[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

FORSTA

He said he is sorry about the language used.

He didn't apologize about his opinions.

Acceptable? Yes for me. Why? Cuz what he complains is normal. Who doesn't rant or talk like that in private chats?
he's running for mp.

eeLoyH

One takeaway we can see from this is that even amongst Andre close friends, he is quite hated to the point they don’t even mind self exposing to sabotage him
True. If it’s messages to close friends and group they won’t hang you out to dry like that

would probably hang people they really don’t like and they really think it is a bad deal to have him elected

NTB2DO

One takeaway we can see from this is that even amongst Andre close friends, he is quite hated to the point they don’t even mind self exposing to sabotage him
He stands chance of winning.. and there are always people who cannot tolerate friend becoming more successful than himself/herself..

No need to hate the person at all.

buzzlightyear852

My take the the F-filled Telegram chat by WP’s Andre Low:

I welcome all candidates of every political stripe who have never used a swear word in their life, whether in public or private conversation or with imaginary friends, whether in their youth or dotage, to come to my wall. I welcome polite people, including saints and stupid people.

Afternote: Have we descended to this? Complaining about people using swear words in private conversation as unfit for political office? No matter who Andre Low swore at, whether at a resident or a civil servant or a company in his private conversations, I would think this pales in comparison with the SILENCE emanating from his opposite number in Jalan Kayu over a far more important issue. Ng Chee Meng has put up a rather lame response on how he handled the Income-Allianz deal and seems intent on zipping his lips.

Can someone please leak about what was happening in NTUC Income then, what he had said in private conversation and his views on detractors like Tan Suee Chieh? That would be a more important disclosure in my view, provided that the leaker is an authoritative source with authentic evidence.

So let’s get our priorities right. I hope the Jalan Kayu voter isn’t comparing the rantings of an angry young man with the NTUC leader who can’t understand the meaning of words like transparency and accountability. I sure hope that the PAP leaders won’t pick up the F ball and run with it because it’s scoring an own goal.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/168SXKyPvX/
im a voter and his swearing doesnt bother me at all because i swear all the time too if not much worse LOL

sensible

There is nothing inherently wrong with vulgarities.
It is the people who claims "I am holier-than-thou".
These folks I am more worried about.
This is a private chat, he ranted, he has his pov, period.
Read deeper and you see he speaks from the heart.
He doesn't wear a mask.
This is Andre Low.
This is JK SMC candidate Andre Low.
Choose him if you think he can serve you better.
Choose him on what he can really do for you.

PAP4ever

smear campaign... but i more surprised that his 'friend' willing to sabo him.

It means something is not quite rite?

if my friend were to stand as candidate, i wouldnt go n sexpose his chat history.. so why did this 25仔 sexpose him?

gaul_ads

He stands chance of winning.. and there are always people who cannot tolerate friend becoming more successful than himself/herself..

No need to hate the person at all.
That why i say sinkie like to pawn sinkie instead of unite together..

Unlike FT , they are very united and take care of their villagers folk.. that is the reason why FT overwhelm over local..

Local is sinkie pawn sinkie instead of take care of fellow county man

carlongerdidu93

GE2025: WP candidate Andre Low apologises for 'inappropriate' language, remarks in leaked Telegram messages​

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-campaigning-day-8-general-election-5090651

Workers' Party candidate Andre Low is facing the People's Action Party candidate and labour chief Ng Chee Meng in Jalan Kayu SMC in the General Election.

IMG_8103.jpg
WP's Andre Low speaking to supporters during a rally at Bedok Stadium on Apr 29, 2025. (Photo: CNA/Ili Mansor)

SINGAPORE: Workers' Party (WP) candidate Andre Low apologised on early Wednesday morning (Apr 30) for his "completely inappropriate" language and remarks after his Telegram messages were leaked on social media.
"The messages that have been circulated are from a private chat among my business school classmates," he said in a post on his Facebook and Instagram pages at about 12.40am.

"Many date back to the COVID period, when we ranted to each other while cooped up at home."

Screenshots of the messages were posted on Reddit and Facebook on Tuesday night. They showed him swearing about a resident he had called in Meet-The-People Session work, as well as the civil service and fighter jets.

He also criticised TraceTogether, Singapore brands like SecretLab and Prism, media personalities Pornsak Prajakwit and Mark Lee, and tennis player Novak Djokovic.

In the messages, he also swore about former DBS CEO Piyush Gupta, property agents, Singtel, StarHub and Apple.
Mr Low is in a straight fight with the People's Action Party (PAP) candidate and labour chief Ng Chee Meng for Jalan Kayu Single Member Constituency (SMC) in the General Election.

He apologised to the voters of Jalan Kayu SMC and said he takes "full responsibility" for his past actions.

"I have always been opinionated. I hold strong convictions. About Singapore, and how we can be so much better.
"These same convictions are also what pushed me to step up to contest as a Workers' Party candidate," he wrote.

"NO EXCUSE"​

In his Facebook post, he said: "I am not proud of the way I expressed my views, and I am deeply sorry for the language I used. It was in a different stage of my life.

"But regardless of the setting, there is no excuse for using such language or making disparaging comments about anyone – especially those who have placed their trust in me."

The 33-year-old said he is now married and soon to be a father. He has spent five years working with the WP, first in Rivervale, then elsewhere.

"These experiences have opened my eyes to the lived realities of Singaporeans and Singapore firms, and I have matured over the process.

"Tonight, I spoke about transparency, accountability and the power of apologies. I need to hold myself to the same standard," he added.

Mr Low spoke at a WP rally at Bedok Stadium on Tuesday night.

He added: "I understand that as a public figure, my words carry weight and can cause real harm.
"This has been a humbling experience, but I hope that I can earn your trust, and to demonstrate my sincerity in wanting to serve you."

krikering

True. If it’s messages to close friends and group they won’t hang you out to dry like that

would probably hang people they really don’t like and they really think it is a bad deal to have him elected
Well NCM is super disliked by a lot of his airforce guys too.

People have vouched for him being a 狗眼 person too.

Most important, has he and GKY apologized so far?

If want to use this kind of strict standards, automatically everyone disqualified for elections liao. Not excusing his behaviour though, but no one is a saint.

In private settings with your friends, does everyone behave prim and proper?

eeLoyH

I dun see any good character or personality in current pap leaders
Not sure good character anot from incumbent and its a hard choice for the people who didn’t come out to address his role in the ntuc Allianz incident

but also this guy has obvious flaws can’t really look past that it’s not as if it’s a lesser of two evils when he’s not even established jobs track record. So I don’t think it’s too great also

atamavision

To all future kids who plan on joining Opposition SG politicsplease make sure your social media is free from any negative words and questionable content. Including any complaints on long McDonalds queue or even any swimsuit photos of yourself

gaul_ads

smear campaign... but i more surprised that his 'friend' willing to sabo him.

It means something is not quite rite?

if my friend were to stand as candidate, i wouldnt go n sexpose his chat history.. so why did this 25仔 sexpose him?
Give friend $$$ , good job, director job post.. u want betray your so called normal friend??

Dont say normal, even best friend or even siblings also kill u off..

fortunecat

Many people dun get it, it's not the F word that is the concern, it's the way he carries himself.

Many edmwers speak like him in edmw, but I doubt most of you will talk like this in actual chat group with your friends. The contrast with his nice boy boy image in the media is just too big which will make people feel he is not really what he seems to be.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.