[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

NTB2DO

Though I support WP, I'm not in favour of this. While for private sector if a worker is deemed redundant or not performing, the company can just retrench or fire him. But what about public sector? And with older workers not retiring, it will be even harder for younger workers to get jobs.

I still prefer the current practice of re-hire/re-contract retiring employee if need be.

tanbrave

Kns I want to retire at 55 take cpf. Hammer party want to screw us too like pappies??? Simi choice. No need choice I want to retire!!!
Can retire now, before erection also.Put on edmw and we celebrate 🥳 with you.You are Captain of your Life 🧬 right ?

undiscern

Then our young's wait till old age then can move up?
Many boomers are still holding on to their high post, high salary dearly, and this extended retirement made them very happy.

congster2

Can retire now, before erection also.Put on edmw and we celebrate 🥳 with you.You are Captain of your Life 🧬 right ?
Huh ure pappie side issit? How come hammer from pap lite become pap+. Later they tell us gst go up to 15% how?

wongminmin

If ur work is interesting enough and you don't feel like going to work despite working, why wouldn't one stay way past retirement? 🤷
Some elderly are rich but they decide to work due to this reason. yes

But people do age....and their ability will also decreases.....
e.g cleaner.... slip at toliet and die.

If they going to bear the responsibilities, i am fine with it.
But 1 thing, companies aren't going to pay for it. they will let the insurance company deal with it.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Then they can choose to leave workforce permanently after xx age of their own volition what. 🤷

just make sure when their money runs out and no one wants to hire them liao, dun goto MPS ask for MSF Comcare assistance, community CCC Vouchers, free food delivery from soup kitchen and den hiam, "Eh, same food again, u feed dog ah?"

yah. Own problem ownself settle. Dun go and socialize personal issues.
indeed some ok to work longer

some dont

icebleue

Singapore doesn’t have pension scheme.
You can retire anytime you want.

DaBaiCai

Wait so u agree to remove retirement age or don't agree? So sinkies should work until we die issit?

Hammer party want us to work until we die??

Kns I want to retire at 55 take cpf. Hammer party want to screw us too like pappies??? Simi choice. No need choice I want to retire!!!

Huh ure pappie side issit? How come hammer from pap lite become pap+. Later they tell us gst go up to 15% how?

PAP IB bro, you need to try harder to bump this dying thread.

Retirement age removal benefits those who wants to continue working so they dont have to change in their employment terms. For those who wants to retire early, they are free to do so.

congster2

PAP IB bro, you need to try harder to bump this dying thread.

Retirement age removal benefits those who wants to continue working so they dont have to change in their employment terms. For those who wants to retire early, they are free to do so.
Don't bluff us!! What is WP trying to do man??

Eureka75

Tiagong he was the vote magnet that saved the GRC in GE2015 :(

and worst he kawan kawan with his equivalent pap rival until that Abang was removed from the team :(
Faisal is not outspoken like Pritam but he is a strong grassroots leader and have many volunteers working under him

dhlnsz

x8Z6W9.jpg

AndreFLo

Though I support WP, I'm not in favour of this. While for private sector if a worker is deemed redundant or not performing, the company can just retrench or fire him. But what about public sector? And with older workers not retiring, it will be even harder for younger workers to get jobs.

I still prefer the current practice of re-hire/re-contract retiring employee if need be.
I agree with your point above, but I believe the reason for this proposal is because of aging population. As our population is starting to age and with falling TFR rate, the burden will fall onto the younger generation to support the elderly.

By removing the stipulated retirement age, the elderly have the option to continue working and not rely too much on the next generation.

WP is naïve , if not innocent ,on laws of Sg..
WP manifesto
https://www.wp.sg/manifesto

"Repeal the Internal Security Act"

ISA is not the most powerful one.
Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act (CLTPA) is so powerful that
require EVERY TERM of government to review if Sg still need this Emperor's Sword to
deal with criminals .
The Act was renewed last years to

15th round of renewal, for another 5 years!​

2. WP should propose repeal CLTPA first, before ISA.

3. ISA catch more local and overseas attentions than CLTPA.

4. I suggest WP scholars shall read more..They need understand their mother land more...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...for-15th-round-of-renewal-for-another-5-years

Both orders were first introduced in 1958 to deal with Singapore’s gang problem.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said CLTPA requires periodic renewal due to the powers given to the minister.

