• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Can Or Not

pap have got the means to do a lot more things but they are not doing some of them

opposition is there to remind them to do so

:grin:
TSL already explain the gist of things… when he is the boss in the private sector. The bucks stop at him, because now he has so many things to factor into his consideration… it’s just tougher…

It just means opposition WONT do a better job overall but they can help to improve the situation…

If they are the government, it WONT be better. I can guarantee you but by opposing, they help to give views to improve the situation.

Medicated Oil

The constant showing of Ah Gong's videos reinforce the elderlies admiration and respect for Ah Gong but I never vote PAP that time because I am not voting for a dead person and a dead person can't say anything about whether Pinky has honoured his wishes
I guess the oldies are reduced by a lot after COVID.
So, the support there should be weakened.
As for the support for other gen, it depends on how hard they are hit by the cost increases being implemented for the past 2 years.
You should know that some of them are still enjoying happy days.

zoossh

I mean they should be focusing on the latter lei, and not the former.

Bringing to the table will take decades for them to secure ground experience after winning the grc

It will take time but that is the only way the country can be saved.

Medicated Oil

Ya quite hard. But the mothership interviewer a bit cmi also so idk if going on these podcasts will help optics for PS so much so I understand if he does not go for any.
Recently on tdk I think tingru also spoke pretty well and got quite good response.
I assume that you watched most of the podcast interviews for the past few weeks.
Most of them are treating the advisors like some stars.
Only a few really go tough on them so far.
Ting Ru handled herself well.
It depend on their party whether they want to promote her.

atamavision

Every election I still hold grudges.

My 2004 born daughter didnt get her primary 1 school near to our home...there are 3 primary sch within walking distance.

Reason is that my area there are lots of PR kids...that era...Singaporean & PR kids same phase & ballot. Meaning your kids and PR kids ballot together...3 times ballot different sch and all failed. My daugher was force posted to futher sch..for 6 years she need wake up way earlier to catch the school transport.

Life was not fair last time...no one listen to our plight..

Bro, I feel you, my daughter borned 2004 faced the same problem

yperic

0:00 Introduction
0:34 Editor's note
0:44 What do political volunteers do?
1:42 Expectations vs. reality of volunteering
3:39 Navigating major political news
4:20 Thoughts on the General Elections
5:11 The purpose of volunteering
5:52 Should Singaporeans care more about politics?

“You have to manage your work, your family commitments. Yet you're putting time aside to volunteer—and you're not being paid for doing this.”

From students to working professionals and retirees, more Singaporeans are stepping up as political volunteers. But why do they do it?

RICE goes behind the scenes with a few volunteers to uncover what really happens on the ground—and how the experience has changed the way they see Singapore’s political system. #ge2025

[Editor’s note: For this video, RICE sought a balanced representation of views across Singapore's political spectrum. While we reached out to both ruling and opposition parties, we were unable to secure an interview with a PAP volunteer. RICE does not endorse any political party in Singapore.]

havetheveryfun

I assume that you watched most of the podcast interviews for the past few weeks.
heard frm some ppl they voted for WP last election because of Jamus performance in the debate.

but after that say that he is a scam. they feel like he never do much. not sure what they were expecting.

charleslee1989

0:00 Introduction
0:34 Editor's note
0:44 What do political volunteers do?
1:42 Expectations vs. reality of volunteering
3:39 Navigating major political news
4:20 Thoughts on the General Elections
5:11 The purpose of volunteering
5:52 Should Singaporeans care more about politics?

“You have to manage your work, your family commitments. Yet you're putting time aside to volunteer—and you're not being paid for doing this.”

From students to working professionals and retirees, more Singaporeans are stepping up as political volunteers. But why do they do it?

RICE goes behind the scenes with a few volunteers to uncover what really happens on the ground—and how the experience has changed the way they see Singapore’s political system. #ge2025

[Editor’s note: For this video, RICE sought a balanced representation of views across Singapore's political spectrum. While we reached out to both ruling and opposition parties, we were unable to secure an interview with a PAP volunteer. RICE does not endorse any political party in Singapore.]

Interesting that they approached Stephanie from the PSP......

havetheveryfun

The constant showing of Ah Gong's videos reinforce the elderlies admiration and respect for Ah Gong but I never vote PAP that time because I am not voting for a dead person and a dead person can't say anything about whether Pinky has honoured his wishes
thats why i dont get people say why showing of ah gong videos 24/7 will make people vote for PAP. got link meh ?? vote for a dead person ??

couch.potato

Yeah, don’t think Singapore general audience is ready for anything more than interviews like that, to be honest. Anything more radical and there will be pushback from either side. So everyone tries to be neutral and PC, understandably.

didn’t enjoy Jackson on the interview though. Love his zest but he isn’t “eloquent” enough (for lack of a better word) in the responses so can come across as a little too brash and opinionated, which I guess opposition members know the public does not appreciate as the seniors are all a little more muted and thoughtful in response.

tingru probably doesn’t need more pushing lah strategically since so many new stars… but I’m glad she is very clear-minded and rational. Singaporeans tend to appreciate that, especially swing voters.
heard frm some ppl they voted for WP last election because of Jamus performance in the debate.

but after that say that he is a scam. they feel like he never do much. not sure what they were expecting.
Every politician is a scam, just what extent only lol.
but Jamus always sweating around Anchorvale leh hahahahahaha.

havetheveryfun

yep thats why but to be fair the person who said Jamus is a scam seems to be more sided towards PAP.

PAP also have their fair share of "scam" MPs or ministers.

Medicated Oil

Yeah, don’t think Singapore general audience is ready for anything more than interviews like that, to be honest. Anything more radical and there will be pushback from either side. So everyone tries to be neutral and PC, understandably.

didn’t enjoy Jackson on the interview though. Love his zest but he isn’t “eloquent” enough (for lack of a better word) in the responses so can come across as a little too brash and opinionated, which I guess opposition members know the public does not appreciate as the seniors are all a little more muted and thoughtful in response.

tingru probably doesn’t need more pushing lah strategically since so many new stars… but I’m glad she is very clear-minded and rational. Singaporeans tend to appreciate that, especially swing voters.

You should have read the interviews from the white side newbies.
Most of them are also struggling to promote themselves to get the votes.

Tormented Soul

This election PAP have a huge huge advantage. Not only has the boundaries been drawn so extremely this time round to favour them, the day may 3rd has a huge significance.

PM Wong can use 1st May Labour Day rally to hammer a huge message to all voters before the cooling day. Then after that voting day liao. could have the LKY effect a little

havetheveryfun

This election PAP have a huge huge advantage. Not only has the boundaries been drawn so extremely this time round to favour them, the day may 3rd has a huge significance.

PM Wong can use 1st May Labour Day rally to hammer a huge message to all voters before the cooling day. Then after that voting day liao. could have the LKY effect a little
thats why this could be another watershed election.

If they still lose another 1-2 GRC with so much advantage in their favor, it spells bad for them.

If they win back at least Sengkang GRC and keep all the remaining constituencies, I guess most Singaporeans will give up already hoping for change from then on.

Damienic

If Singaporeans really so easily manipulated, then really got nothing to say,
At end of the day, you vote the government you deserved.
Anyway I have always been cautious about opposition chances in this election.

havetheveryfun

If Singaporeans really so easily manipulated, then really got nothing to say,
At end of the day, you vote the government you deserved.
Anyway I have always been cautious about opposition chances in this election.
percentage of "Singaporeans" getting lower and lower every election.
percentage of new citizens "Singaporeans" getting higher and higher. so only need to manipulate a small amount already enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.