[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

mryang

Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss mocks electoral boundaries shift as ‘merry-go-round’ without real change

Lawyer and former politician Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss took to Facebook to satirise Singapore’s latest electoral boundary changes. She likened the shifts to a "merry-go-round," arguing they create an illusion of movement but maintain the status quo. While her home remained unchanged for 30 years, she humorously noted being politically moved without explanation.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/20...-shift-as-merry-go-round-without-real-change/

mryang

Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss Mocks Electoral Boundaries Shift as ‘Merry-go-round’ Without Real Change

Source: The Online Citizen
Date: March 11, 2025
Author: Not Specified

Theme: This article details the recent electoral boundary changes in Singapore and highlights the criticisms surrounding the lack of transparency and perceived superficiality of the changes.

Core Points:

- Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss, a lawyer and former politician, satirized the electoral boundary changes, comparing them to a "merry-go-round" that creates the illusion of movement but ultimately leads to the status quo.

- She humorously pointed out that despite her house remaining unchanged for 30 years, she has been moved politically from Joo Chiat SMC to Marine Parade GRC in 2015 and now to East Coast GRC, emphasizing the arbitrary and unexplained nature of these shifts.

- Chong-Aruldoss used the metaphor of "ant-brainers" to convey a sense of powerlessness among ordinary citizens who are subject to the decisions made by those in authority without any meaningful explanation.

- The article further discusses criticisms from opposition parties like the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and the Progress Singapore Party (PSP) who questioned the lack of transparency in the redrawing process and expressed concerns about the removal and merging of certain constituencies, particularly in opposition-contested areas.

- While the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC) has provided more rationale for its decisions compared to previous reviews, the opposition parties argue that the reasoning remains insufficient and question the justification behind the changes.

- The EBRC defended its independence and stated that the changes are necessary to maintain electoral stability and ensure effective representation.

- The article concludes by raising questions about the transparency and legitimacy of the electoral boundary review process, highlighting the concerns about the lack of public consultation and the potential manipulation of electoral boundaries for political advantage.

Phenomenon: This article highlights the ongoing debate surrounding the fairness and transparency of the electoral boundary review process in Singapore. It showcases how political figures and opposition parties are critical of the process, arguing that it lacks transparency and may be used to manipulate electoral outcomes. This phenomenon reflects the broader concerns about the political landscape in Singapore and the need for greater accountability and citizen participation in the decision-making process.

coldish

See it this way.
The same also applies for the other present advisors whose area are kana makan or re-drawn.
And it is not saying that all of them really walk the ground fully for the past 5 years.
CSJ just have to suck thumb and do it.
It is not the 1st time they do it.
It is not about walking the ground or not but it is more like dealer reshuffling the cards after they know the players have a high chance of winning.
They is not afraid of the unknown, they are afraid of the known. They know constituencies like Marine Parade, Tampines, East Coast, West Coast are shaky and in order to revise their chances, they shake everything up.
This mean the Oppies who have been working hard on these areas will now be in unknown.

yperic

#GE2025: The People's Action Party and opposition parties have responded to the redrawn electoral boundaries, with most opposition parties expressing disappointment with the updated electoral map. #sgnews #singapore

TickTechToe

those oppo that work very hard do ground work in example in bukit batok then no more means their effort all gone down the drain liao?
if now have to redo where got time?
like that they forever cannot be win wat
Isn't that what the whole idea is all about? I summon Xie Xian, Xie Xian please come out..

fat_boyz

EBOS6Ni.jpeg

Medicated Oil

It is not about walking the ground or not but it is more like dealer reshuffling the cards after they know the players have a high chance of winning.
They is not afraid of the unknown, they are afraid of the known. They know constituencies like Marine Parade, Tampines, East Coast, West Coast are shaky and in order to revise their chances, they shake everything up.
This mean the Oppies who have been working hard on these areas will now be in unknown.
This is not a NEW problem or issue.
It is something that the other side have to face every year.
As I mentioned earlier, too fixated with the problem is just waste of time.
More productive time should be spend on working out on facing what is given.

The ground work performed is still their edge cos the incumbents are having issues with walking.
The other side can still build on what they have done.

tokong

It is natural reflex, nothing out of the particular. If you see dangerous situations you will also try to save the situation, right.

If it were me, I would have been more drastic. I would even pull Hougang SMC into Ang Mo Kio GRC.

I feel sad also, in fact. The most you've heard in coffeeshops and hawker centres is "oppositions must be united". Secondly, get some really solid people. Otherwise there is no interesting fight to see, everything is very predictable. Think of the days of Chen Show Mao when PAP was utterly shaken in Aljunied. I guess we will never see anything like it already.

tokong

Giving you a bigger pie to compete so that you have more residents to serve.
So why are you so unhappy ?

Bigger pie means you cannot operate alone. SG oppos are not very united.

That's why I admire Malaysia oppositions. They are more united and more structured than ours. Big or small oppo parties they group together and give a good fight at their elections.

TickTechToe

That's why I admire Malaysia oppositions. They are more united and more structured than ours. Big or small oppo parties they group together and give a good fight at their elections.
Not so easy one lah.. I strongly suspect oppy parties inside got 卧底... if needed, the 卧底 will press the button to self destruct the oppy parties.. nothing new really..

Medicated Oil

Maybe we have too many Tony Leung still using moose code with cast left hand.

charleslee1989

Actually, it is ok to have different parties. However, these other opposition parties need to walk the ground more often even before the GE is coming like what WP and PSP has been doing and know what the people want instead of what they themselves want....

They would also need to downsize their egos and join other more popular political parties if they know they have no godfather to help them...

Dun want to walk the ground, appear only before election and have big egos are a prime recipe for failure. Even if you walk the ground before the election rolls in, you get respect from the people.

Hosehliao9999

i hope so as I am getting worried cos the citizens may falter and lose SK GRC
I am currently under Sengkang WP one. Honestly, the MP from Sengkang WP never even walk on the ground one. Never even seen him face to face before. But I will still vote for WP not because of he got walk on the ground or not, but is WE NEED MORE OPPOSITION to voice our concerns as an entire country, not just electoral locations.
If not, we are no different from North Korea, frankly speaking.

dt1002

Not so easy one lah.. I strongly suspect oppy parties inside got 卧底... if needed, the 卧底 will press the button to self destruct the oppy parties.. nothing new really..

Not sure why oppo. always like to disclose their team members and their plan where to contest very early. Like no strategic.
While some don't really bother to comb their hair at least presentable..
The problem is Singaporean mostly like to judge the book by its cover.
Apologize for my comments. No hard feelings

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.