[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

hachi

i dun sympathize with people who believe in nonsense like ASShat enhancement and end up get played. what im more bothered with is the old folks that still needs to collect cardboard or wash plates that govt promotes as exercise........
Concur this... Don't need to sugar coat. But there are many refuses to work when young. Of course isolate cases where one get cons by loved ones..

Meteor84

its a PAP lite logic. but a very different one. for PAP, they keep increasing the retirement age from last time 55 now i think 64 le. what this means is alot of companies, will drop older workers their position, which comes with a drop in salary and benefits, to prepare them for re-employment into easier jobs as they hit the retirement age. with removal of retirement age, older workers gets their choice to work at full benefits until they dont feel like working anymore.

that said, i dont fully agree as it opens up a can of worms of possible JLB old folks refusing to give up their position for younger and more promising workers to bring the company forward. they will be drawing full salary and wasting company resources too.

cpuer

I'm not boomer but i don't get the boomer blame. Most of my boomer colleagues hate pap.
Meanwhile its the millennials who are earning above median salary, everyday drink starbucks eat good food, enjoying their life who votes for the incumbent
thats a my observation too.

Not.banned.yet

WP didn't say that it's mandatory to work more or longer.

For those who don't want to and/or have enough $ to stop, carry on.

For those who need/want to continue working, they can now do so.

So, what's the problem for employees? Only EDMWers seem to have an issue.
Yea yea. U are right. U have a great mind. I also know that retirement age is just a number. I earn enough, have no debt, I won’t need to wait till retirement age.

But the old folks, not so well learnt will need a lot of convincing on this.

Emperor_Hippo

work longer and longer?
No big deal.

Why do everyone think working longer is bad?
In fact, seen so many people slow down and age so rapidly after so-called 'retirement' when they leave the workforce permanently and get dementia real quick.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
No big deal.

Why do everyone think working longer is bad?
In fact, seen so many people slow down and age so rapidly after so-called 'retirement' when they leave the workforce permanently and get dementia real quick.
some ok to work longer

but not overyone wants this

xdivider

frankly im neutral but rite now companies can juz shoot a non performing letter and retrench u anyway.........who wants a old fodgie who is doing X job at senior pay when u can get 3 FT grads to replace him.......

ramlee

Don't know leh.. Maybe just a siao lang who happened to cross path with Edwin Tong.

I'm more curious about that young couple with a kid who dared to ignore him completely, with no eye contact at all after Edwin went to their table. That's surely no way to treat an esteemed Senior Counsel!
If you were his former classmate you would treat him this way :(

ramlee

492117370_1214258990256959_7689151754474308996_n.jpg
Look rike siao lang :(

jumpthepig

frankly im neutral but rite now companies can juz shoot a non performing letter and retrench u anyway.........who wants a old fodgie who is doing X job at senior pay when u can get 3 FT grads to replace him.......

(y)
  • Economic Growth and Opportunities: Here, WP wants to refocus policies to prioritise local hiring and reduce Singapore's "over-reliance" on foreign labour.

xdivider

(y)
  • Economic Growth and Opportunities: Here, WP wants to refocus policies to prioritise local hiring and reduce Singapore's "over-reliance" on foreign labour.
we both know they arent going to be in the position to make these decisions for at least another decade (if at all) so its nice dreaming. the current govt juz let mnc and gang do their weeding thing.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.