[GPGT] Overseas Travel Discussion and Chit Chat Thread

charleslee1989

I have no idea who that is. I just googled "Innocent looking" gif :s13:

Have you ever ventured to the normal side of Singapore, like in the central or eastern suburbs?

Where is the place with the nice dim sum below SGD20 per pax?

Tsk you can't compare the prices in Johore Bahru, because dollar for dollar, it costs MYR60, which is quite expensive for the locals.
normal side? What do ya' mean by normal side?

I believed it was ban heng at harbourfront that closed down?

Well, JB is really quite affordable though....

JivBunny

hopping onto this thread.

any one travelled to US recently?

what are the pre-entry requirements?

other than Visa Waiver, is there anything else?

If you are Singaporean, just get your esta done.Book your accommodation and return air tic in case they ask. Other than that, doubt you will have much issue.

alfonsoyy

I find that Chinese New Year is getting more boring every year.
Y is tat for u?
For me? As I getting older, it's more of a facade rather than enjoyment. Usually I try to go overseas during CNY period but this year air tickets & accomodations are pretty pricey atm.

cpuer

I suppose you are right.

Like the musk melon that I had were so sweet and juicy; super yum! :s19:

Oh yes, I find the Labubu thing quite ugly. People only "like" it because it was popularised by Lisa or something.

Oh have you had it before? How was it?
Paiseh, now no money, future then I go jiak, looks very delicious and a nice place for celebrating something big

Whirling_Dervish

yup, travelled to Hakone but found it underwhelming. imo Shirakawa and Shinhotaka are much, much better options. and you are right that F&E is the best way to travel provided u are familiar enough with the country to navigate on your own w/o google translate and googol maps :s13: cos technology can fail on you at the most critical juncture when u most need it during times of crises when u are trapped somewhere in a deep valley/mountaintop without any GPS signal or 4G/wifi

Really? Did you stay at the Onsen Ryokans in Hakone? I'm surprised you found it underwhelming.

I have travelled free and easy to rural towns in Eastern Europe where only literally one person speaks English (there was no google translate or lens then) and managed to get by by using hand signals and smiling :s13:

Personally, I'm not that crazy to go to the wilderness in a foreign country, so I'm all good.

normal side? What do ya' mean by normal side?

I believed it was ban heng at harbourfront that closed down?

Well, JB is really quite affordable though....

That means central, south, or east Singapore :s13:

I think it used to be called Dragon's Gate, right? I tried the dim sum buffet with my pals back in JC; it wasn't really great. I think it was SGD13.99++ back then.

see order wat lor

What is the most expensive thing you can order?

Y is tat for u?
For me? As I getting older, it's more of a facade rather than enjoyment. Usually I try to go overseas during CNY period but this year air tickets & accomodations are pretty pricey atm.

I used to enjoy travelling to visit several relatives in their homes each day. But nowadays, we just congregate at a particular house on that day and that is it. And there is no more festive spirit anymore.

Back in the day, Chinese New Year was special because it was one of the few times a year whereby your family would splurge on things you otherwise will not afford, like goodies, new clothes, or even soft drinks. But now, I can literally get any of these any time I want.

Paiseh, now no money, future then I go jiak, looks very delicious and a nice place for celebrating something big

It is a very impressive institution for fine Japanese dining. But yes, please patronise them when you successfully sell your HDB; it will be worth it :)

canteen0101

Really? Did you stay at the Onsen Ryokans in Hakone? I'm surprised you found it underwhelming.

I have travelled free and easy to rural towns in Eastern Europe where only literally one person speaks English (there was no google translate or lens then) and managed to get by by using hand signals and smiling :s13:

Personally, I'm not that crazy to go to the wilderness in a foreign country, so I'm all good.
yup i stayed at onsen ryokan in hakone, i saw their fridge is also National brand same as my old fridge which my mum bought in the early 80s and managed to use until last year den break down :s13: other than that there was a tea ceremony set with some complimentary snacks on the table and the tatami mat was already fraying and shedding fur :s13: oh the multiple wash basins in and outside the toilet also made it convenient to wash stuff even if 1 person was inside the bathroom :s13:

to me rural towns anywhere in the world is considered part of the wilderness :s13:

Whirling_Dervish

yup i stayed at onsen ryokan in hakone, i saw their fridge is also National brand same as my old fridge which my mum bought in the early 80s and managed to use until last year den break down :s13: other than that there was a tea ceremony set with some complimentary snacks on the table and the tatami mat was already fraying and shedding fur :s13: oh the multiple wash basins in and outside the toilet also made it convenient to wash stuff even if 1 person was inside the bathroom :s13:

to me rural towns anywhere in the world is considered part of the wilderness :s13:

Did you go for the onsen? Was it an indoor or outdoor one?

