Why birth rate not enough in Singapore?

Mr Totoro 38

I DON'T WANT MY KIDS TO GROW UP IN SUCH A TOXIC SG ENVIRONMENT.

As long he / she is not from an elite background or familee. He / she will not have a bright future at all. No matter how hard they work their ass off!

Is NEVER fair at all if you look at the policies and the social system here!

Lastly, I don't my son to waste his youth and time in national slavery to protect FTs. Is not worth at all! NEVER worth the time at all!

Peasantboy

Sinkies are fearful and overplan.

Singles - scared to ask a girl out; what if we quarrel and divorce, better not to even marry.

Married - scared hospital bill for delivery, scared of childcare cost, milk powder cost.

Just do it! Jialat I always roll eyes at my childless friends

BaChorMee

Leaders lead by example then bottom follow. You see our prime ministar and the ministar in charge of raising tfr got chewren? Spouse also don’t have. How to convince us peasants to give birth?

BFRM4DA.gif

hachi

Sinkies are fearful and overplan.

Singles - scared to ask a girl out; what if we quarrel and divorce, better not to even marry.

Married - scared hospital bill for delivery, scared of childcare cost, milk powder cost.

Just do it! Jialat I always roll eyes at my childless friends
Ya my ITE frd, plan until like like his kid grow up dont need to work... Some raise like prince and princess

Justbear

Once pregnant, ready to get replaced? Even the standin person 1st joined buay gan, by the time the new mummy comes back, that buay gan already took over most of her job.

I want to have a child eventually, but time is not right yet. I'll start to try in a year or two. Reasons being:
1) Career not stable yet. Might be starting a small business in a few years, so having a kid now is against that.
2) BTO not ready yet, currently staying with in-laws who will also be moving to their BTO with us. Likely they'll be collecting keys before us, which means that me and my husband will have to rent. Renting is harder and more expensive unless we got PPHS (which we don't).
3) Time spent together isn't enough. We want to travel a bit more together first as a couple before having kids.

NONE of the reason is about others in parliament not having kids, stressful environment, etc. Whatever people do is none of our business, and environments will always be stressful. It's just that our parents didn't complain to us when we are younger.

People who don't have kids shouldn't complain when SG imports. Ownself don't want to contribute to TFR, think of excuses like environment stressful, too expensive, etc, then depend on others to have children. One day if all the policies swing to benefit new citizens, can only blame singles and DINKs for it.

fandango

If baby bonus is $100k cash per child, limpeh will contribute 5 x kids!

noinimod

People who don't have kids shouldn't complain when SG imports. Ownself don't want to contribute to TFR, think of excuses like environment stressful, too expensive, etc, then depend on others to have children. One day if all the policies swing to benefit new citizens, can only blame singles and DINKs for it.
The problem is PAP's lazy and blunt approach to improving TFR all these years has been immigration.
They took so long to increase shared parental leave, and by how much only?

As for housing? The BTO system directly causes people to have kids later. You rightly point out the issues about the long wait time for your flat, challenges with getting PPHC. There's also shrinking flat size which affects quality of life when there are kids.

All these things could have been directly improved through government policy. You can't blame the people for that.

buffybuffy

Last few days nobody ask our PM?
maybe they should next time appoint someone with a complete family then he/she can release more or less with the people on the ground. Otherwise how he/she knows what is it like to take care of a kid?

NextDoorAuntie

If Chiu want to give your children the best, Chiu will find that to be a struggle. Need to put in time to bond with kid or guide kid etc amidst busy day jobs with night calls. Need money to keep up with school work via tuition or enrichment. Need support from grandparents or helper to take care of children if they fall sick but if no have then juggle while working. If Chiu very rich and no need to work then can achieve it. Otherwise need to consider all dat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.