Actually, why is the PAP obsessed with having a budget surplus?

SuperGreenHorn

I mean, so many countries in the world, including the largest countries like China, USA, Japan, etc are all not even obsessed with it.

Just to give you some examples: So that they can -

1) Build $335M founder's memorial, spend another $242.4M to build an MRT station just for the memorial plus all the running costs in future?

2) Continue with more $558M ERP 2.0 type of projects to screw us more.

3) Spend $880k for bin centre at National Arts Council

Most importantly, because they can.

Whatever they do, sinkies will still send them into parliament. So kah kah lai! Take all our money then they have freedom to raise their own salary soon!

jumpthepig

bcos of invory tower? ivory tower need feed alot of jiak liao bees
JLBs and riches also love them deep deep… 2 hands to clap……they will always 皇上万岁万岁万万 Long live the emperor! :ROFLMAO:

Staid4

ask someone to break you leg, then give you a tongkat in your face. then you thank him

Forever84

TS… your bank account got surplus or not? Or your salary every month go to pay interest?

kyang69

Just Some Observations About Governance and Transparency

It's rather fascinating how certain bonuses are tied to GDP performance — perhaps that explains the unrelenting enthusiasm for foreign talent, as increased population inflows conveniently help boost the numbers. After all, higher imports contribute nicely to GDP, don’t they?

Despite running consistent budget surpluses, it seems the generosity is mostly self-directed. One might even say public benefit is carefully rationed… while internal rewards are far less modest.

Then there's the enigma of the national reserves — a mystery wrapped in fiscal opacity. No one outside the inner circle seems to know just how much we really have.

All of this leads to a rather uncomfortable conclusion: greater political diversity in Parliament might be our only real shot at some much-needed transparency.

Also worth noting: frequent redrawing of electoral boundaries, state media narratives that lean heavily in one direction, and a judiciary that critics claim has selective energy when it comes to opposition parties.

If there's truly nothing to hide, why the excessive caution? One might almost think there are a few inconvenient truths tucked away, just waiting for the right audit.

And on a global note — ever noticed how quiet international observers remain? Especially when opposition-elected MPs are treated with fewer privileges than unelected ruling party candidates appointed as "advisors"? Strange. You'd think democratic principles applied equally.

iPod Jack

I mean, so many countries in the world, including the largest countries like China, USA, Japan, etc are all not even obsessed with it.
Yes. The cash reserves can sustain sg for 20 to 30 years even with no cash revemues coming into our coffers

Just spend more on social welfare and unemployment benefits lah, as we all left only 30 to 40 years lifespan only

Tio boh?

soyabean89

if not how to pay for the banners, colour poster in 4K pathone printing, satki pristine lorries every 5 years

Can Or Not

Because unlike USA, Singapore reserve is hidden from public.
USA is a really bad example to follow. Their interest payment alone is > their defence budget, which is the largest in the world.

Which means every month the US tax payers is paying China…

daveteo88

Yes. The cash reserves can sustain sg for 20 to 30 years even with no cash revemues coming into our coffers

Just spend more on social welfare and unemployment benefits lah, as we all left only 30 to 40 years lifespan only

Tio boh?
If you in your 40s and above and confirm remaining single then you want more handout. Keep so much reserve benefits is benefits new citizens children. Haha 😂

wwenze

USA is a really bad example to follow. Their interest payment alone is > their defence budget, which is the largest in the world.

In before IB says

But they use their CPF/public debt money to invest and the investment gains is higher than interest, oh wait

daveteo88

Their politicians can speak very well and very got fire type. Our politician is like very shy, put 2 hands in front, ask ppl politely pls vote for me to serve you, like begging like that.

Can Or Not

Their politicians can speak very well and very got fire type. Our politician is like very shy, put 2 hands in front, ask ppl politely pls vote for me to serve you, like begging like that.
Every 4-5 years US will change policies… totally cannot implement long term plan…

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.