Safeguards have been put in place, including the requirement of the public prosecutor’s consent, before any DO or PSO can be introduced.

The DO and PSO must also be reviewed by an independent committee, while detainees are informed of the grounds of their detention. Detainees can also be legally represented before the committee.

Every case is reviewed by a separate advisory committee at least once annually, after which the committee makes a recommendation to the president on the detainee’s suitability for release.

When the Bill was put to a vote in 2018 for extension, 10 out of the 89 MPs present voted against it, while two abstained.

A spokesperson for MHA told The Straits Times that CLTPA was used 123 times between Oct 21, 2019, and Dec 31, 2023, with 86 DOs and 37 PSOs issued during the five-year period. unquote

ref

https://www.mha.gov.sg/mediaroom/pr...law-temporary-provisions-amendment-bill-2024/

https://www.mha.gov.sg/mediaroom/pa...ome-affairs-ministry-of-national-development/

WP is naïve , if not innocent ,on laws of Sg..
WP manifesto

"Repeal the Internal Security Act"

ISA is not the most powerful one.
Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act (CLTPA) is so powerful that
require EVERY TERM of government to review if Sg still need this Emperor's Sword to
deal with criminals .
The Act was renewed last years to

15th round of renewal, for another 5 years!​

2. WP should propose repeal CLTPA first, before ISA.

3. ISA catch more local and overseas attentions than CLTPA.

4. I suggest WP scholars shall read more..They need understand their mother land more...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...for-15th-round-of-renewal-for-another-5-years

Both orders were first introduced in 1958 to deal with Singapore’s gang problem.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said CLTPA requires periodic renewal due to the powers given to the minister.

Safeguards have been put in place, including the requirement of the public prosecutor’s consent, before any DO or PSO can be introduced.

The DO and PSO must also be reviewed by an independent committee, while detainees are informed of the grounds of their detention. Detainees can also be legally represented before the committee.

Every case is reviewed by a separate advisory committee at least once annually, after which the committee makes a recommendation to the president on the detainee’s suitability for release.

When the Bill was put to a vote in 2018 for extension, 10 out of the 89 MPs present voted against it, while two abstained.

A spokesperson for MHA told The Straits Times that CLTPA was used 123 times between Oct 21, 2019, and Dec 31, 2023, with 86 DOs and 37 PSOs issued during the five-year period. unquote

ref

https://www.mha.gov.sg/mediaroom/pr...law-temporary-provisions-amendment-bill-2024/

https://www.mha.gov.sg/mediaroom/pa...ome-affairs-ministry-of-national-development/

krikering

Then our young's wait till old age then can move up?
Many boomers are still holding on to their high post, high salary dearly, and this extended retirement made them very happy.
WP did not say anything about delaying CPF age right?

They just mentioned about delaying retirement age, because of the ageing population plus got a lot of people still want continue working at old age.

I also hope to be able to continue working when am old too (albeit in a 4 days work week kind of role, perhaps advisory kind (with lesser pay)
so that the younger people e.g in their 40s can take over the management level),
as long as they give me my CPF on time.

It should Not be tied together imo.

WP propose

"Exempt Essential Items from GST"

1 talk is cheap, when you implement, what are the overall pro and con?
How can we define essential ?
In NTUC online, rice per 5 kg,, range from $9 to about 40..
https://www.fairprice.com.sg/search?query=rice 5kg&sorting=PRICE_DESC
say a slice of cake, range from few dollars to 20 ? shall we exempt all ?
The admin cost of define essential add cost to shop and super owners.

Exempt Essential Items from GST​

The WP proposes to exempt more essential goods from GST, including basic food items. This would ease the effects of inflation for low-income groups and offer relief to middle-income groups who receive less support from GST vouchers.
GST adds to the cost of goods and services and increases the cost of living and business costs directly. GST vouchers partially offset the burden of this tax for the lowest income groups. However, they are less effective when you take into account rising prices, as inflation increases the effects of the GST.
Concerns about the increased compliance costs and administrative burden to increase exemptions are unjustified, given the current patchwork of credits, vouchers, rebates and subsidies already in place. Singapore also already has a long list of GST exempt or zero-rated supplies, including most public healthcare services, public education, public transportation, the sale and rental of residential properties and many financial services.

Additional Support for​

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.