[15 Mar 2025] Bartley Rd East accident: 70-year-old motorcyclist dies; 30-year-old female driver arrested

DragonFire

:s11:

the biker that were hit to be more careful?
as in how?
Remembering to buckle the chinstrap for the helmet for one…

I wager he’d have a much better chance of pulling through if the helmet didn’t leave his head. We’re talking the difference between a concussion vs a full on shattered skull.

WussRedXLi

If the vespa wasn't there means she will go thru to make the right turn and hit the other cars liao!

If she didn't see the red traffic light ok nvm then how abt the stationary scooter that was already there??

Yep.......full on accident with the traffic coming from her right. She didn't even notice the red light cam as well, so no deterrent effect. Totally oblivious.

Her speed not slow also, 11 frames out of 30 fps vid, 0.367 seconds for the length of Hyundai Sonata @ 4.8 metres. There was 1 car vid which captured this.
This works out to be 47kmh approx.
And as the car was moving, that'd be at least 10kmh higher (possibly 12-15kmh higher, coz that does not seem to be 10kmh / 6:00 min/km running pace....coz i am a runner), ie 57kmh for the Sonata. Bare minimum.......

The lady driver was fully distracted and totally oblivious.

ps. Can play the youtube vid frame by frame also, her brake lights came on only at where the red light cam was, or less than 1m away from the scooter.

charleslee1989

Got one commentator in the Facebook post on SGRV said "My friend's uncle, the biker involved in the accident, is currently in the ICU. The doctors say he may not survive. Please keep him in your prayers.
😭
😭
"

Given that there is no minimum punishment for traffic offences now, the lady can get away with a very short stint in jail!

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Did he check his rear mirror for incoming traffic before filtering into the overtaking lane? He didn't or didn't check enough? He should not have filtered across two lanes in one fell swop. After he filtered from lane 3 to lane 2, had he stayed in lane two longer, he would have seen that car coming in fast and furious and he should not filtered into lane 1 further.

The female car driver is responsible of course. She didn't seemed to slow down after the motorcycle is already right in front of her. Maybe she was on the phone?

Both are responsible. But the man is the elone laying in the hospital now. He is on the losing ended, and I don't mean monetarily.
yes
had biker stayed at mid lane w/o switching to his right, he might not get hit at all

then again, it's really unexpected for a speeding car to be coming from behind as the light still on red

DragonFire

Given that there is no minimum punishment for traffic offences now, the lady can get away with a very short stint in jail!
I hope she is sued for full damages. Civil courts are where meaningful penalties benefiting the victims are applied.

I have to say that the rider not responsibly wearing his helmet may negatively affect the payout though. It might be argued that that contributed greatly to the injury he suffered.

tatsit

The lady driver was fully distracted and totally oblivious.
Exactly, i can't believe there are people who criticized the rider for not checking 'enough'. There was already a huge separation to make the lane change, even if the lane change was not negotiated, the car would have either hit the motorcycle which recorded the footage or beat the red light.

charleslee1989

I hope she is sued for full damages. Civil courts are where meaningful penalties benefiting the victims are applied.

I have to say that the rider not responsibly wearing his helmet may negatively affect the payout though. It might be argued that that contributed greatly to the injury he suffered.
If die liao, also no use le...

vespaguy

another video out liao

other motocyclist dam heng

it's clear she didn't notice the junction and did not slow down hence she hit the scooterist. Stop touching your hair lady and focus. You need to spend time in jail and pay compensation to the scooterist and his family, likely permanent injury at his age.

trevlim

TS england jin tokong
m/clist kena rammed from behind and later got arrested :s39:

GRAVESEED

Exactly, i can't believe there are people who criticized the rider for not checking 'enough'. There was always a huge separation to make the lane change, even if the lane change was not negotiated, the car would have either hit the motorcycle which recorded the footage or beat the red light.
A bit kumgong la for those who want to assign blame to the biker, the driver had 0 intention to stop anyway so she would have Tbone or gotten Tboned when she moved further forward. When reaching red light should be coming to a stop liao, she still continued at her speed

lalalalalala

im all for giving a second chance if its not intentional but if u are doing something dangerous, dun go play phone or sleep. thats y i dun drive, cos i noe i cant focus on road 24/7. this one deserves steep fines and punishment for how dangerous she drove........
The way she is driving makes it intentional imo. Should jail and ban for life

Going easy means she is going to kill more people.

lalalalalala

Did he check his rear mirror for incoming traffic before filtering into the overtaking lane? He didn't or didn't check enough? He should not have filtered across two lanes in one fell swop. After he filtered from lane 3 to lane 2, had he stayed in lane two longer, he would have seen that car coming in fast and furious and he should not filtered into lane 1 further.

The female car driver is responsible of course. She didn't seemed to slow down after the motorcycle is already right in front of her. Maybe she was on the phone?

Both are responsible. But the man is the elone laying in the hospital now. He is on the losing ended, and I don't mean monetarily.
He probably checked and wouldn't have seen her. She swerve out from the other lane and whack gas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.