Votes: 231 27.0%
  • Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

beanwatchtv

Some of these people think that once they vote in opposition into government, their lives will improve immediately. Suddenly their income doubled, they get promoted and their HDBs get upgraded into Condos/Landed automatically.

hammerstrike

Can tell who are si ginnas who don't know 2015 is because of lky death. Even in 2020 where there's COVID uncertainty that pap only got 61%.
Actually why people keep saying 2015 is lky death. I rmb before results announced, Reddit HWZ everyone so optimistic about Oppo chances. No one talking abt LKY death

Suddenly the months and years after everyone just say LKY death. Got so simpur meh. Did everyone around you really say they vote pap cos of LKY death

Ryoin82

As with every GE, there are many opposition echo chambers during campaigning period, and then during polling day, the votes go to incumbent.

Looking forward to KJ’s meme on Sunday.

CanIsayNo

You know my parents old liao, cant even walk properly... then i told them they dun void is ok nevermind wan... then wat they reply really I make me give up...

My mother say cannot dun vote (n must vote "correctly"), garment (lightning) say 犯法, n they will know later if what to need help do things will have obstructions and we (their kids/grandkids etc) will not hv priorities or may jus kanna something... wait even cdc vouchers or money cannot give us... I was like... aiyo...

Really give up liao
this is where we have to give credit to lky and his team, he did a fantastic job in creating sinkies like your parents. that's how they held power for so long. LHL and LW dont seem to be doing too well in this aspect and u can see how daring singaporeans are these days.

testart

Actually Singapore got a lot 稳定派 and 务实派

They want stability and they are pragmatic

runny yolk

Actually why people keep saying 2015 is lky death. I rmb before results announced, Reddit HWZ everyone so optimistic about Oppo chances. No one talking abt LKY death

Suddenly the months and years after everyone just say LKY death. Got so simpur meh. Did everyone around you really say they vote pap cos of LKY death
I don't know what the sentiment was like here or in reddit in 2015 but I remember pap spamming lky stuff and many people I guess was swayed by it. That time I still studying and no one around me was really talking about politics

evildoer

yeah the moment u recieve your voting slip and walk into the booth.. ur mind tell you "better vote for stability" wherever your heart is at never mind now..

jeffprobst

Will not be surprise. There be people who are cold feet when they see opposition got so loud and vote for incumbent. Then, they just deserve the government they voted for and stop complaining lor. It's life. Need to respect majority of draft voters

LetsGoBoys!

well if oppo can get 1 more GRC this GE is already a big win

this GE is very crucial, any later, the redrawing of boundaries, the influx of new citizens, true sinkies will become the minority of minority with no more power to fight back

but ultimately, whatever the outcome, it is the outcome that the ppl in SG desires

Ryoin82

Meaning opp will win more GRC?
So we going to have a coalition govt.
Like Canada?
A coalition will only form assuming 3 political parties gain seats in Parliament.

If only 2, we will see a parliament more like that of US congress.

ksapple

PAP will still be zheng hu!
Majority will still be PAP!

SO KAR KAR VOTE oppies!

We have enuff new citizen and old generation for PAP to secure majority so dun worry about freak election result

There is no such thing as freak election result in SG! only PAP will rule SG and with a strong mandate !

SO KAR KAR VOTE oppies!
giphy.gif

ultrasad

If i am to be devil advocate,

Pap vote share comes from a few brackets. Below are some breakdown

Those above 75 :- Their life is almost over. Voting either party won't change. And unlike most who think this bracket will vote PAP, it's a mixed bag because they are living an era where Singapore politics is alive and very active.

40 to 70 bracket. This bracket will vote PAP. Alot of EDMW folks will claim this is not true especially those below 50 as this bracket hate the PAP. However PAP target this bracket is not due to this bracket not knowing the current state of affairs in SG or love PAP but vote PAP out of fear. Trump tariff apply mostly to this bracket

The 30 to 40 bracket : This bracket mainly will vote opposition as they are living in the Internet era and are really hoping for change.

The 21 to 30 bracket : alot will vote PAP. YOLO effect is real. They are the group that has the least worries.

We all know the falling birth rate. Do your own math

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.