[GE2025] Punggol GRC

noinimod

u can give wp a chance to prove themselves
no good next election vote 'em out
pap will always be aro as grassroot advisor scare simi :(
Yup.

There's little reason to vote for PAP Punggol team.

Janil? No action, talk only. More interested in appearing in media articles and videos.

SXL? Yes she reads children storybooks, but did she succeed in the more important things - like the lousy transport and infrastructure changes that Punggol desperately needed? The long awaited 2 carriage LRTs still not here yet after so long. Only ordered in early 2022, even though Punggol already populated with so many residents.

Yeo Wan Ling? Nobody knows what she even does.

GKY? Retirement mode already. Will he really champion and fight for his residents' causes? I'm not sure.

I think the infrastructure and big changes Punggol still needs will not be well-served by the same-old-same-old yes-men and women who are soft and unable to champion for their residents.

xLupDup

I understand all these being a punggol voter.

But the fact is that we have never seen WP in our area. It’s very hard for a lot of residents to be convinced of their sincerity. 10% vote swing against PAP is almost impossible to attain
No diff since i didnt see any pap mp 🤷

Pap had its chances

sickoflife

Short-sightedness is what costs us a competitive government. Singaporeans just want to focus on the benefits of what their candidate can bring to them, like can this candidate benefit my precinct, have this candidate walked the grounds before, will this candidate help me with my concerns. The fact that you have never seen WP in your area is precisely the fact the Punggol GRC belonged to Paris-Punggol GRC before GE2025, and WP had no intentions to compete in the former Paris-Punggol GRC. Why would they have walked the grounds if they have no intentions of competing, especially since oppo parties' resources are limited and stretched? They have to focus all efforts and resources on the estates that they had intentions to compete in before all these gerrymandering.

It is sad that we do not see flaws in the system and think about the high level advantage of having a more balanced parliament.

We really deserved the government that we voted for. Such a tragedy.
Hmm I’m at PW SMC. Tan Chen Chen competed in 2020. I voted for her despite having never seen her before.

But after that I still don’t see WP around. Our status as SMC only changed to GRC less than few months ago. So I really don’t know if they want our SMC or not.

28cMostlyCloudy

Just imagine this

You’re working at a company where your manager is a tyrant, constantly bullying you and your colleagues.

Eventually, the CEO finds out and says, "Alright, I’ll remove this manager and bring in a new one from XXX Company."

But then you hesitate and tell the CEO, "Sir… I’m not sure if this new person should be our manager."

Confused, the CEO asks, "Why not?"

You reply, "Well, sir, I’ve never seen him in the company before, so I don’t know if he’s the right fit. Honestly, I think I’d prefer we keep our current manager—the one who bullies us."

Shocked, the CEO says, "Fine, if that’s what you want, I’ll let your abusive manager stay and continue mistreating all of you."

And you gratefully respond, "Thank you, sir. Thank you."

Singaporean. Really coolies DNA. 没苦硬吃.
Got better way don't want. Prefer to suffer.

culepico

Hmm I’m at PW SMC. Tan Chen Chen competed in 2020. I voted for her despite having never seen her before.

But after that I still don’t see WP around. Our status as SMC only changed to GRC less than few months ago. So I really don’t know if they want our SMC or not.
I would have guessed that they probably did not intend to compete in the former Punggol West SMC, hence not sending anyone to walk the grounds prior to this GE. But such is the fact about gerrymandering, that oppo parties can really only plan their strategies after the electoral boundaries are confirmed, which is only about 1 month before the GE.

We have to vote on how the candidates/parties can represent us, and by us I mean all Singaporeans in the whole country, not just by constituency. I have no doubts that Singaporeans will continue to be short-sighted.

kopiOkid

What for put gky in to allow them to gleefully increase gst again and open flood gates again and again?

starz_du5t

Punggol GRC got another rally by PAP again tomorrow. Think they are scare to lose.

