• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

s3nt1n3l

We should start to be open minded about this, which majority of singaporeans arent. This is what harpreet calls stagnation, not stability.

Ultimately, it is about who is the best person for the job, regardless of what colour you wear.

This is not a pre mature topic. If harpreet, jamus wears white, we'd all agree the outcome will be very different; they'd easily be considered for POHs.

Okay, then I'll give my take on it.

Anything wrong with WP becoming the ruling party one day?

Yes. Not because I doubt WP ability to govern, but because it means PAP has fallen so much in governing the country that majority of Singaporeans simply do not believe in PAP's capability anymore.

If that happens, I think Singapore has much larger issues at hand.

handwritten past

No… having a stronger opposition is not about asking them to replace anyone. But is to ensure we the people aren’t held hostage by the system.

imagine tomorrow if the PAP becomes not so ideal, maybe poor policies adopted after taken over by new leaders.

what then?

can we vote them out? If we do so… what then? Which party has enough credible and experienced politicians to step up?

you will might then get people like LT into parliament.

a balance power system benefits us as people.
This.

And a good opposition party will have a policy team. They will analyse the current policies, propose alternate policies, short, mid, long term impact to the people.

If agree with PAP, good to go.

If disagree, debate in parliament, fine tune the policy.

Behind the scenes, the civil service will assess and lay out the facts. Good MPs will use these facts, think of the impact for the people and comms the message across

Look at the calibre of the mozzie parties. Manifesto 14 pages, 20 pages. Policy making these days are data driven; do these mozzies even understand what the data presents?

handwritten past

Okay, then I'll give my take on it.

Anything wrong with WP becoming the ruling party one day?

Yes. Not because I doubt WP ability to govern, but because it means PAP has fallen so much in governing the country that majority of Singaporeans simply do not believe in PAP's capability anymore.

If that happens, I think Singapore has much larger issues at hand.
I hope you realise that this is slowly happening to PAP now.

Which is why lawrence is aggressive in fielding new faces and already thinking about leadership renewal. The fastest way to stop this rot is to hire from civil service

We arent sure whether this will work, only time will tell. So we really need a good mix of competent people in the parliament from the opposition, aka insurance.

mrbalance

Anything wrong with WP becoming the ruling party one day? If they have the calibre, why not?

The opposition today are held to harsher standards than PAP. If opp manage to thrive under such standards, they will be even more solid than PAP.

So, why not?
It’s like comparing Brits to independent Malaya in the early 1950s

s3nt1n3l

I hope you realise that this is slowly happening to PAP now.

Which is why lawrence is aggressive in fielding new faces and already thinking about leadership renewal. The fastest way to stop this rot is to hire from civil service

We arent sure whether this will work, only time will tell. So we really need a good mix of competent people in the parliament from the opposition, aka insurance.

Of course, and same goes to alot voters who are not entirely blind to the issues at hand.

but there's also a hash truth that voters are often put off by those mosquito parties who unfortunately undermines legitimate opposition as PAP just label them as one entity

Forever84

This.

And a good opposition party will have a policy team. They will analyse the current policies, propose alternate policies, short, mid, long term impact to the people.

If agree with PAP, good to go.

If disagree, debate in parliament, fine tune the policy.

Behind the scenes, the civil service will assess and lay out the facts. Good MPs will use these facts, think of the impact for the people and comms the message across

Look at the calibre of the mozzie parties. Manifesto 14 pages, 20 pages. Policy making these days are data driven; do these mozzies even understand what the data presents?
Yes precisely.

and good first steps were taken with the establishment of the leader of the opposition office. This gave them more resources etc. I’m sure LHL already sees the writing on the wall.

They can’t expect to remain the solo party in power forever

pspandwp

I m puzzled…
They told us we need to b united and Vote them to weather this crisis together…
Yet now they have retired so many old politicians who helped navigated few crisis with us.
Y are old ministers retired when sg is facing crisis?

believe them die fast dies faster die fastest

anyway no tears no count

must see tears first

carlongerdidu93

Overseas voters: Check your e-mail for ePoll letter from ELD
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

Overseas voters registered for the upcoming election on May 3 would have received an ePoll letter via e-mail, the Elections Department (ELD) said in a Facebook post.

The letter indicates the selected overseas polling station as well as the polling date and hours.

Registered voters may also download a copy of the ePoll letter through ELD’s Voter Services at https://www.eld.gov.sg/online.html.

Attention registered postal voters whose electoral divisions are contested! ???? Your Postal Ballot Paper and Return Envelope are now ready for download. Log in to Voter Services at https://www.eld.gov.sg/online.html and print them now! Watch the video to find out how to prepare your Postal Ballot Paper and Return Envelope!
Posted by Elections Department Singapore - ELD on Thursday, April 24, 2025

28cMostlyCloudy

WP very lucky, if rally today, field will be soaked. :(
Actually if rally today better

Most likely will still be high turn out even with the rain

Then they can drama rama it saying the people brave the rain for WP

Then imagine those WP candidate shouting vote for workers party under the rain.

Cinematic

yperic

Where to catch the 9 rallies on Saturday

The police have issued permits for the nine rallies to be held tomorrow, April 26, from 7pm to 10pm.

786012.jpg

handwritten past

Of course, and same goes to alot voters who are not entirely blind to the issues at hand.

but there's also a hash truth that voters are often put off by those mosquito parties who unfortunately undermines legitimate opposition as PAP just label them as one entity
It is comforting to see singaporeans not entirely blind

An adjustment in singaporean thinking is needed on your 2nd point on the harsh truth need. Then again, singaporeans know who are the credible ones and who are the mozzies.

Just look at the results of the ponggol east by election. This was lesson learnt from PE2011

Laneige

Listening to tcb speech now from YouTube
Really agree with him

Old days mps n ministers like v far liao

Really hope psp can go inside to ask n challenge ideas

For gd of sg really need more ppl that ask qns n not thank govt here n there in parliament. Say thank u can go offline in fb to say thank u

The ntuc thing is a gd reminder

yperic

Media Doorstop 25th April 2025 – Team East Coast, comprising Yee Jenn Jong, Nathaniel Koh, Sufyan Mikhail Putra, Jasper Kuan, and Paris V, talked about the warm reception and support they received from East Coast residents so far, walking the ground in East Coast, and learning about voters’ concerns.

Jenn Jong also explained why he came out of ‘retirement’ to support what he believed was a strong slate of candidates in East Coast GRC. They were joined by Workers’ Party Chair Sylvia Lim and Secretary-General Pritam Singh, who addressed questions from the media.

#wpsg #stepup #workingforsingapore #GE2025

yukirin92

Today heard during team lunch that 1 of moi corlick 50+ yo became new citizen and want to fhfl buy hdb resale.

Song bo another 1m flat incoming for demon monitor lizard to monitor while putting his webbed paws together in glee :o

Jacy_Phang

Actually if rally today better

Most likely will still be high turn out even with the rain

Then they can drama rama it saying the people brave the rain for WP

Then imagine those WP candidate shouting vote for workers party under the rain.

Cinematic
Yup.. they can even roll on the grass n then show to the whole sg that its not white all the way to their undergarments.. damn lame lah..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.