[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Mephist0pheLes

In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :

Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121

OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them

So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
U dont stupid can or not? Retitenent age is not the age u r mandated to work till. U r free to retire at 40 today even tho retirment age is 60+. So no retirement age doesn't mean u need to keep working, it means companies cannot use retirement age as the reason for terminating u.

jumpthepig

we both know they arent going to be in the position to make these decisions for at least another decade (if at all) so its nice dreaming. the current govt juz let mnc and gang do their weeding thing.....
If so….then continue support the incumbent will help? :ROFLMAO:

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
It’s just allowing u to work longer
Not compulsory
I don’t wish to work at advanced age myself
As long it is not tied to CPF payouts age, i have no issue with removal of retirement age
song song for those who want to work longer

ramlee

Back in 2011, people said the exact same thing abt Faisal. Now he is one of the most popular MP in Aljunied.
Tiagong he was the vote magnet that saved the GRC in GE2015 :(

and worst he kawan kawan with his equivalent pap rival until that Abang was removed from the team :(

EdenHazard

492117370_1214258990256959_7689151754474308996_n.jpg
Pritam supportive of such poses?

xdivider

If so….then continue support the incumbent will help? :ROFLMAO:
i will never vote them as long as they have a supermajority, im a fan of making sure govt is made up of parties with less than 50%. this prevents anyone from messing around after they get power. they will need to BEG citizens to continue to be in power. however rite now i have nothing but scorn for how daft sinkies is.......

xdivider

wow Palestine also in their manifesto
its a significant vote buyer and basically cost nothing to say since wun happen until they sort out the mess there.....not anytime soon. if u say otherwise u kenna like donkey and dun need to run le.......

Linguist

U dont stupid can or not? Retitenent age is not the age u r mandated to work till. U r free to retire at 40 today even tho retirment age is 60+. So no retirement age doesn't mean u need to keep working, it means companies cannot use retirement age as the reason for terminating u.
Some places... retirement age applied to the low level workers only...

The management etc all not applicable...
Look at those MP will do...

tanbrave

Correct Lor…..no wonder lky say sinkies are daft
🤯 Boomer Sinkie, not all.But as some one said, die hard 🤯 Boomer,dye better.good for nation.Then our intelligence level 🎚️ shoot up., prevent them from being Meme, talking rots.

congster2

So must pay full salary to older workers right?
This changes nothing. Our neverending flood of cheap foreign labour means that older workers will be unemployed due to being made redundant, not due to official retirement.
No one wants old and expensive workers except for a few vocations, mainly white collar. And in these vocations, the younger ones are going to be VERY unhappy that they cannot get promotions because seats up there are not being vacated.
Wait so u agree to remove retirement age or don't agree? So sinkies should work until we die issit?

Emperor_Hippo

some ok to work longer

but not overyone wants this
Then they can choose to leave workforce permanently after xx age of their own volition what. 🤷

just make sure when their money runs out and no one wants to hire them liao, dun goto MPS ask for MSF Comcare assistance, community CCC Vouchers, free food delivery from soup kitchen and den hiam, "Eh, same food again, u feed dog ah?"

yah. Own problem ownself settle. Dun go and socialize personal issues.

wongminmin

Instead of touching COL.... u touch on those non important things.

If they reduced the COL, means they can retire early than working till death.
or increase their salaries or cpf payout etc....

If the elderly got hurts during working, they going to bear full responsibility?

Using retirement age to retrench? lol
For elderly, they need to go yearly health check and their salaries are the lowest.... some even abused their OTs.

and there such thing call "age discrimination" in workplace.

i not saying removing retirement age is a "bad" thing, who the hell want to work until death. seriously.

congster2

Work until you shoik shoik lah, your choice, your life 🧬 your time.
Kns I want to retire at 55 take cpf. Hammer party want to screw us too like pappies??? Simi choice. No need choice I want to retire!!!

Emperor_Hippo

Instead of touching COL.... u touch on those non important things.

If they reduced the COL, means they can retire early than working till death.
or increase their salaries or cpf payout etc....

If the elderly got hurts during working, they going to bear full responsibility?

Using retirement age to retrench? lol
For elderly, they need to go yearly health check and their salaries are the lowest.... some even abused their OTs.

and there such thing call "age discrimination" in workplace.

i not saying removing retirement age is a "bad" thing, who the hell want to work until death. seriously.
If ur work is interesting enough and you don't feel like going to work despite working, why wouldn't one stay way past retirement? 🤷

is one's work so insufferable to the point where it's a living hell?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.