[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

Justbear

I somehow find it intimidating when they speaks, and put on that artificial grin in between.

valkyrie112

Just watched the latest Yah Lah But. The two hosts did a balanced discussion on this. Interestingly, the mainstream media featured this issue but I don't recall any on the open letters by Tan Suee Chien on NCM and GKY on the Income Allianz saga. This is of far greater impact if the sale of Income has gone through.

AndroidComa

Then move to a progressive tax system scheme like the WP/PSP/SDP has been advocating for all along la.
In the 1st place, taxing essentials makes no sense.
The government should look to implementing wealth tax/estate tax/inheritance tax and luxury goods taxes, etc.
https://newnaratif.com/why-is-the-c...rstanding-the-pap-governments-economic-model/
SG has a very serious inequality issue. The Rich-poor gap is widening at an alarming pace.
They simply are doing their best to avoid taxing the wealthier and billionaires more, which should definitely be done.
UNHWs who come here to park their wealth and Jack up property prices + increase cost of livings, etc. should definitely be taxed more.
They rather get tax revenue from essentials from salt and water, etc. which impact us ordinary citizens (Middle Income/Lower Income) than to implement wealth/estate/inheritance tax/luxury goods, etc. and increase corporate income tax rate.

I dare the govt to allow our 2.5 mil voters to claim gst rebate for essentials same level as tourists

hardindex

Actually if you hear the explanation from Minister from podcast. Actually it does make sense to increase GST.

Remove GST as suggested by some or reduce the rate is not impossible once you increase it however. Because prices won’t come down. Businessman won’t decrease prices because you decrease GST
Unless those businesses are monopoly, once competitions step in price will have to drop. Singapore is a very small market any external f&b or services can gain very fast.

In fact lower GST will bring in better companies to replace the local greedy and lazy glc.

That minister whoever said it should be voted out, full of bs

Mechafanboy

Actually if you hear the explanation from Minister from podcast. Actually it does make sense to increase GST.

No, it does not make sense to increase GST. Why do they need this much surplus?

They dropped almost a billion on SPH, plan to spend hundreds of millions on Founder's memorial, wasting billions on questionable programmes like skillsfuture. why the profligated spending? Something is off.

SmokeBomb

hope ncm loses
i wanna see him xia suay in front of victor lye
Noting to xia sway lah…

Ah lye waited 2 rounds to be placed in a safe area. So is the previous Hougang candidate.

When you are the chosen one… nothing can stop you one.

Just remember the SG Secure tagline. “not if, but when”.

Krystalis

Remove GST as suggested by some or reduce the rate is not impossible once you increase it however. Because prices won’t come down. Businessman won’t decrease prices because you decrease GST
true, as they are all capitalists, even our own (un)fairprice

samferguson

imagine if there is no one to speak up on our behalf…. How would the scene play out?
Hypothetical ah...
"Wa opp so weak like that can push through 1-2% gst increase, go back and tell all PS and directors be bolder in expanding their future budgets and programmes. We can try to push for 10% and 15% in 2027 and 2030 post election..."

yperic

In one of the latest GE2025 developments, Workers’ Party candidate Andre Low, who is contesting in Jalan Kayu SMC, has issued a public apology after screenshots of a private Telegram group chat were leaked online.

These messages included vulgar and disparaging remarks about residents and PHV drivers. While the screenshots were initially posted on Reddit on 26 April 2025, they only went viral on 29 April—coincidentally while Low was speaking at a rally. The original Reddit post has since been removed, but the screenshots continue circulating on social media.

In the early hours of 30 April, Andre Low responded with an apology, calling his messages “inappropriate” and explaining that they were from a private chat with his business school classmates during a “different stage” of his life.

Meanwhile, a separate issue involving fake Facebook comments is also gaining attention. CNA reported that nearly 58% of comments on 35 posts between 25 and 27 April were likely made by bots. These comments, often anti-PAP or anti-WP, appeared particularly on posts about Singapore’s move to block foreign election interference. Authorities are investigating, but the bot activity has only increased.

And as the GE2025 campaign period wraps up, 1 May will see a record 11 rallies, including a rare one by independent candidate Jeremy Tan.

xdivider

Just watched the latest Yah Lah But. The two hosts did a balanced discussion on this. Interestingly, the mainstream media featured this issue but I don't recall any on the open letters by Tan Suee Chien on NCM and GKY on the Income Allianz saga. This is of far greater impact if the sale of Income has gone through.
dun think they dare to say anything. they still need to earn a living here.........

archie7

Noting to xia sway lah…

Ah lye waited 2 rounds to be placed in a safe area. So is the previous Hougang candidate.

so ncm not chosen one lor
he can go jiak bcm

messidona

Noting to xia sway lah…

lw doesn't like ncm. it is pinky who likes him

pinky will be gone in 5 years.

deemax

Thought my browser hang, keep reading the exact post over and over again no matter how I scrolled down.

ST Optimist

Agreed. Both made mistakes but let’s be clear:

One made a mistake in a private setting, caused no harm to the public, and immediately came out to apologise when it leaked.

The other made a serious public mistake that could have affected many Singaporeans, stayed silent when it happened, and is only apologising now out of convenience, while still finding excuses and hiding behind his boss to cover for his shortcomings.

At the end of the day, vote for the one who shows sincerity and wants to build a better future for Singaporeans and not someone who has no accountability and needs others to shield him from his own mistakes.

Jalan Kayu resident really need to make a wise decision in this election. I can't vote for them but I'm definitely voting for someone with accountability which is an important trait as a minister.
Ppl keep saying affect Sporean.....Can someone tell me exactly how it can affect Sporean

ST Optimist

ST Optimist

why LHL is so insistence to have Ng CM into parliament? LW will want to give Ng a minister post given that he performed so badly with the ntuc allianz saga?
Assuming Low become MP.....or assuming all the opposition win .....PAP out.....so since Low beat NCM the 3 star general..... should voter let him become minister of defence...next time go US talk to US defence secretary or go China talk to China general.....then all the SAF general report to Low the ex product manager? Or maybe Pritam Singh the ex Major? opposition keep saying loosing minister level ppl is ok.....then ok lor...if u all think so....if u all think that it Low is the minister of defense....all those mindef ppl ok.....what about Alexis ...she relationship manager....put her in charge of minister of finance ok bo....let her talk to FED chairman? Let all the banks CEO, MAS, etc all listen to her.....u all ok?...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.