Breaking: Trump hits Singapore with 10% Tarriffs

itedino

i suaku, but i thought SG mostly imports, very little exports.
so tarrifs dont affect us that much.

do correct me if i salah
Salah la. Export so heavy. Jam to USA and India right now. My cargo got offloaded this morning by SQ422 due to space. Told me overbooked

touchring1

E is China and that’s the ultimate target of Trump, is it not?

On the surface it may appear so, but it would be a mistake to think that this is the reason.

The real and primary reason I believe is AI and austerity, downsizing of bloated government. AGI and austerity will cause massive unemployment, so the Trump administration is betting on a manufacturing renaissance to take up some of the slack.

TiedInsurer

trump gave us the baseline discount. And, we should be thanking our lucky stars considering what singapore has done.
If you mean you wanted the 10% to become 5%, not happening.
But we currently tariff him 0% right? So we need to up it to 10% to be fair.

wlalala

Hmm means we should tariff USA at 20%? Then get 50% discount, still remain same 10%.
I believe most of our imports from the USA are capital goods.
yeah since the reciprocal tariff will be 10% regardless

But actually we shouldnt lah. dun want my amazon purchases to increase price.

final1

No leh, separation of powers mean the court as much authority as trump. Means the court can cancel any order by him. Unless he fights it out to the highest court.

Currently judges have no term limits, which means they are likely politically aligned or not.
No, the court cannot decide they know better than the elected President on foreign trade policy.

And urm, separation of powers does not mean the courts can 2nd guess everything the President does.....
You want the US President to check with the court every time he does something?

final1

yeah lor we should.

since the reciprocal tariff will be 10% regardless
reciprocal means......
if we retaliate with 10%, then Trump will up it to 20%.........
Come on.....its reciprocal....

Anyway, Singapore want to fight the US President, DJT?
Please lah.....

itedino

What’s there to report? 10% is the lowest tariff rate. So 10% is the new 0%. Singapore basically got away with having the lowest direct impact. This would be like the U.S. slapping 10% GST on every import and for most countries, adding even more percentage points depending on the trade deficit with that country.
This is additional tax on top of vat and duties

Whimsica

Not even lunch time and can see the tiong and/ or jiuhu supporters chiong in to stir and want SG to help them make noise liao.

Well, we have 9% GST on imports and 0% GST on exports and big duties on cars and cigarettes and alcohol, so how to complain a 10% export tariff?

And what exactly do we manufacture extensively here for export to USA that will impact us greatly?

Now more countries might want to set up companies here to "import" then "export" to USA.

And we would actually benefit in areas of jobs like accounting and audit and regulatory compliance.

Our government should re-consider the Major Exporter and other schemes to make sure such companies pay some taxes in Singapore.

wlalala

reciprocal means......

Please lah.....
Please go and see how US is charging the tariffs lah.

Trump is charging 50% of what the countries are charging US with a floor of 10%.

cplbao

Gold 90.5 lor, hear only the good news. Arbo we are called 161th for nothing?

TiedInsurer

reciprocal means......

Please lah.....
But his reciprocal also not very reciprocal. We charge him 0% but he charge us reciprocal of 10%? Makes no sense. So we have to raise to 10% to help him reach his goal of reciprocal.

cal127

A lot of speculative empty talk about bringing jobs back from some folks. What kind of jobs? Take automative for e.g. There is no car, repeat, no car sold in the US that uses 100% American-sourced parts. The cars with the most domestic content, which are all Teslas (no surprise who benefits), still use at least 12% foreign-sourced parts, meaning that the "most American" model on the market, the Tesla Performance 3*, can expect to cost a bit more.

In the immediate future the US is going to see higher prices and lower GDP as a result of these tariffs. That isn't going to translate well politically for Trump and Republicans in Senate and Congress. Any potential job creation will take years and won't amount to much, so will do little to soften the blow- and by which time Republicans will have already been voted out of power. But the damage is already done not just to the economy but sour relationships with its trading partners.

If there's any consolation, any broad-based tariffs imposed by Trump by executive order may well be challenged in court as unconstitutional given Congress has constitutional authority over tariffs. :s13:

bombshell

Actually if everyone increase 10% baseline, its just self inflicted inflation for US.
Tariffs work when one country is higher than another.
Tonight can short US markets liao. Huat ah!!!

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
the last thing we need to work up a tantrum.

sinkies are easily manipulated ppl, at this time we should keep head cool and spend our energy to devise way out than to waste time screaming at trump.

semiret

Those Trump's tariffs will likely cause inflation in US. As those extra taxes will be transferred to US consumers. Which will also affects the rates to be stayed high in US for near futures. Really is MAGA. Haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.