• Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

coyote

translated it means, can't starve to death, can't eat well enough

not meant to be taken literally

you can't die from poverty here but there's also no clear path to a comfortable existence/financial freedom

and by comfortable I mean how it was in years when we were still developing in the 90's, early 00's - not hampered by cost pressures, payable housing loans that don't require you to work till you drop dead, comfortable CPF payouts without needing to top-up with selling the lease on your pigeon hole

Thanks. Not much suffering as we saw. Only heard edmwers going overseas for vacations or collecting rentals from their second properties. Didn't hear any one saying how they are suffering?

cwcyenk

I don't see my proposal got anything wrong.. why all edmwer laughing at me..

:):)
You are not wrong. I also said something like that in another post where I said Jamus or Ting Ru may be good ministers.

Of course PM will not allow this. But the people vote who they believe are the best. So don't blame the people for "weakening" the government. It's his ego and arrogance that he doesn't want to choose the oppositions.

bikermice

abclightningstrike.jpg

SiaoLiaoGG

If you are still undecided about which party to vote for in the coming election, and you are genuinely concerned about the high cost of living, the most effective way to make your voice heard is to vote for the opposition.

History shows that the PAP only responds meaningfully to the people's concerns when their political dominance is threatened — not merely through feedback or complaints, but through actual loss of votes.

A clear precedent is the 7 May 2011 General Election. Public outrage over ministers’ salaries was one of the key issues. That election turned out to be one of the PAP’s worst performances:
• ⁠The PAP lost Aljunied GRC — a historic loss.
• ⁠A Cabinet minister, George Yeo, was also defeated.

only after their loss the PAP took the following measures—-

• ⁠Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong appointed an independent Salary Review Committee.
• ⁠In January 2012, a new salary framework was introduced.
• ⁠Significant salary cuts were implemented:
⁠• ⁠Prime Minister: Salary reduced by 36% (from S$3.07 million to S$2.2 million).
⁠• ⁠Entry-level Ministers: Salaries cut by about 37% (from S$1.58 million to S$1.1 million).
⁠• ⁠President: Salary reduced by 51% (to S$1.54 million).
• ⁠Pensions for political appointment holders were removed for those appointed from May 21, 2011 onwards.
• ⁠Salaries were still benchmarked competitively against top private sector earners, but with a 40% discount to reflect the ethos of public service.
In short: only after losing significant votes did the PAP act to address a major public grievance.

The lesson remains: Voting sends the strongest signal. If you want action, not just promises, vote accordingly.

Sources:

https://www.pmo.gov.sg/Newsroom/com...me-minister-and-political-appointment-holders

https://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/gia/article/political-salaries-in-singapore-paying-for-talent

yperic

Where to catch the 6 rallies on Tuesday

c63929.png

The police have issued permits for six rallies to be held tomorrow, April 29.

These include one lunchtime Fullerton rally held from noon to 3pm, and five rallies held from 7pm to 10pm.

TABLE: SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE/ FACEBOOK

virtualape

Iswaran gone, cht take over. Lw gone gky take over till they find another elected candidate that can become the pm lor..

Unless gky also voted out. But still have oyk, Kee Chiu and Desmond.

Don't have to worry about getting people.

campoix

Maybe indranee can finally have a portfolio.

Or just activate those jlb mayors like Denise phua la.

grevq80o

The solution is to appoint oppo as minister.. no rule stating ruling party must take all minister position

Same like other country.. this is the best for the country
If many ministers kena chop, then sinkies effectively DOGE for PAP. Cut off all the unnecessary baggage and help PAP operate more leaner.

yperic

‘Leading isn’t about looking one way’

People’s Power Party’s Mr Samuel Lee launched a thousand memes when he sang “I look left, look right, look left, look right, for a career path” at the party’s press conference on April 22.

Here’s Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong’s tongue-in-cheek take on this viral moment.

hmyoth

Our cabinet full of ministers. Just get rid of a few won’t toh one. Ga ga vote opposition.

yperic

You’ll never walk alone: Candidates react to Liverpool’s EPL title win

Several candidates reacted to English football club Liverpool’s 5-1 win over Tottenham Hotspur early this morning, which gave the club its 20th league title.

PAP’s Mr Zaqy Mohamad posted a photo of himself in a Liverpool jersey, and said the English Premier League championship was well-deserved.

“Here’s to 20 titles, and we dream of more to come!” he said.

WP chief Pritam Singh congratulated Singaporean fans, and said the title was thoroughly deserved. In previous social media posts, Mr Singh had identified himself as a fan of Manchester United – Liverpool’s long-time rivals.

Other PAP candidates such as Associate Professor Faishal Ibrahim and Ms Mariam Jaafar also celebrated the win on their Facebook pages, with the latter saying she was “still reeling” from the victory.

yperic

Busy putting out fires – literally

In an Instagram post today, PAP’s Mr Alvin Tan said a 77-year-old party stalwart helped put out a recycling bin fire when they were making house visits.

“He acted decisively, and put it out immediately,” said Mr Tan.

“Our young and young at heart are heroes here at PAP Moulmein-Cairnhill. You can depend on us!”

Moulmein-Cairnhill is a division under Tanjong Pagar GRC, which Mr Tan is contesting in the May 3 polls.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.