[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

sg-united

It’s important to understand the full context before passing judgment. While scolding residents is certainly wrong, especially for someone serving the public, it is also important to ask what circumstances led to that behavior. Context does not excuse the mistake, but it does provide a fuller picture.

In any case, the remarks were made in private exchanges with friends, not in an official capacity. He has since apologised, showing accountability. Some individuals with their own agendas will naturally seize on this incident to sabotage him, especially with the timing so close to polling day. At the end of the day, it is easy to judge someone based on selected snippets, but it is much fairer to assess the full story and a person’s willingness to acknowledge mistakes and grow from them.
I agreed with you.

Unfortunately, politics are extremely dirty. Whatever you did in the past from the day you are born till today will be scrutinised by the intelligence network of your opponents. Whatever you did or said in the past will be dung up, etc. Some people may consider this a low class way of dealing with your opponents. You may be ok but you can't see for the boomers. They are less forgiving. That's why politics are not meant for most people because you will be subject to all kind of bullies, be it online or physical.

Coaster

Precisely….

I hope this piece doesnt get to international news media. Imagine other countries see our politics is about catching which politician swore in private, and from years ago, instead of focusing on national issues.. sibei siasuay…

Trump said much more offensive things about woman.

steven jialat

It's a private chat

All of us rant behind close doors

Can imagine the resident chain calling him even after work hours, what's wrong with ranting?? He's a volunteer and not even paid for this sai. Maybe the resident is a PAP voter as well??

Definitely 100% behind Andre

eflash

Let me tell you PAP brand name is there. Or else people will never vote for new faces.. new faces … is the same as new faces at PSP or WP…

But not many have contributed...
I mean khaw boon wan did contributed in bringing down housing prices...
Lui tuck yew tried to decrease number of mrt breakdowns
Ncm... I can't think of any positive contributions...
Lam pin min... Good and bad lo (build shelter for bto, but at that time he also tried to force potential residents to accept columbarium with commercial interest in neighborhood)... Said it's discussion but throughout he was just trying to make residents accept... It felt very one-way.

Itsthatguy

i can simply say he suay lor.

f word -
frankly speaking, who has never uttered the f word before. but i also believed it depends on situation.
casual occasion of coz is sometimes acceptable though it also depends on the audience. formal occasion
is sure a no no in our current culture. my opinion is that as a public figure (could be even a potential mp),
most ppl are expecting him/her to be decent, no nonsense, not foul mouth ..etc. just too bad that andre was
being caught and published in the media for his inappropriate language in a pte chat.

ranting on a resident -
again, i can understand how he feels at that moment. those who are customers facing, i am sure, would have
agreed too. some of these ppl are really an id**t, as****e.. etc. no matter how patience or nice you are,
these ppl can really ruin your day by pestering you over trivial matter or keep calling you. if there isn't a reply,
they will keep bombasting you with msgs or complain that you are not helpful or attentive. but it looks like andre
was only referring to a particular resident and not "most of them". so the same old thing - suay lor. someone
dig this out at this time and sabo.

so it comes down to a comparison - someone (who immediately apologized) used inappropriate language
and rant about an annoying resident with someone (still insist he did no wrong) who likely has mishandled the ntuc-allianz sale. who do you think it's worth to support and to give another chance?

i think it all depends on individual. there isn't a right or wrong answer?

Unrealistic expectations of a fellow fallible human being just like all of us. What we need are different parties to monitor and keep a check and balance on each other in government, because all are not infallible individuals. Mistakes will be made, but they have to identified quickly and early to avoid greater damage, and voters are responsible to help weave that fabric at the polls.

If a reasonable candidate from the minority side comes along, take it.

Audio8

i said earlier... some ppl receive pro bono assistance but buay zidong abuse such çustomer services'. this kind of ppl damn cibai one. even really pregnant so what? must be 24/7 available to you? alrdy not getting paid still must be at your beck and call?
people got no life no family must attend to you immediately?
wtf
He say he will serve and help his residents wholeheartedly in front of National TV. Behind the back, he ask his residents to FxxK Off. Hypocrisy to the max.

large.

Yes. Let's hold all civil servants to the same standard as an MP.

Because they also told the community that they are here to serve the

If you didn't get it, it's sarcasm. Because MPs are held to a different standard than civil servants
Then I don't know what's the big deal with Andre Low. Private message, just a volunteer. Happened many years ago.

To be honest, outside everywhere, youngsters are using curse words in their everyday language, good or bad.

OT: I don't know how people can tolerate those nasty grassroots leaders.

LetsGoBoys!

oh well this does not look good on him, i say vote him in and make him repent for 5yrs in parliament!

let PAP whack him in parliament left right up down and center!

but if i compare this sagat to selling NTUC, selling NTUC is much more serious

for me, selling NTUC is akin to selling the country

samba fan

He say he will serve and help his residents wholeheartedly in front of National TV. Behind the back, he ask his residents to FxxK Off. Hypocrisy to the max.
before being a MP and being a MP is different

TitanSmall

AL should know he is here to help, to serve. He should never ask his residents to FxxK Off.

He has no heart to help at all and not fit to serve. Simply no empathy!
Not openly of coz.. deep inside.. maybe?

Who doesn't curse in his/her mind.. regardless party affiliation..

123kidy

Was actually hoping he get in after listening to his rally speeches

guess this is a big blow to him getting in
He’s here to serve the people
You meet all kind of unreasonable residents
But to use vulgar words on them will no doubt turn some voters off.

oOsiMm

to some parent they even curse fxxx words to their kids..... seriously its private matter and hey everyone curses in their own way and pap mps sure do tht too just suay he was baotou out by "friends" in sheep colthing

Itsthatguy

Was actually hoping he get in after listening to his rally speeches

guess this is a big blow to him getting in
He’s here to serve the people
You meet all kind of unreasonable residents
But to use vulgar words on them will no doubt turn some voters off.

Hope he do the job well as a parliamentarian if people give him the chance, and not sell country.

Audio8

Not openly of coz.. deep inside.. maybe?

Who doesn't curse in his/her mind.. regardless party affiliation..

Hypocrisy to the MAX.

In front of National TV, say one thing. Behind the back, FxxK Off those who trust him and seek help from him.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.