Alipay in China

gregory_choo

what bank cards are you talking about... credit card ?

lots of people think that they cant use cash which is not true , here is a video posted on facebook,

you can see local people buying tofu from the hawker, you can see most are using CASH ?

dont try to sabo people.

it is true that you can still use cash, but there is no guarantee that all merchants carry small change for you.

installing alipay or wechat is simple. linking to credit card is even simpler. so why dont do it. unless you dont have a handphone.

16/8IF

dont try to sabo people.

it is true that you can still use cash, but there is no guarantee that all merchants carry small change for you.

installing alipay or wechat is simple. linking to credit card is even simpler. so why dont do it. unless you dont have a handphone.
1.firstly I myself travel to China every year and never had any problem,

2. I posted the video for the person , and it was clear , the vast majority of the locals PAID with CASH !

3. The video posted is not to promote use of cards like YouTrip or CASH , but more to show that the LOCALS are still using CASH ; buying simple food like Tofu.

4. For some Kaypo people who have time , maybe they should count the number of people in that video paying in cash vs apps ?

Problem YOU had problem doesn't means other had the same problem.

Doesnt mean you have been recommending people to use Youtrip , everyone must use ? ( i have read your other posts).

ekardo

Alipay/wechat pay is norm in china due to it's convenience. No one will reject cash payment but no guarantee u get change.

If u have time to trial and error or wait, go ahead and just bring cash lor

jywy2005

2. I posted the video for the person , and it was clear , the vast majority of the locals PAID with CASH !

3. The video posted is not to promote use of cards like YouTrip or CASH , but more to show that the LOCALS are still using CASH ; buying simple food like Tofu.

4. For some Kaypo people who have time , maybe they should count the number of people in that video paying in cash vs apps ?

Doesnt mean you have been recommending people to use Youtrip , everyone must use ? ( i have read your other posts).

Only young school children (not eligible to have digital payment) and senior citizens who are not IT savvy pay in cash. Public transport like buses accepts cash.

Good to have some standby cash. Places at high altitude no network reception. Got Alipay also no use.

16/8IF

Only young school children (not eligible to have digital payment) and senior citizens who are not IT savvy pay in cash. Public transport like buses accepts cash.

Good to have some standby cash. Places at high altitude no network reception. Got Alipay also no use.
watch the video , you see most of the
adult pays cash .

I am not trying to encourage or discourage in either side.

just showing that normal people are still using cash , which is what i experienced every year when i go to china .

Last year i spend 45 days there using cash without a problem .

I have bought whole roasted duck from the small shop paying cash ( Taxis cash , bus cash)

and I also went to their supermarket using cash .
In fact the cashless section is crowded while there is very little people using cash section, so Sometime in certain condition it is better to use cash .

I have four china bank accounts and have all of them linked to 2 WeChat Pay and 1 Alipay so I don't worry about the 3% charges over rmb 200 but i still used cash in as and when I feel like it ie I have choices .

Of course I also used WeChat Pay and Alipay when i buy stuff on taobao , douyin apps when I am online .

This is to correct lots of people whose impression is you can't use or difficult to use cash in China .

FYI i was based in China for more than 10 years and I travel back every year to meet up with all my friends for fishing and also makan ,
so for sure i know their way of life.

natas

China accepts cash... sometime, u buy a bottle of water from street vendor n u flash your red color 100 bill, the vendor will grumble a bit or tell u no change. Anyway, what is the "hardship" of setting up a wechat pay or alipay? If it is very very extremely difficult then LL change RMB notes n spend as usual.

gregory_choo

using youtrip is fine, because we can save a bit of money, but i never said we should not use other credit cards.

i replied your post, because you are telling others not to set up alipay or wechat.

the video you showed is taken at certain place and certain time. cannot generalise..

the main point i wanted to put across, it is easy to setup alipay, so we should recomend all to do it. cash is still usable in china, but electronic payment is much more popular in chiba.

froztheart

Yall don't fight la....
Got WeChatPay/AliPay just use, if not just use cash.
All accepted as long as paid.

