BYD sealion 7

Justbear

My colleague 4 mths old Atto 3, steering rack start to give problems..knocking sound when turning. It seem that his is not the isolated case, a few kenna the same issue. Best of all, the main AD in sg does not have the replacement parts n have to wait to ship it in.

If SG is one of the main importers for this brand, shouldn't the manufacture at CN gave priority n ship in those parts that are known to fail easily?..

It may be value for money compared to other EV, but QC is definitely not there.
Did he commented takes 3months or longer to wait for spare parts? o_O

icyflame

I like the way Tesla sells car, more transparent. BYD here partners with the legacy car distributors still paying the old game of guaranteed bids and what not where middle man takes a cut.
Indeed. And from a Facebook post, even with the transparent pricing, Tesla sometimes top up COE bid FOC. The guy said that Tesla topped up 5k for him, which I assumed was when COE went up from 109k to 114k

icyflame

My colleague 4 mths old Atto 3, steering rack start to give problems..knocking sound when turning. It seem that his is not the isolated case, a few kenna the same issue. Best of all, the main AD in sg does not have the replacement parts n have to wait to ship it in.

If SG is one of the main importers for this brand, shouldn't the manufacture at CN gave priority n ship in those parts that are known to fail easily?..

It may be value for money compared to other EV, but QC is definitely not there.
Didn’t know that as I didn’t hear complaints from my colleague that owns one. Maybe it is not prevalent, or maybe he just doesn’t want to share.

Atto exterior looks quite good but I really hate the interior. It feels very tacky to me. But it is priced ok, despite the high margins. Parf is zero though

Jacy_Phang

Did he commented takes 3months or longer to wait for spare parts? o_O
Yes. He told me his peers from the Atto 3 group reported that the parts could take that long...

I know there is a saying - u pay peanuts n u will get monkeys..as such dont expect so much for m.i.c. cars but at least ship in the parts lah so that pple dont have to wait that long..this is not acceptable..I have driven Nissan n Honda cars last time..at the end of 7-8 years..Just the normal wear n tear..steering rack swee swee.

Jacy_Phang

Didn’t know that as I didn’t hear complaints from my colleague that owns one. Maybe it is not prevalent, or maybe he just doesn’t want to share.

Atto exterior looks quite good but I really hate the interior. It feels very tacky to me. But it is priced ok, despite the high margins. Parf is zero though
Told me it is a hit n miss thing..some from the group kenna, some don't..obviously it is a qc issue n not design flaw.

jeff79

Idk abt the battery life but I see Toyota like nth much Sia these days.
Toyota recently launched a new low price ev suv in china jointly developed with their chinese partner gac group. Called bz3x with range from 430-620km driving range. More value for money than byd.

430 starts from 109.8k rmb
520 starts from 129.8k rmb

li9ht5peed

Yes. He told me his peers from the Atto 3 group reported that the parts could take that long...

I know there is a saying - u pay peanuts n u will get monkeys..as such dont expect so much for m.i.c. cars but at least ship in the parts lah so that pple dont have to wait that long..this is not acceptable..I have driven Nissan n Honda cars last time..at the end of 7-8 years..Just the normal wear n tear..steering rack swee swee.
my german car's steering rack is still good after >10 years. i go under the chassis to check for leaks every few months

icyflame

Indeed. Japanese cars are super reliable. It is a shame that they decided to forgo EV till recently and tried to look into new tech like hydrogen. Because of that, Nissan is in deep **** now.

The Japanese government had been trying to stop Chinese cars from entering their domestic market. Saw an article that they recently relented as BYD is persuading them that their car can do reverse charging. In short, during a disaster, cars can be used to power a lot of things/homes/infrastructure.

https://carnewschina.com/2024/12/05...nt-to-power-critical-infrastructure-with-evs/

icyflame

Toyota recently launched a new ev suv in china jointly developed with their chinese partner gac group. Called bz3x with range from 430-620km driving range. More value for money than byd.
Last time they can invent their own. Now they had to beg a Chinese partner because they simply lack the EV tech. This is how bad things had gotten for the japs

singexpat

For me, not practical to have EV car cos my wife will not even know when petrol is low and leave it for me to top up. Unless she sees the warning light, else she will just leave it.
Imagine if she left either like 10km battery juice for me to use and I am in a rush. Sure GG.

jeff79

Last time they can invent their own. Now they had to beg a Chinese partner because they simply lack the EV tech. This is how bad things had gotten for the japs
The infotainment systems and voice assistant too.

icyflame

Told me it is a hit n miss thing..some from the group kenna, some don't..obviously it is a qc issue n not design flaw.
Indeed. But if they take 3 months to get the parts. It means that the dealers are here to sell cars and not maintain cars.

if they are making so much in margins, I would expect them to hold more parts. What is the point of long warranty when they don’t perform repairs till months later.

Justbear

Don't buy EV lah. Road tax kena rob, insurance also charge higher. Charging also an hour, range also bad...

icyflame

For me, not practical to have EV car cos my wife will not even know when petrol is low and leave it for me to top up. Unless she sees the warning light, else she will just leave it.
Imagine if she left either like 10km battery juice for me to use and I am in a rush. Sure GG.
Owning an EV is different from ICE car. For ICE, we charge when empty. For EV, you can just charge whenever you can. My friend plugs in to charge when he goes buy food, or go shopping. He told me he doesn’t go specially to pump petrol/charge any more. He just do it as a way of life. And he told me that when the carpark is full, he can get good parking slows when he tabao food. So far, he has never gone to search for a charging point yet. Guess I will do likewise when I get an EV.

bugdog

Don't spread false info.

Meteor84

exterior wise, nice looking car. interior wise, looks like crap which is what i expected from BYD.

icyflame

Don't buy EV lah. Road tax kena rob, insurance also charge higher. Charging also an hour, range also bad...
Looking at the sales numbers and the packed BYD showrooms, I would say that the EV tsunami is coming very soon. In time to come, ICE cars will be avoided, much like how manual cars are avoided.

Meteor84

this has nothing to do with EV car... this one wife problem

Level42

Owning an EV is different from ICE car. For ICE, we charge when empty. For EV, you can just charge whenever you can. My friend plugs in to charge when he goes buy food, or go shopping. He told me he doesn’t go specially to pump petrol/charge any more. He just do it as a way of life. And he told me that when the carpark is full, he can get good parking slows when he tabao food. So far, he has never gone to search for a charging point yet. Guess I will do likewise when I get an EV.

What are your thoughts on charging best practices ?

They say NMC battery is best to keep between 20%-80% range, and it is better to charge from 20%. Some say LFP can go up to 100% , yet others believe it is still battery hence better to use 80% max rule of thumb. For your friend that does intermittent charging, is it bad for the battery ? I have read claims that it is best to start charging from 20%.

I learned from a video Tesla has all the charging data from their customers for more than a decade. The conclusion was fast charging or slow charging makes no difference to the battery life, at least up to 10 years. Yet people are saying fast charging is bad for battery. On the other hand, BYD is talking about megawatt charging. If fast charging is bad, what is BYD talking about ?

batniss

Now $206K. First time I saw the car was $199K. Price goes up in tandem with COE. First year road tax not included. They allow minimum $50K loan for 5 years. Comes with HUD and sunroof and can be covered/opened. I mention this because Tesla does not come with cover.
Yes. Tesla pricing themselves out.
Lack features but charging for Elon to be rich. Comes will a range or need to pay to use stuffs. Even FSD is expensive. Battery only 8 years. They don't even dare give you longer warranty

I will get a sealion too if I could.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.