[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

xdivider

1. Implement a national minimum wage​

How many Singaporeans earn less than S$1,600/mth? Presumably this does not include JHK, tiongs and kids with part-time jobs. What is going to happen is that your local cleaner/admin will get replaced by JHK or tiongs, and kids will no longer have part-time jobs.

2. Introduce redundancy insurance​

Basically unemployment benefits. Not a bad idea but I would like to see some numbers.

3. Establish a SkillsFuture education loan​

Let me know if anyone got hired just because he took a skillsfuture course.

4. Abolish the statutory retirement age​

Let's be real here, if the employee is so useful to the company and is willing to work past retirement age, he can still be indirectly employed in some other capacity, like being a director, consultant or advisor.

5. Lower the eligibility age for singles to purchase BTO flats​

Yes, a good start. But it means nothing if supply does not increase. Prices will go up and chances will go down.

6. Reinstate Thaipusam as a public holiday​

No one really cares.

7. Abolish the Group Representation Constituency (GRC) system​

No one really cares unless he is really interested in politics (as in vote-gaming).

8. Lower the voting age to 18 years old​

As someone who went through NS, I have to agree on this one, but it is politically meaningless.

9. Raise NSFs’ allowances​

As someone who went through NS, I have to agree on this one, but it is politically meaningless.

10. Recognise the state of Palestine​

Is this being populist? I don't actually think anyone cares beyond wanting to avoid pointless deaths. Those loud voices are simply virtue-signalling.

Summary: ~3/10 potentially useful things. WP can do better.
no 10 is vote buying, the other side oso playing this card so have to match....

Vicodin

Get to know our candidate - Eileen Chong Pei Shan 蒋佩姗

Eileen currently works in the social impact sector, where she leads the early childhood development, education, and youth mental health and wellbeing portfolios at Asia Philanthropy Circle (APC). She joined APC in June 2024.

From 2017 to 2024, Eileen served at the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At MFA Headquarters, she covered Singapore’s bilateral ties with China, Thailand, the Philippines, and Laos. She was subsequently posted to the Singapore Embassy in Beijing, where she served as First Secretary (Political) from 2020 to 2023, and concurrently as Deputy Head of the Political Section in her final year.

Eileen was awarded the Singapore Government Scholarship (Foreign Service) in 2011 and went on to pursue higher studies in China and South Korea. She holds an M.A. in Global Affairs and Policy from Yonsei University, South Korea (2017), and a B.A. in International Politics from Peking University, China (2015). She graduated from ACS (Independent) with an International Baccalaureate diploma in 2010, and attended Jurong Secondary School and Xingnan Primary School prior to that.

Eileen wants voters to know that she cares—not just about what Singapore is today, but what it could become tomorrow. She believes that open conversations, respect and empathy build a stronger Singapore. Eileen is committed to building a more inclusive Singapore where diverse voices unite rather than divide, and where every Singaporean feels heard and supported. To this end, Eileen has volunteered as a casework volunteer at the HOME shelter for domestic workers in distress and been a mentor for a youth social challenge organised by ItsRainingRaincoats.

Eileen hopes to see more kindness and empathy in Singapore’s political discourse. She believes this can set a positive tone for civil society and create safe spaces for open conversations that challenge biases and prejudices. Such exchanges are essential for building genuine understanding—not just tolerance—and for fostering a renewed social compact from the ground up, where diverse viewpoints strengthen rather than divide us.

Read her profile here: www.wp.sg/candidate/eileen-chong-pei-shan

#wpsg #WorkingforSingapore #StepUp #GE2025

Jialat, they recruited another activist.

Elnoxv

I think it would be good to include whole sentences to avoid misrepresenting their meaning. IMO as I read it, Their manifesto is not saying to delay CPF payout but to enable people who want to work to still contribute to the economy should they want to.

E.g. CPF payout at 65. You can work past 65 if you want to, it won’t affect your CPF payout anyway.

I think you were associating retirement age with CPF payout either subconsciously or intentionally and I hope it’s the earlier.

Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.
"Older workers bring about a wealth of skills, experience and diversity to the workplace, and should be supported. Having older citizens who choose to remain in meaningful employment also promotes their well-being and benefits the economy and our society," WP's manifesto stated.

Can Or Not

WP has run out of meaning issues to champion for?
Impossible for opposition to compete against PAP in terms of running the government, it’s like our Sg team against NBA pros… but opposition role is to halt government push for unpopular policies

artncraft

Impossible for opposition to compete against PAP in terms of running the government, it’s like our Sg team against NBA pros… but opposition role is to halt government push for unpopular policies

There should be more push for social issues like TFR, better benefits for those who served NS, and single elderly care.

Vicodin

WP has run out of meaning issues to champion for?

This one is even worse.

Despite being one of the wealthiest countries per capita in the world and with a global footprint, Singapore has no agency that provides Official Development Assistance (ODA) to support sustainable development in less developed countries...

Singapore should establish a foreign aid agency, the Singapore Agency for International Development, to direct ODA more effectively. Efforts should focus particularly on our Southeast Asian neighbours, and assist in their economic development and capacity building.

minlon

📌 Summary By AI​

1) Yes, a higher retirement age could lead to a higher CPF withdrawal age in the future, but no official change has been made yet.
2) CPF withdrawal age is still 65 as of now.
3) Any future changes will be gradual and announced early to allow Singaporeans to plan.

I do not want my CPF withdraw age to extended! :(

Okeirkkire

Actually i support this ....now there no reasons for cashier kind of job going to fw...see a thread mentioning fw/ft sending bk 1k back to their countries overall 24 billion in a year ..it better this money stay in singapore
Edit : and no more reasons miw to support fw/ft to suppress the wages...of course policy must tweak/align to singaporean

AndreFLo

Removal of retirement age would mean that employers are bound by statutory law to prevent them asking their elderly staff to leave or convert to contract headcount once the retirement age is reached. Or lowball them with a lower salary.

It doesn’t mean you have to work till you die. The option is there for you to still retire if one day you feel like doing so.

Emperor_Hippo

In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :

Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121

OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them

So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Ok what.

that stupid statutory retirement age put in there so many bloody admins to clear.

mcylo

In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121

OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them

So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Remove retirement age and continue to work 傻傻分不清楚

xdivider

Workers party work for life
if u need to. beats collecting cardboards to support hdb payments......

but frankly keep u as a senior staff at 70 or hire 3 FT grads. tough choice....not.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.