And yes, every situation is unique so just go with the flow.
Go there and enjoy spending money, don't fret over such small stuff. 🥳

16/8IF

using youtrip is fine, because we can save a bit of money, but i never said we should not use other credit cards.

i replied your post, because you are telling others not to set up alipay or wechat.

the video you showed is taken at certain place and certain time. cannot generalise..

the main point i wanted to put across, it is easy to setup alipay, so we should recomend all to do it. cash is still usable in china, but electronic payment is much more popular in chiba.
I think you are blind , point where in my post that i tell people not to use WeChat and Alipay ,

I clearly stated that I have 2 WeChat and 1 Alipay accounts linked with 4 China banks , so YOU only choose certain part of my post for your own "agenda" ?

Every video shown are always at a certain place and time seems you are not only blind put seem lack of brain cells 🤔 Plus this is a random video from the internet , and shows LOCAL buying NOT Foreigners ,,,,,

Go back and read all your own posts you clearly trying to push people to use Youtrip when someone mentioned trust card you came with reasons why not too when that poster reply with Youtrip having it own problem too .

Go and read my first reply i give the person who i responded I clearly started just linked the credit card or finally you are not only a Kapoh but also a blind person ?

Lastly since you are so kapoh i suggest you go and count the number of time in this forum talking about alipay and wechat pay how many times u "promoted" Youtrip" and I asked people NOT to use them i think the answer easily is you 10 and I have 0 ?

I think any regular that read the China Forum can see that clearly you have been telling people to use Youtrip.

gregory_choo

I think you are blind , point where in my post that i tell people not to use WeChat and Alipay ,

Every video shown are always at a certain place and time seems you are not only blind put seem lack of brain cells 🤔 Plus this is a random video from the internet , and shows LOCAL buying NOT Foreigners ,,,,,

Go back and read all your own posts you clearly trying to push people to use Youtrip when someone mentioned trust card you came with reasons why not too when that poster reply with Youtrip having it own problem too .

Go and read my first reply i give the person who i responded I clearly started just linked the credit card or finally you are not only a Kapoh but also a blind person ?

Lastly since you are so kapoh i suggest you go and count the number of time in this forum talking about alipay and wechat pay how many times u "promoted" Youtrip" and I asked people NOT to use them i think the answer easily is you 10 and I have 0 ?

I think any regular that read the China Forum can see that clearly you have been telling people to use Youtrip.
Not blind. But can see thru you.

You put a random video to support not using WeChat, many other people can also put up videos of solely using WeChat your random is not random .

Nothing wrong to tell people to use alipay in china and to link it with you trip or other credit card (if they are fine with not so good exchange rate and cross border fee).

But it is not right to say cash alone is sufficient at all places.

Don't be so upset and calling other kapoh. you are saying all members here who give advice are kaypoh.

16/8IF

You put a random video to support not using WeChat, many other people can also put up videos of solely using WeChat your random is not random .

Nothing wrong to tell people to use alipay in china and to link it with you trip or other credit card (if they are fine with not so good exchange rate and cross border fee).

Don't be so upset and calling other kapoh. you are saying all members here who give advice are kaypoh.

YOU are definitely blind, first YOU haven't indicated where in my post I asked people NOT to use ?

Where again in my post that says CASH alone is sufficient, I even give examples I buy on Taobao and Douyin
using Wechat and Alipay... If you are NOT Blind than your brain cells must be lacking too ?

You are the first person to start name calling.... saying I sarbo people which U cant even point out where in my post I tell people NOT to use Wechat or Alipay.

DID I tell other members here? CLEARLY ONLY YOU !

My post was in respond to MangoCAT's question which I clearly replied to her statisfaction which I received
a Thank YOU from her.

If you were NOT trying to push your AGENDA you could have reply to her instead of replying to me with funny comments ?

So PLease point to which part of my post that I state NOT to use WEchat pay or Alipay first ?

IF you cant point out where I asked people NOT to use when I myself is using.... than clearly you have no basis to accuse me of those things.....while I can definitely point that you asked people to use Youtrip , quite clear right ?

Dont bringing up new issue until you have indicated where in my post I asked people NOT to use WeChat or Alipay ?

