[GE2025] Punggol GRC

jericho75

Yes that was what happened over the past 1-2 decades.

In fact if you notice after covid, the number of pinoys on the streets reduced liao. Tink many of them skip coming to sg and straightaway apply for Aussie/canada visa.

In fact i see many burmese coming in to replace them

so jia lak? no wonder lucky plaza seems to have lesser ppl

Ironside

No doubt every country is facing high inflation, is it necessary to hike GST to further add salt to the wound? Somehow I feel all these hikes are just boosting the numbers to avoid going into recession.

Can't the GST hike be postponed?
Even staying at 7%, the gov is already collecting more money due to price increase. Not forgetting, some businesses rounded up the cost of the selling price instead of following the actual % increase.

Such a major pandemic and yet no countries got into recession, unlike SARS which was less severe and sg got into recession.
Cos if got bigger budget can anyhow spent.

jeffrey745

pwongkk

is not break bonds. their bonds for a limited period only need to work in sinkapore. after they stay 15 years likely will find aussie pr lobangs see can run or not.
Back then, there were those who did not serve their bond, run road after getting their cert.

This one is 2019 news.

https://www.straitstimes.com/politi...lt-on-bonds-grants-given-amount-to-55m-a-year

For such money lost, why wasn't the minister held accountable? When WP award the AHTC contract to a more expensive vendor, the town council sued them to recover the money.

I'm very sure MOE or even the minister can do something, like withholding the cert till the bond is fully served. Then setup a database for employers to login to verify that the potential candidate indeed has the cert. O level results can already be on Singpass, I don't understand why MOE or the ministers continue to allow bond breakers to get away.

Greygrey

Figures from wiki.

2020 GE

PAP's vote share island-wide was reduced to 61.24%

While the PAP managed to secure another supermajority victory, this election had also led to inroads for non-PAP parties. With the WP polling 50.49% in the 21 seats it contested in a straight fight with the PAP, the 2020 general election marked the first time since 1963 that the ruling PAP lost the popular vote overall in constituencies contested by the WP and the very first time since independence. In addition, it was also the first election whereby there were more than 1 million valid voters that voted against or cast an invalid/blank vote instead of the PAP.[d]

Popular vote to PAP was 61.24%
Straight fight between PAP and WP .... former lost. How many people actually know this?
I'm just talking stats.....

pwongkk

Now don’t even need sg. My Filipino friends directly go Canada and is whole family go TGT type. Already two families left just in 2024 alone.

More people are still happy with them than you think. U ask the Bidadari $1m homes people who they voting for. 6000-8000 units easily.
No evidence that voting opposition will cause home prices to fall.

8zaoyu

Cos if got bigger budget can anyhow spent.
Budget surplus can be put into giving more girls to enter Medical Course, having Polyclinics to open longer hours with Saturday Full-Time after having increased doctors and nurses.
Surplus also can go in Maintenance and replacement of end of life equipments, maintenance of hawker centres, etc.
Privatisation of low-end jobs to become hour-rated with minimum wages and cpf payable. No need FTs for our PMETs jobs, they should go to rich and big countries.

couch.potato

Figures from wiki.

2020 GE

PAP's vote share island-wide was reduced to 61.24%

While the PAP managed to secure another supermajority victory, this election had also led to inroads for non-PAP parties. With the WP polling 50.49% in the 21 seats it contested in a straight fight with the PAP, the 2020 general election marked the first time since 1963 that the ruling PAP lost the popular vote overall in constituencies contested by the WP and the very first time since independence. In addition, it was also the first election whereby there were more than 1 million valid voters that voted against or cast an invalid/blank vote instead of the PAP.[d]

Popular vote to PAP was 61.24%
Straight fight between PAP and WP .... former lost. How many people actually know this?
I'm just talking stats.....
Jackson Au did mention 2 of 5 voted for them, something like that.
I’m half joking with the 65% but I genuinely believe a lot of fence sitters are pro pap this time that’s just my opinion.

No evidence that voting opposition will cause home prices to fall.
I’m not saying that opposition causes home prices to fall.
I am saying that the ones benefitting from the system, ie people from Bidadari, are much more inclined to vote for PAP. And there are A LOT of them. You can go ask who they’re voting for. Even the Tampines people.

yeokiwi

I'm still perplexed.... national average 61.2% but she got 60.98% and is very popular? Then isn't PAP more popular than her? Based on KPI she no bonus leh.
I believed she got the highest among all the pap candidates that went against workers party.
The higher national average was due to weak opposition parties performance.

couch.potato

i dunno but pinoys loves to go canada. my fren office colleague also. gf got nursing job in canada then ask the colleague go over also.
Good for them mah. My friend say Philippines very hot and no pay very Low. Like that Lor

couch.potato

I believed she got the highest among all the pap candidates that went against workers party.
The higher national average was due to weak opposition parties performance.
When results are split very closely in a few constituencies, really hard for outside people to sense ground sentiment.,, online buey zhun one

Greygrey

Jackson Au did mention 2 of 5 voted for them, something like that.
I’m half joking with the 65% but I genuinely believe a lot of fence sitters are pro pap this time that’s just my opinion.

I’m not saying that opposition causes home prices to fall.
I am saying that the ones benefitting from the system, ie people from Bidadari, are much more inclined to vote for PAP. And there are A LOT of them. You can go ask who they’re voting for. Even the Tampines people.
Main issues in 2020 GE were COL, FT competition for jobs and 4G leaders transition. Right in the middle of covid crisis.

All these issues are still with us except replace covid with tariffs. Many analysts offered reasons for the vote swing and concensus being maturity of the electorate and quality of opposition candidates. If these are true then popular vote of PAP will keep falling. Anyway I don't think 1M dollar windfall people are gonna be a factor... many are alarmed and will vote accordingly on this issue.

couch.potato

Main issues in 2020 GE were COL, FT competition for jobs and 4G leaders transition. Right in the middle of covid crisis.

All these issues are still with us except replace covid with tariffs. Many analysts offered reasons for the vote swing and concensus being maturity of the electorate and quality of opposition candidates. If these are true then popular vote of PAP will keep falling. Anyway I don't think 1M dollar windfall people are gonna be a factor... many are alarmed and will vote accordingly on this issue.
Fair enough that’s your opinion, whilst I hope for the best I’m always jaded about Singapore and Singaporeans, and consensus online where I’m hanging is also not great, in my opinion, again.

I would never ever be optimistic about opposition chances, they are always a few k away from losing their seats, and Pritam feels the same. And one BTO project alre adds 2000 units (easily 4000 votes) to the constituency. That’s all.

we can agree to disagree

jericho75

Many ppl is u give vouchers I suppork u those pattern one

jericho75

Fair enough that’s your opinion, whilst I hope for the best I’m always jaded about Singapore and Singaporeans, and consensus online where I’m hanging is also not great, in my opinion, again.

I would never ever be optimistic about opposition chances, they are always a few k away from losing their seats, and Pritam feels the same. And one BTO project alre adds 2000 units (easily 4000 votes) to the constituency. That’s all.

we can agree to disagree

U mean got new bto means will like papaya? I got bto but I dun care one. Anyway bto prices kenna chop carrot liao. Seng Kang so many new flats yet 2020 up lorry so quickly

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.