Frankly speaking, I’m from Punggol Shore under YWL, i never see her doing block visit at my side at all. Although she does reply to email. She always only stick along coral edge, cove and meridian. If she cannot cover such a big area then she let other people take over. Blocks are also dirty. Everything report via OneService. I think OneService is better MP than her. She is not so organize like SXL, from her fb block visit schedule she really planned well and rotate within estate. If this GRC is under SXL only, I definitely vote for her. But now need to think twice think thrice.

ksyting

I am in Punggol central under Janil. Seems like Northshore will be under Gan then if pap elected I still get Janil? No thanks. Maybe I keep to myself too much? I’ve never seen my MP around the 10+ years I stayed here

Namida_rei

Yup.

There's little reason to vote for PAP Punggol team.

Janil? No action, talk only. More interested in appearing in media articles and videos.

SXL? Yes she reads children storybooks, but did she succeed in the more important things - like the lousy transport and infrastructure changes that Punggol desperately needed? The long awaited 2 carriage LRTs still not here yet after so long. Only ordered in early 2022, even though Punggol already populated with so many residents.

Yeo Wan Ling? Nobody knows what she even does.

GKY? Retirement mode already. Will he really champion and fight for his residents' causes? I'm not sure.

I think the infrastructure and big changes Punggol still needs will not be well-served by the same-old-same-old yes-men and women who are soft and unable to champion for their residents.
Hmm. I will also like to add on. I dun live in punggol but I frequent that place alot.

Yeo wan ling is in charge of the meridian side. And I have been there since 2023 . the kofu downstairs always have birds flying ard. And the tpe busstop is like war zone ard 6pm. All I see are her poster in lift and her events. The place look the same as before.

I follow sxl ig it seems that she is the one doing work.

For the northshore side. Is another **** area. And also I dun understand is on sat late morning why bus 39 ( towards yishun) is forever jam and tale so long??? Maybe I suay.

Connectivity issue is really shitty in punggol

wakaozphuhu

The way you talked about the transport system, it seems like that kind of town design cannot have such high population density.
the LRT system was designed for two car system all along. Just that they want to save money, so let the people squeeze like sardines lor.

starz_du5t

Wah.. Yeo Wan Ling.. such a low profile candidate until have to google her.. 不google不知道,google了 吓一跳, MP since 2020.. and wiki states she is currently assistant secretary General for NTUC... will she kanna question on Allianz deal also?
So far nothing abt Allianz on her. She quite competitive one. Coz she always try to copy what SXL do. 😆 but still nothing from her leh

starz_du5t

I am in Punggol central under Janil. Seems like Northshore will be under Gan then if pap elected I still get Janil? No thanks. Maybe I keep to myself too much? I’ve never seen my MP around the 10+ years I stayed here
High chance Mp still same area leh. Coz the flyer i received for my side is still under YWL. And SXL mentioned if they get elected, she still Pg West. Only changes is Gan will be in charge of northshore

wakaozphuhu

Tough fight... I predict PAP will win by the thinnest of margin... SXL and JP face their toughest fight in their political careers. Last few elections so easy for them.. piggy back on Teo CH into parliament plus jokers oppies competing.. now is really serious business... GKY really put his political on the line coming here.. if really 爆冷.. PAP loses.. GKY might straightaway retired... SXL and JP, will they continue in Punggol to wrestle back the GRC or go somewhere else?
I don't know about Janil. But SXL got many residents at sumang area like her. So she got her own supporters.

vaxvms

Punggol GRC got another rally by PAP again tomorrow. Think they are scare to lose.

Frankly speaking, I’m from Punggol Shore under YWL, i never see her doing block visit at my side at all. Although she does reply to email. She always only stick along coral edge, cove and meridian. If she cannot cover such a big area then she let other people take over. Blocks are also dirty. Everything report via OneService. I think OneService is better MP than her. She is not so organize like SXL, from her fb block visit schedule she really planned well and rotate within estate. If this GRC is under SXL only, I definitely vote for her. But now need to think twice think thrice.
she alone no do all blocks lah

her kaki must do the rest of block mah

wakaozphuhu

I understand all these being a punggol voter.

But the fact is that we have never seen WP in our area. It’s very hard for a lot of residents to be convinced of their sincerity. 10% vote swing against PAP is almost impossible to attain
Sengkang? Nobody expect WP to win there. So Punggol might have chance I believe. As long as people don't cave in to PAP's fear mongering as always.

BTW I stay near Yusof Ishak Sec. So i can see the difference between PAP and WP rallies. The energy level is totally different.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.