[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

28cMostlyCloudy

Sometimes it can work a bit to their disadvantage. For example, now WP give up MP, where PAP try to consolidate their supporters there, leaving surrounding GRCs/SMCs with lesser supporters.

That's why

Ditching MPBH is like a saying a big Foo You to those for cutting the strong zone into mpbh

Now all the vote tio lock inside. Muahahaha

Encouragesome1

Erm, perhaps just imagine each square not as individual but as group/area. They may not know each individual. But they pretty sure know the result of each group/area. Cause the individuals are grouped together in area. It may not be exact to the individual, but it enough for each area bah. :s22:
They have yr records in rc remb ? I think during mask issuance time g used cc to distribute masks and pre election time I clearly remb they asked things to my pa like
how many working ppl r in yr hse ?
do u hv any schooling kids living w u ? From here they can count how many votes per hse n yr friendly level. Eg -1 0 +1
Eg -1 unfriendly or never let them jjww
0 friendly nv jjww
1 friendly and Tk pic tgt

that cc rc gang can easily gauge ba

Encouragesome1

I have no clue why they even need to do this when they are the majority.

It's not as if it's super tight between the 2 parties.
Kiasuism knows no limits mah. I remb last time dissolution of parliament to ge day also not so close 🤔

yesman2978

I just wonder, if votes are secret how is gerrymandering even possible 😅
They don't know how each voter voted

But they do know how each polling station voted. Each polling station covers specific blocks of flats/neighbourhood of residents

When the votes get counted, it is counted ballot box by ballot box. Got agents from each party observing the counting process and recording down the numbers.

so agar agar can know the voting patterns of each block/neighbourhood.

PikaManiac

I just wonder, if votes are secret how is gerrymandering even possible 😅

U get assigned to a specific plzce to vote.

After u vote finish all the vote transported to the counting Place for that smc grc to count....

U think they see ur paper n track ur address to sort ar? Sort until next year also haven count finish ar

Monstruo^

That's why got many polling centres and you have to go to the assigned one, cannot just vote in any centre you like. So they can know the distribution of votes in each estate
Also got the number for each ticket no? 4 digits de. Or that one ish district number? :o

fire

U get assigned to a specific plzce to vote.

After u vote finish all the vote transported to the counting Place for that smc grc to count....

U think they see ur paper n track ur address to sort ar? Sort until next year also haven count finish ar

I wondering mah, so just asked. Edmwers provided so many answers arl, thanks 👍

Monstruo^

I have no clue why they even need to do this when they are the majority.

It's not as if it's super tight between the 2 parties.
Still scared to lose lor. Imagine you have been winning at video games like say car racing.. max tune or initial D.

Everyday you have been winning in all the different stages and you feel good and normal.

Then suddenly one day you lose a match (GRC).

“Knnb whyyyyy” - they yelled.

Then they want to win that match or stage again.

Second time they lose again, almost beating opponent liao. But opponent beat them by a few seconds. Knn.

So they alter the stage and car and whatever to win. Gerrymandering. :o Now scared other stages also lose.

Racking2322

In sg we don't talk about oppo winning cos cannot happen. But a 1/3 parliament is already a victory for oppo. The last pic is good enough, giving oppo 1/3 minimum in parliament

Ethan_

dis ish murica right?
Think its not so much about the place. But the principle behind it that is applicable to anywhere. Many places also got use bah. Some places more than others. Especially perhaps when the people have not much say in it and are gullible enough to use some nonsense explanation to shut the people up. No need to be too discrete.

Just look at it, given same amount of support in each camp, depending on how draw the line, can turn the odds in one advantage and make what looks like low chances, losing team win. This kind of thing only the one in power that control it can do to ensure consistent high winning chances regardless of the odds.

ShinnAsuka

Gerryman also allows opposition parties to be “confused

say tampines grc, the addition of joo chiat then mean both nsp and wp having presence in the area.

say marine parade, the exit and letting the more dominant party contest led to an unexpected walkover.

Overall it has a 3 prong attack, besides the wellknown winning votes allocation to secure the win

curahee

If they is no gerrymandering, they would have lost the super majority long ago, may not even have chance to form a govt

Skoda29

That's why got many polling centres and you have to go to the assigned one, cannot just vote in any centre you like. So they can know the distribution of votes in each estate
That bring to the redrawn of constituency boundaries to their advantage with this info.

phunware

PSP's hard work gone down the drain liao......Totally got blindsided by the Taman Jurong and Jurong West wards....
Shows Dr Tan Cheng Bock very oblivious to gerrymandering even though he last time PAP

Should have be more experienced and walk the surrounding areas like WP did to have a buffer zone

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.