Did you enjoy the Kaiseki dinner?

Tsk such a Singaporean urbanite!

charleslee1989

That means central, south, or east Singapore :s13:

I think it used to be called Dragon's Gate, right? I tried the dim sum buffet with my pals back in JC; it wasn't really great. I think it was SGD13.99++ back then.
Wow, So I live in an abnormal part of Singapore lah from your POV...:mad::mad::mad:

It was ban heng.....

harbinger255

Wow, So I live in an abnormal part of Singapore lah from your POV...:mad::mad::mad:

It was ban heng.....
Dragon's gate preceded ban heng.... used to have 3 restaurants under that group serving dim sum buffet... one at harborfront, think another one was at miramar hotel? Can't rbr that last one

Interesting that WD old enough to know that place....

charleslee1989

Dragon's gate preceded ban heng.... used to have 3 restaurants under that group serving dim sum buffet... one at harborfront, think another one was at miramar hotel? Can't rbr that last one

Dragon's gate sibei old........Closed in 2004.....That time I only 15 years old....

harbinger255

Dragon's gate sibei old........
Yes.... at least 15 years ago.... back then in uni, not much money, so wrecked havoc in these dim sum buffet places... :s13:

After graduate, one of our kaki started working in hospitality industry, so our taste upgraded significantly with a staff 50% discount... so we didn't go back anymore... then out of nostalgia decided to go one day, became ban heng riao... so that had to be around early 2010 thereabouts...

charleslee1989

Yes.... at least 15 years ago.... back then in uni, not much money, so wrecked havoc in these dim sum buffet places... :s13:

After graduate, one of our kaki started working in hospitality industry, so our taste upgraded significantly with a staff 50% discount... so we didn't go back anymore... then out of nostalgia decided to go one day, became ban heng riao... so that had to be around early 2010 thereabouts...
Yup, your timeline is right!

alanjw55

If you are Singaporean, just get your esta done.Book your accommodation and return air tic in case they ask. Other than that, doubt you will have much issue.

when i applied for ESTA, i havent get the hotel yet, but i have since got my hotel already.

any issues if i dont update the esta of my hotel?

Whirling_Dervish

It was ban heng.....

I always thought you needed to bring your passport to enter Jurong :s13:

I tried the dim sum there before. It wasn't really good, to be honest. Just cheap stuff to fill you up.

Do you actually think I am 18 years old? :s13:

Came in thought can impress meimeis here with my Genting and Melaka trips. Ran away after spotting the word "Hakone" :(

Why?

What did you do there?

harbinger255

I always thought you needed to bring your passport to enter Jurong :s13:

I tried the dim sum there before. It wasn't really good, to be honest. Just cheap stuff to fill you up.

Do you actually think I am 18 years old? :s13:

Why?

What did you do there?
When my supposedly 18yo daughter start talking about dragon's gate.... it's an instant giveaway.... :s13:

Just being rude and doing some idle speculation about your age... :s34:

Whirling_Dervish

When my supposedly 18yo daughter start talking about dragon's gate.... it's an instant giveaway.... :s13:

Just being rude and doing some idle speculation about your age... :s34:

I remember the place because I remember having dinner there once when I was in primary school. I remember there was a cavernous banquet hall with a huge stage (which is the main reason why I remember it), which was not usual because my parents would normally book a private room.

But if you must really know my age, let's just say that I am staring down the barrel of the gun as I march steadily and surely towards Auntiehood. :(

tmkedmw

Trivia:

Which restaurant is associated with the 4 heavenly king of culinary world in Singapore ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.