• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

RichardXyn

How a party performs in an election is very much dependent on the leader of the party. When PAP achieves a clean sheet in a GE, LKY was its leader. When SDP won 3 seats in parliament, CST was its leader. Then SDP achieved more than 39% of the total votes. When CST was ousted from his leadership, SDP lost the 2 seats they won in the previous election. When LTK left his comfort in Hougang and led a team to Aljunied, WP won more seats in parliament. My feel is if PS were to leave Aljunied to contest in another GRC, WP will do well in this coming election. LTK's courage in leaving Hougang was evidence of his desire to do more for the people. PS will do better if he has the courage to emulate his predecessor.

parchiao

Your opinion that Bitcoin has no value is wrong because it is $2trillion.

Your CPF is backed by *checks* a government promise. Which of course under the hood is selling Gold and USD.

COE - bro i wish COE is lower. But truly if you look at the CNA debate and study local transport critics the COE is still an issue where people want fewer cars on the road. Even policy considerations like COE in a ballot system proposed by scholars are a 50-50. Because you get lottery effects as well.

Bitcoin is not backed by anything. USD may be a fiat currency, but it is backed by a country and by many countries around the world. So what if it is worth $2T now? It can be worth nothing very easily when the next better cryptocurrency with more guarantees come along.

Are you saying that CPF money used to speculate in bitcoin is equivalent to being backed by the govt? I do not understand your logic. Our government back our currency, they guarantee the CPF money too. But if you take that money to speculate, why should that equate to the need for the govt to back that speculative vehicle?

itedino

Csj stand better chance at this smc against her
Also its next to bb
Yes I also think so. At least revive ling how doong's legacy. Gombak at least under sdp before.

Batok and gombak is sdp base to canvass votes. Like me in bb. Sdp is the most familiar party in 80s,90s

Many residents here did give sdp support

misterGomez

they all step down, also will get replaced by another batch of useless MPs

yes but that is not the point as the majority will go through the motion of voting for them until they can't take it. That's why i ask people, how have you been in the last 5 years? Have things improved? or things have gotten out of control?

s-ghost

How a party performs in an election is very much dependent on the leader of the party. When PAP achieves a clean sheet in a GE, LKY was its leader. When SDP won 3 seats in parliament, CST was its leader. Then SDP achieved more than 39% of the total votes. When CST was ousted from his leadership, SDP lost the 2 seats they won in the previous election. When LTK left his comfort in Hougang and led a team to Aljunied, WP won more seats in parliament. My feel is if PS were to leave Aljunied to contest in another GRC, WP will do well in this coming election. LTK's courage in leaving Hougang was evidence of his desire to do more for the people. PS will do better if he has the courage to emulate his predecessor.
if not for this court case, him leaving Aljunied GRC would have bring stellar results

so the next safe bet is, slyvia lim leave to go east coast

parchiao

If war breaks out it's all guns and butter. You can carry gold around with you in the bag and cut it up to trade for kaya whenever you want. Then use the paper to wipe backside. If war breaks out to the point even the internet is down, then every Singaporean dollar is only valuable during hungry ghost festival.

Well, then you obviously have not thought about it carefully again. The paper will still be worth something, and you can survive on that paper for a period of time, even though it gets increasingly worthless.

You cannot do anything with your bitcoin.

misterGomez

Maybe LTK comes back and contest Punggol with PS?

dqwong

Kurt Tay jin happy:
833737189c18347fef16215ab423fec9

jeremytansg

Bitcoin is not backed by anything. USD may be a fiat currency, but it is backed by a country and by many countries around the world. So what if it is worth $2T now? It can be worth nothing very easily when the next better cryptocurrency with more guarantees come along.

Are you saying that CPF money used to speculate in bitcoin is equivalent to being backed by the govt? I do not understand your logic. Our government back our currency, they guarantee the CPF money too. But if you take that money to speculate, why should that equate to the need for the govt to back that speculative vehicle?
1 Bitcoin = 1 Bitcoin. The volatility is from the US Dollar. The dollar is backed by Lockheed Martin, Boeing, Palantir and Raytheon. The better Dollar is here and it's called Bitcoin. It is guarded by energy, nodes, hash powers, international users and can be restarted in outer space even if we got a meteorite bombing our ass.

Bitcoin has endured many forking wars and its current state of adoption, technology and global use is something we cannot afford to ignore. Maybe a more powerful proof of work blockchain can come along, but its merits will just be coded into Bitcoin improvement protocols.

The Bitcoin ETFs are meant for people who truly realize that fiat loses 50% of all purchasing power every 17 years. It is meant for people who do not want dollar slavery and inflation slavery. That's why it was the fastest growing ETF in history.

charleslee1989

I thought public service not allowed to participate in politics?
By right, cannot participate. By left, as this head of comms for PA shown, can JJWW opposition politicians de.....

Not sure if silly or?

Income policy holders not workers ah?

By promoting a deal that basically destroys their protection on their health and well-being costs, how much of a union labour chief are you?

Also labour chief and union labour chief, can't even differentiate.

What joke of an IB u are
Not just NCM himself...

A few PAP politicians like Alvin Tan of Tanjong Pagar GRC openly defended the deal hor.....

These supposed "labour" MPs bar for Caryn Lim and Cham Hui Fong as shown below all diam diam on the deal also and never voiced a single opposition to the deal....

PEsKbj3.jpeg

Really disgusting sia....Supposed "Labour" MPs going through Silent Acquiescence on the deal and one of them acting blur sia...

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...ow-capital-reduction-plan-desmond-tan-4682446

The PAP team in Marine Parade looks kancheong and chut a lot of vote buying stunts and release a lot of vouchers and programs recently to buy votes
West Coast-JW GRC also....Recently, they gave out a lot of free BK meals to be redeemed only at West Coast CC....

jeremytansg

maybe consider if running DOGE is a fair proposal to audit federal spending and reduce government waste
I think AGO is already doing a good job. The problem is civil servants take the direction of the Ministers. All bureaucracies have waste, but wasteless execution is still a skill issue. We don't have USAID problems in general. We just need diverse parliament to ensure no carte blanche.

caleblin

See how people are spreading fear of fiat money to justify bitcoin? :s13:

I think that if a war breaks out and people have no access to the internet, how does bitcoin work as an escape shuttle?

I think my piece of green paper, my gold etc will be worth far more.
The ability of a govt to print money without our consent in the fiat system is what is scary.

And the best part, Singapore is just a sampan, and a small open economy… when USA EU China prints, money just flows here inflating everything whether we like it or not. we saw that massive wave in Covid. Money is supposed to store our hard work and life energy which we expend at our jobs… when govts print money without our consent... they are essentially debasing our life energy.

bitcoin and gold are the only two assets that can protect against that. Sure you can hold gold too, I agree that it’s a good store of value. Bitcoin is superior as it’s digital, easily divisible, secure, decentralised, etc.. but yes you can hold gold too as it’s also a great store of value.

The issue here is Singaporeans allocating too much of their wealth into property as their retirement asset. Which means they get saddled with huge loans, unable to take entrepreneurial risks, worried all the time about losing their jobs, lower birth rates etc. we need to decouple retirement planning from property as their primary retirement vehicle.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.