I Think A&W End Is Near, Will Really Miss It If They Folded In Singapore Again

JivBunny

i think maybe is the service and quality of the food
i visited once at Jewel...
slow and food quality was atrocious.

Very hard to win Macdonalds in terms of speed and consistent quality.

KFC also not much better.. very slow...

There was a period of time (just a few years back) where KFC really pulled their socks up and their chicken is always served hot and fresh.

But lately the standard is again sloppy. Their original if fresh out is really very good.

In my recent trip to US, I think KFC is really quite good there, esp their Chicken Pot Pie.

titusilvering

Probably my 3rd favourite fast food chain, my side the business very bad, seems like the whole restaurant only 1 or 2 people, i think is a matter of time they are going to wind up the businees in sinkie for the 2nd time in history.

No fun toys hard to attract customers. Last time i got the bear bottle

eyz

i always eat there when i want something light.

root beer float + beef coney curly fries

JivBunny

Open wrong place. 2 outlets in Sembawang grc, 1 in Amk, 1 in Jurong and 1 at airport?

like 3 in the north area, within a few mrt stations.
north west no a & w…
North east no a & w
South no a & w

They have one in Anchor vale mall (NE). I was there last week to buy their 1-1 coney dog offer

Nevereatrice

i go jewel eat ish kfc jewel de kfc is on another level bec of foreigner crowd

samloi

so fast?
thought last time when they reopen got long long q

itedino

I can only support one John silver or A&W. Since u said their business bad.

Ok will support them every week. I like their fried chicken. Quite good

icansing

came back for the memory , going to become memory again :s13:

gen z, alpha generatoin dun give a damn about this

lup_cheong_very_long

i rmb when they started at JP, wah kao wei the Q is super duper long sia. have to wait at least 1 hr

but now i see like no ppl Q liao

sekali really in the end bye bye sayonara des

JivBunny

I can only support one John silver or A&W. Since u said their business bad.

Ok will support them every week. I like their fried chicken. Quite good

Interesting thing about LJS, which I thought their standard has dropped badly over the years.

But i just bought from them once ard Feb and have went back to them for 2 other times since.

Personally find their fish and chicken is pretty good. At $5.95, 2 pc chicken (very tender and though is chicken breast, very tender and juice y) with their fries and extra crumbs and a drink is pretty filling.

Medicated Oil

There was a period of time (just a few years back) where KFC really pulled their socks up and their chicken is always served hot and fresh.

But lately the standard is again sloppy. Their original if fresh out is really very good.

In my recent trip to US, I think KFC is really quite good there, esp their Chicken Pot Pie.
Bingo.
Once you ate the US KFC, you will realized that the KFC here is crap.

Evil_Boss

all say miss it la, please come back, but when come back already 1 year later the novelty wear out le

JivBunny

i rmb when they started at JP, wah kao wei the Q is super duper long sia. have to wait at least 1 hr

but now i see like no ppl Q liao

sekali really in the end bye bye sayonara des

Same goes for shake shack.

First tried them in US, then later in Korea. Then when they opened in Jewel, tried them twice and that's it.

Nothing wow, just expensive. If I were to go eat them again, its more for that nostalgic experience from overseas.

ricohflex

Long ago when American style fast food was first introduced.
KFC 1976
McDonalds 1979
SG public loved them.
Novelty factor.
Maybe also long ago people felt ang moh fast food is "advanced" or the in-thing.
There was no local competition.

Now in 2025, SG has its own Toastbox, Yakun, Breadtalk, Qiji, Old Chang Kee.
Got DTF, Subway, Wendys, Ramli burger, TCC, Starbucks, Delifrance, Paris Baguette, Tiong Bahru Bakery, etc....
So much competition.

I think Taco-Bell never came back.
Lobster Burger just closed.

Tough for A&W.

But Shake Shack seems doing well.
McDonalds in Clementi Mall always jam packed.

focus1974

true.
overseas KFC are surprisingly good.
I had it in China, Taiwan, Japan .. all super yummy and hot

For Macdonalds, Taiwan/Korea was quite bad for me but China and Japan very good.

before anyone say i go overseas eat fast food only..
no.. genius... we also eat other type of food.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.