Are we just delusional and kidding ourselves?

ramlee

It's very simple, really.

Bto in early 20s, can get govt grants(while income low) and max loan duration for hdb loan or bank loan.

By early 30s can sell bto and upgrade to condo, still can max loan duration.

Before 50s can try bto again. This time sell the private property and fully pay off the bto.

1 kid max so its easier to move house.
Problem ish I can’t find anyone to bto with me :(

Tloslm

Yes they form family, but not always Happy family. Not everything after marriage is good. Always a group of people will regret marry.
Question is how big is this regret group

carlongerdidu93

[google ai]:The Universe 25 experiment was a behavioral study of mice that examined the effects of overpopulation. The experiment was conducted by American ethologist John B. Calhoun between 1968 and 1973.

What was the experiment?
Calhoun created a "mouse utopia" with unlimited food, water, and nesting materials
He introduced four pairs of mice into the enclosure, which became known as Universe 25
The population grew rapidly, doubling every 55 days
The population eventually peaked at 2,200 mice
The mice established social orders that created factions, and eventually mating ceased

What did Calhoun conclude?
Overpopulation leads to a breakdown in social functions, which inevitably leads to extinction

What was the impact?
Calhoun's theory has raised concerns that the social breakdown of Universe 25 could be a metaphor for the human race
His work has been a subject of interest among architects, city planning councils, and government agencies

Ethan_

Think more like trying to justify own situation so that don't look too bad in front of others bah. Both have its fair share of problem.

Those that cannot find anyone asides. Think those that avoid finding someone one tend are those that dare not take the next step and risk it bah.

Cause marriage and having kids means taking on bigger risk and more unknown also. Unless really rich, if not many who are married and have kids one tend struggle with the finances and time. But its part and parcel of life, married life with kids, for the ordinary people. Many just make do with what they have and live each day as it come.

Think there are alot who are too used to their carefree life that dare not take the plunge and risk their finances in such bah. And also jeopardise the single life they are so use to, to be busy with and taken up by family and kids.

Whimsica

The most ideal situation would be to find and merry a soul mate a true love of life and/ or to work in a job/ business that one is truly passionate in and can make lots of money from.

But only very few people will be in such situations.

Some will be delusional, thinking they have found the one but usu is love scam or job scam or bakchiutakstam.

Most will compromise and accept what they can get, typically by 35 yo, and put up a fake front and tell you to be like them... and the best they often can do to convince you to accept a mundane life and waste your one and only chance on earth is tell you otherwise you will die alone (as if their spouse and children will die with them, or even care).

Chase goals, but if you cannot get them it's ok.

Do whatever that makes you really happy.

Dangojr

And provided even if you find a girl willing bto with you while you in 20s, you must get q number and trust her housing judgement and not pull the team down drag until 30s then buy 1st house. When she already analyse for you the situation and have foresight yet the stupid ego and mummy's boy mentality wreak havoc whole thing.
where got bao jiak one. you tot durian meh.

its the women who always comparing dah.. go where holidays, v day do what, my kids i sending them to which school. my friends said this place property good. i want x style of design for the house.

Lolile

For me, I do not like modern women. Modern women do not like me. I hiam them, they hiam me.

To them, I am buaygan. To me, I have dated and can't find the right one I can trust to be with my whole life.

If got hair, who wants to be botak? If got suitable partner, who wants to be single?

And yet, single is still better than spending life with the wrong partner.

Even people like Kurt Tay can land a wife. A partner can be found if you really want it. The question is, should you?
This is so true. It’s really whether you ai or mai only.

Some will shortchange themselves just to get into the “married” status.

otakuflick

not really
i always say human can skip 2 or 3 gen
we are over populated liao
no other big body top super alpha predator got numbers even close to us
we even prey on other alpha predators

i just act out my advice
true to my words

However, how do the unborn generation free themselves from the massive group of elderlies?

1 in 3 wearing adult diapers, it will happen in Japan in our lifetime. Then, it's 1 in 2.

