Michael THNG Fanclub

paper_cut

To add on, someone with no medical background can advise singaporeans about covid and vaccines.
This is not how it works. They work alongside the experts. Minsters are more involved in the policy making and strategies. The advice he gave must have been from medical professionals. If you look at lky first cabinet, minister of health also got no medical background.

OddEye

As mentioned by some one, the composition of PAP new candidates are heavily geared to public servants, regular NS service personnel and from affiliated companies and organizations to PAP

We need diversities to prevent group think and conflicts of interests

NTB2DO

This is not how it works. They work alongside the experts. Minsters are more involved in the policy making and strategies. The advice he gave must have been from medical professionals. If you look at lky first cabinet, minister of health also got no medical background.
OK for office holders, but not OK for backbenchers?!

Looks like your expectation for office holders is lower than backbenchers'.. :s13:

Eureka75

To add on, someone with no medical background can advise singaporeans about covid and vaccines.
If someone without medical related degree or job can be Minister of Health like Tik Tok Ong, then Dr Thambayah or Or Ong is more suited to be Minister of health as they have been working as healthcare professionals for many years liao

Mebeater

So making policy is simply about taking advice from professionals around and under you even if you know nothing about the topic?

ShinnAsuka

If someone without medical related degree or job can be Minister of Health like Tik Tok Ong, then Dr Thambayah or Or Ong is more suited to be Minister of health as they have been working as healthcare professionals for many years liao
This.
Back then when human resource was scarce, not to even say doctors. But i wouldnt deny how far we come in terms of the medical field.

then again, even if you are pro vax, there was no sufficient (medical) science to prove mrna benefits outweigh harm, and a basis to push for meh meh pak, no jab mo job narratives. The promised endemic was jot fulfilled when the vax numbers hit the target.

Prof paul tambyah is an infectious disease expert. Then president of international society for infectious disease. Was his opinion considered during covid? If not, was it because he is from sdp?

even if historically there was no appointment of medical related expert to lead ministry of health, would singapore benefit if a medical expert/talent is scouted to serve as minister of health? Like jo teo as mddi head, would she have understood the cybersecurity ka kia under her?

there are talents in singapore, but it seems the case the definition depends whether they fit into narratives.

paper_cut

This.

Back then when human resource was scarce, not to even say doctors. But i wouldnt deny how far we come in terms of the medical field.

then again, even if you are pro vax, there was no sufficient (medical) science to prove mrna benefits outweigh harm, and a basis to push for meh meh pak, no jab mo job narratives. The promised endemic was jot fulfilled when the vax numbers hit the target.

Prof paul tambyah is an infectious disease expert. Then president of international society for infectious disease. Was his opinion considered during covid? If not, was it because he is from sdp?

even if historically there was no appointment of medical related expert to lead ministry of health, would singapore benefit if a medical expert/talent is scouted to serve as minister of health? Like jo teo as mddi head, would she have understood the cybersecurity ka kia under her?

there are talents in singapore, but it seems the case the definition depends whether they fit into narratives.
Most European countries, USA or Australia all operate the same way lah. Even if you want your Dr Tambyah to go in also not don't give strawman argument leh. Let's for a moment assume that your statement is true, and PM might be looking at Dr Lam Pin Min (ex-senior minister state for health) for the role. Then, sengkang voted him out.

ShinnAsuka

Most European countries, USA or Australia all operate the same way lah. Even if you want your Dr Tambyah to go in also not don't give strawman argument leh. Let's for a moment assume that your statement is true, and PM might be looking at Dr Lam Pin Min (ex-senior minister state for health) for the role. Then, sengkang voted him out.
You are the one giving strawman argument by distorting my words. Never did i say dr paul have to be elected. He was a specialist, unlikely was consulted for opinions during covid, thats all.

you dont need to bring in dr lam pin min into discussion when pap has other medical doctors like Dr ng eng heng, dr koh poh koon.

zwHrebmeM

‘Very promising candidate’: WP newcomer Michael Thng captivates netizens with impressive rally speech​

Michael Thng delivers impressive speech at WP rally​

The Workers’ Party (WP) held their second physical rally at Temasek Junior College on Saturday (26 Apr), but it was newcomer Michael Thng who stole the show.

The first-time General Election (GE2025) candidate for Tampines Group Representation Constituency (GRC) captivated supporters with a fiery, impassioned speech that further electrified the already charged atmosphere.

From the get-go, the 37-year-old made it clear what he and the WP stood for — daring Singaporeans to “dream big” and championing political diversity as a strength, not a weakness.

‘We don’t wanna be told that the sky is white when we see it is blue’: Thng​

A particular moment from his 10-minute speech has gone viral across social media, resonating deeply with voters across the island.
“We don’t wanna be told that the sky is white when we see it is blue,” Mr Thng declared, drawing cheers from the crowd.

“We don’t wanna be told that raising GST in the middle of record-high inflation is good policy when we know it could’ve been postponed,” he added.

Michael Thng WP

Source: The Workers’ Party on Facebook

“We don’t wanna be told that CDC vouchers will make it all okay, when we know it is just a band aid for a gaping wound.”

“We don’t wanna be told that hawker rental rates do not affect the food prices when we know that doesn’t make any sense.”

Using the collective “we”, Thng positioned himself firmly as a voice for the everyday Singaporean — unafraid to speak out against policies that feel out of touch with ground sentiments.

Thng emphasises political diversity​

Thng made it clear that the Workers’ Party was committed to real change, not just “catchy slogans or fancy showmanship”.
“The party has never accepted the false choices that were put forward by the PAP,” he said, stressing that Singapore could do better — particularly for groups like single mothers, lower-wage workers, and retrenched employees.

Rather than threatening political stability, he argued that diversity strengthens the system.

“We can build a system that is diverse without breaking it,” Thng asserted.

He praised the WP’s track record of pulling issues from the margins into the mainstream — and declared that it was exactly why he decided to step forward.

I want a political system where issues can be raised early, openly, and constructively. One that has compassion, and where Singaporeans see themselves reflected in it. Not one where data is withheld from us, or where we are gaslit all the time about what we are seeing.

Netizens call Michael Thng a ‘very promising candidate’​

Since the rally, clips of Thng’s speech have been widely circulated online, racking up thousands of views.

One netizen named him a “very promising candidate” in the upcoming election.

Michael Thng WP

Source: The Workers’ Party on YouTube
“What a speech!” another wrote. “This is a breath of fresh air. Bring him in parliament!”
Screenshot-2025-04-28-at-1.42.23-PM.png

Another said they were “really impressed” by Thng, praising his “grit and eloquence” and calling him a “remarkable opposition candidate in the making”.

Michael Thng WP

“Literal chills listening to Michael’s speech last night. His passion and fire are much needed in our Parliament,” one netizen wrote.

Michael Thng WP

Many were also quick to highlight his credentials — Thng holds a Master’s degree in Public Policy from the prestigious Harvard Kennedy School, with some noting that he would be an invaluable voice in Singapore’s political landscape.

“I’m sure he will be able to offer a lot to Singapore,” a commenter said.

Michael Thng WP

sauce: https://mustsharenews.com/michael-thng-wp/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.