
if u are going to bust more then 100k on a satki altis, u are gonna cry.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.