16/8IF

Let me show you and example how you promote your Agenda "promoting Youtrip.... and try to find a post like this that I asked people not to use Wechat or Alipay ok ?

See your exchange between Commandowolf from post no 1,250 onwards...( click on link below).

If you CANT find post of mine asking people NOT to use Wechat or Alipay , Please dont bring other issue to exchange with me ok ?

Ps FYI i am sure I can dig more of your posts of such nature....while I wait for you to post even 1 that I asked people NOT to use Wechat or Alipay !

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/alipay-in-china.5743833/page-63#post-155660469

s7460597

Can link credit card to alipay. Activate in China before use.

I find alipay more user friendly.

Cash it still accepted in lots of places. It may be hard to get change back for bigger notes in some places.

gregory_choo

Can link credit card to alipay. Activate in China before use.

I find alipay more user friendly.

Cash it still accepted in lots of places. It may be hard to get change back for bigger notes in some places.

This is the general and good recommendation by most responsible members.

YOU are definitely blind, first YOU haven't indicated where in my post I asked people NOT to use ?

You are the first person to start name calling.... saying I sarbo people which U cant even point out where in my post I tell people NOT to use Wechat or Alipay.

DID I tell other members here? CLEARLY ONLY YOU !
You did not state outright. But your post implied it.

You will sabo a person if he listened to you and bring only cash. When he needs to go toilet and he has only rmb100 notes. He will remember you forever.

16/8IF

You will sabo a person if he listened to you and bring only cash. When he needs to go toilet and he has only rmb100 notes. He will remember you forever.
so now U cant find and you imagine, in that case I can also imagine or implied with all your postings you get Paid or benefit from more usage of Youtrip... is that fair ?

U cant even win an exchange on facts on what was posted, while I posted a linked that shows you "promoting" usage of Youtrip !

Think before you post further reply.... GIVE concrete evidence from my post U accused me of asking people NOT to use WeChat or Alipay..... don't used imply where I show you above... I also can implied that your benefits from pushing Youtrip, -- U see how this "imply' works both way....

Just accept you cant proof your accusation and move on... dont waste the space here when you cant justify your accusation , fair ?

MrRacer

Everyone chill, I guess both of you has your point here's my humble view.

In terms of mobile payment whether it is wechat or alipay generally in first tier city like beijing, shanhai, shenzhen guangzhou has no problem and widely preffered even like small vendor.

As regards to cards linked, if you are using credit card or some bank card the rates may be less favourable due to the cash back, miles or whatever reward system so that you get whatever benefits.

As for other better rates card like youtrip/wise/revolute is definitely better, I also use them, to make online purchase however the only challenge is that, it is considered as international card thus there is a 3% for wechat pay not sure for alipay.

In terms of using direct card payment I would only use it at hotel payment, when outside I avoid incase the card get skimmed and being illiegal use use these card are considered debit. It is hard to claim back for fraud compare to credit card.

What I usually do is I look for my trusted china friends help, yes I have to pay some fee but better rate to transfer them via wise to their wechat/alipay then they transfer back to my account. I just use this directly deducted from the wallet after I have submitted my passport details. I can hold money in my wallet account.

As for actual cash, it is actually much prefer in village, less populate city. Some of them prefer to get cash either they could be less techy and some could also just to avoid taxation.

During my first trip to china I did bring some cash and often being frowned upon in city like Qing dao and Shanghai. When I wanted to pay my taxi from train station to airport, she just ask if she can wechat pay. Later my friend explain to me they scare the money could be fake.

Before the mobile payment, there are alot of fake 100 rmb on the markets

dilphinus

In all my years of travelling and living in China, never have I come across a toilet that require payment.

gregory_choo

In all my years of travelling and living in China, never have I come across a toilet that require payment.
because you never travel enough or you focused on city only.

in rural areas, many need to pay, rmb 2-5

usually not very clean :(

free toilet in cities are cleaner.

hfngshnll

some years back (before covid), had to pay to pee into a deep trench dug into the ground, dressed up with roof and walls. lol. during those rest stops along the long road journeys.

in western sichuan highlands, which is actually on the tibetan plateau 青藏高原.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.