Are we just delusional and kidding ourselves?

pokipoki08

There is always going to be people or friends leading better life than you.
If you want to compare them with you, you will remain as a loser forever.
Just decide what you want to live your life and do it.
The most important thing is you are healthy and happy.
Then, you have the chance to enjoy whatever money that you earn.
Or else you are just paying medical fees for your stressed up body.

Stop comparing yourself with other.
Cos it is just a waste of time.
agree
if always want to compare
will not be happy at any stage in life
at all

be natural a bit la
what is meant to be yours
will be yours either way

if want something
of course strive for it
whether will materialize or not
depends

in life
not getting what you want
actually *IS* THE NORM

if let own desires control you
will tire self to brink of collapse

one may not be a great man at all times
but able to control own desires
is the great man

IAmChiobu12M

agree
if always want to compare
will not be happy at any stage in life
at all

be natural a bit la
what is meant to be yours
will be yours either way

if want something
of course strive for it
whether will materialize or not
depends

in life
not getting what you want
actually *IS* THE NORM

if let own desires control you
will tire self to brink of collapse

I think I need internalized this. Maybe we young people too entitled and naive to think what we want we will get. That why I'm so affected whenever I don't and maybe social media becomes an illusion, we think everyone can get what they want.

IAmChiobu12M

EDMW topics getting heavier and more depressing now.
Life is depressing to begin with. Maybe you can start more personal finance thread to teach us your strategy in investing then we all huat will have lesser things to be depressed liao :s13:

dereth

Life is depressing to begin with. Maybe you can start more personal finance thread to teach us your strategy in investing then we all huat will have lesser things to be depressed liao :s13:
I don't think I can teach luck... 🤔

socratesg

I see edmw always jjww that single is the way, alone got more money and freedom etc.

But I see reality (maybe on surface) is that those who are successful at work are also the ones got lucky to bto within 1 or 2 tries, marry early, have kids and have a typical happy family life. Every year holiday with life progressing well.

Early 20s somehow did ok at work, mid 20s marry, late 20s have kids. By early 30 have house, have car, have wife, have kids and helpers le.

Is us behkan bbfa keep jjww say FIRE is best but truth is we just unwanted and behkan. (Besides some troll here but reality are hidden dragons)

Go dating kena hiam, bbfa like us can't score dates or just kena ghosted. Forever stuck in low ses loop worry about next day.

While the reality outside people all celebrating next milestones and trying to achieve next goal. Only we here being echo chamers trying to affirm each others misery nia. Correct ma?
Hmm...every one dies eventually. If have family, might die young from debilitating disease or kena tragic accident like dropped into manhole or kena murdered.

Whereas many singles live healthily to ripe old age and die. So just be happy and do what you like while still alive.

DarkStarer

A lot of "happy relationships" are scam one. You see so many celebrities so pretty and matching also can breakup. Easy examples are Angelina Jolie, Jennifer Garner, and even Hugh Jackman all shocked the whole world. Even if you are Princess Diana also husband don't love you. Many things you see on social media, just see can already. Can envy but no need jealous.

Work on yourself and find your person. No need tall rich handsome, but companionship, way of thinking, lifestyle and loving you despite how weird you are is more important. When you have a good support and partner, it's easier to progress in life.

ramlee

In my humble opinion, the poorest people among younger group in Singapore are people who work in office 9-to-6 office job but kpkb when ask them OT, saying thing like no point being loyal or making other ppl company rich

People are who willing to roll up sleeves and do some real job or take some risk are usually doing better.

Unfortunately I suspect (I could be wrong), many edmwers are super risk averse. Ask them invest or start business, they will take out imaginary statistics such as 9 of 10 investors lose $ etc. or never talk/date to any sinkies ladies but assume they are spoilt princess
It’s not I douch want. It’s I have no marnee and I douch know how :(

ramlee

people who take this place too seriously and treat every comment/opinion as gospel should take a step back and self-reflect on their mindset and beliefs
But we are here to provide moral sarpork for one another 24x7. No? :(

ramlee

previously oredi gotch statistics... here ish machiamz only 1% of the whole stinkieland... a cesspool that gathers the worst of the worst toxic peepurz... :s22::frown:

only our @articland05 ish the hidden dragon crouching tiger... :s12::o:frown:
It’s true. I have resigned to fate that this is my life. I can only hope next life can be better :(

ramlee

Comparison is thief of joy, I know this logic.

But is hard to get rid of the feeling that you suck and I'm not asking a lot. I just wanna feel once I'm satki that all. Like at least there is 1 area in my life I'm "more superior" or above average compared to my peers, within people I know.

Be it, I'm financially richer, earn more, prettier, higher qualifications, success at work or in love etc. At least just 1 thing I can be proud of once.

But people around me win me every area hands down. And no is not caz I didn't work hard. The people I know have everything. Parents doting to them or at least rich enough to support them, rich and understand husband, cute kids, successful at work, good looking partner, ballot bto 1x tio and get awesome queue number, many more.
Your post cows win many other people :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.