1982-1994

I see edmw always jjww that single is the way, alone got more money and freedom etc.
When I was a single, I always jjww why am I a single on Facebook
I am tall and peasant looking also mah (pun intended)
wna4RAj.jpeg

But I see reality (maybe on surface) is that those who are successful at work are also the ones got lucky to bto within 1 or 2 tries,
I ballot for three times and kena numbers within supply everytime
From 500+, to 300+ for non mature estate and 40+ for mature estate
So being successful at work or not, doesn't matter
marry early, have kids and have a typical happy family life. Every year holiday with life progressing well.

Early 20s somehow did ok at work, mid 20s marry, late 20s have kids. By early 30 have house, have car, have wife, have kids and helpers le.
Enlisted to NS at early 20s
Mid 20s got a first full time job
Late 20s worked as an office boy in some small family company
Early 30s joined the current company months after the previous job and it is coming to the 15th year
Mid 30s knew my wife at work
Been married for 8 years
No kids since our combined is not even median
Promoted twice but pay kena hentataki till 2 years back
Between first job and the current one, pay increased by 3 folds but still below median
Is us behkan bbfa keep jjww say FIRE is best but truth is we just unwanted and behkan. (Besides some troll here but reality are hidden dragons)

Go dating kena hiam, bbfa like us can't score dates or just kena ghosted. Forever stuck in low ses loop worry about next day.
Kee9xTM.jpeg

In my life, I only dated a chio sinkiebu once when I was a bbfa, even gave her flowers that day but she told me she likes someone else, I wasn't keen in her story and no more meetups, should have been patient

I only scored dates with plain Janes through mIRC, and also had my share of sexy fun
Got even one who ended up as my ex, we even cohabited together even when I was jobless at 25 but broke up after 5 months as I was the one to initiate it

While the reality outside people all celebrating next milestones and trying to achieve next goal. Only we here being echo chamers trying to affirm each others misery nia. Correct ma?
My goal is to achieve for full retirement sum in 2029
I claimed myself to be someone with a basic internet etiquette as I don't go around posting with toxic replies

Rather use the time to cuddle with wife at home than to add misery to someone else

Lolile

The most ideal situation would be to find and merry a soul mate a true love of life and/ or to work in a job/ business that one is truly passionate in and can make lots of money from.

yups this is almost fairytale

Most will compromise and accept what they can get, typically by 35 yo, and put up a fake front and tell you to be like them... and the best they often can do to convince you to accept a mundane life and waste your one and only chance on earth is tell you otherwise you will die alone (as if their spouse and children will die with them, or even care).
This is the norm and most get married due to societal “pressure” and just follow the motion. Outward appearance they have attained the married badge but inner self, may not be happy.

ahboy82

Yea. Moi cousins life sibei good every year cny hear them upgrade new car new house. Quite jelly them :(

Eliwood

In my humble opinion, the poorest people among younger group in Singapore are people who work in office 9-to-6 office job but kpkb when ask them OT, saying thing like no point being loyal or making other ppl company rich

People are who willing to roll up sleeves and do some real job or take some risk are usually doing better.

Unfortunately I suspect (I could be wrong), many edmwers are super risk averse. Ask them invest or start business, they will take out imaginary statistics such as 9 of 10 investors lose $ etc. or never talk/date to any sinkies ladies but assume they are spoilt princess

Risk adverse is wrong word. Irrational is more apt.

Shd also throw in lazy, calculative and short sighted.

Eliwood

I see edmw always jjww that single is the way, alone got more money and freedom etc.

But I see reality (maybe on surface) is that those who are successful at work are also the ones got lucky to bto within 1 or 2 tries, marry early, have kids and have a typical happy family life. Every year holiday with life progressing well.

Early 20s somehow did ok at work, mid 20s marry, late 20s have kids. By early 30 have house, have car, have wife, have kids and helpers le.

Is us behkan bbfa keep jjww say FIRE is best but truth is we just unwanted and behkan. (Besides some troll here but reality are hidden dragons)

Go dating kena hiam, bbfa like us can't score dates or just kena ghosted. Forever stuck in low ses loop worry about next day.

While the reality outside people all celebrating next milestones and trying to achieve next goal. Only we here being echo chamers trying to affirm each others misery nia. Correct ma?

Edmwers like to act clever with out of the world insight but most are just daft and irrational.

Like to complain abt FTs and luck but actually is ownself beh kan.

Like to say sinkie pwn sinkie but actually most edmwers not even worthy to be pwned lol. Just collateral dmg only.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.