PAP 65.57% GE 2025

Forever84

Nope. He lost his parliamentary seat at Anson due to trumped up charges on false accounting and subsequently got debarred from running until 1997. Then again, in 1997, he ran in Cheng San and that was also the best performing losing GRC which saw him secure a NCMP seat before he was removed due to his bankruptcy arising from the ensuing defamation lawsuit stemming from him flashing a police report Tang Liang Hong made.

Point is - if being confrontational was a deterrent factor by and of itself, there is even less reason for JBJ to poll so well in 1981, 1984 and 1997 given the demographic profile of that electorate (when things were also generally better off). It's equally clear that if municipal concerns were top of mind, there would have been no reason for him to be elected in 1981 and 1984 to begin with given he had no experience in running a TC.

If you scrutinize WP's slate, their worst performing group this time came at East Coast (their strongest performance last round among their losing candidates) notwithstanding gerrymandering, but this lot still polled 41% (which is higher than any other GRCs by any other opposition). What does that say about branding?
No I agree branding plays a part. Which is why I would vote WP too. Because they are PAP lite.

And many singaporeans would too. Which proves the point that we don’t want confrontational politics. Average PSP share was less than 40%.

yesman2978

Agree. From this GE, singaporeans have indicated that if there is no WP contesting there, they would vote for PAP with it getting a huge victory.
Might as well have walkover in all these places , and let these Singaporeans go shopping happily in JB.
Oppo should just heed the numbers, and do a marine parade on those PAP strongholds. Let them walkover

No need waste time and resources on people who don't appreciate oppo presence in parliament

hdsouza

No I agree branding plays a part. Which is why I would vote WP too. Because they are PAP lite.

And many singaporeans would too. Which proves the point that we don’t want confrontational politics. Average PSP share was less than 40%.

I think we agree on the branding part, but not the confrontational element. For the plain and simple reason I cited JBJ when he won in 1981, 1984 and was the best losing opposition candidate in 1997 (throughout this period, he was infinitely far more confrontational than numerous other opposition candidates).

I mean of the 3 SDP candidates elected in 1991, none got re-elected in 1997 (except for Chiam) despite being infinitely more docile than JBJ.

In fact, to qualify this further, I am surprised Chee Soon Juan polled better than Paul Tambyah this round too when it's clear the former (even the more mellow version today) is definitely far more confrontational (compared to Leong Mun Wai anyway if that's your original basis of reference) than the latter.

Forever84

I think we agree on the branding part, but not the confrontational element. For the plain and simple reason I cited JBJ when he won in 1981, 1984 and was the best losing opposition candidate in 1997 (throughout this period, he was infinitely far more confrontational than numerous other opposition candidates).

I mean of the 3 SDP candidates elected in 1991, none got re-elected in 1997 (except for Chiam) despite being infinitely more docile than JBJ.

In fact, to qualify this further, I am surprised Chee Soon Juan polled better than Paul Tambyah this round too when it's clear the former (even the more mellow version today) is definitely far more confrontational (compared to Leong Mun Wai anyway if that's your original basis of reference) than the latter.
This is what I mean… the times have changed already, what work previously might not do so today. This is why WP become PAP lite and CSJ has rebranded his image.

hdsouza

This is what I mean… the times have changed already, what work previously might not do so today. This is why WP become PAP lite and CSJ has rebranded his image.

Yeah, but even if so, CSJ shouldn't be polling stronger than Paul Tambyah given they are running for the same party and competing in the same era (not to mention Paul has had 2 cracks at Bukit Panjang unlike Chee's first salvo at Sembawang West).

In fact, the most damning part that does not convince me on this argument is the fact Chiam See Tong lost in 2011 and never got back (WP lite? CST is virtually cut from PAP cloth and comes as close to a PAP mole/clone as you're ever gonna get). Name me one opposition MP past or present more docile than Chiam.

audiovideo

Biggest oppo like wp can only compete for less than 20% of the seats. If oppo form govt, it will be a super weak joined govt.

durain

65.57% not very strong leh. I think the world leaders all laughing at him. Negotiations we also cannot have strong negotiating power

jericho75

If there is no tariffs from Trump, WP would have won 10KKJ, Punggol and Jalan Kayu and SDP in Bukit Panjang and Sembawang West

also no guarantee if no trump frighten sinkies, wp would won tampines, punggol or jalan kayu. sinkies are naturally hopeless one.

Forever84

Yeah, but even if so, CSJ shouldn't be polling stronger than Paul Tambyah given they are running for the same party and competing in the same era (not to mention Paul has had 2 cracks at Bukit Panjang unlike Chee's first salvo at Sembawang West).

In fact, the most damning part that does not convince me on this argument is the fact Chiam See Tong lost in 2011 and never got back (WP lite? CST is virtually cut from PAP cloth and comes as close to a PAP mole/clone as you're ever gonna get). Name me one opposition MP past or present more docile than Chiam.
You see how much resources been used to rebrand CSJ image. Many his younger supporters don’t even remember all these things with with hunger strike, CST issue.

CST left his stronghold then his health image I feel did him in. Compared to LTK who successfully break through

Lemon_gaga

Its hard to find talent in opp. WP will have to provide 2 more grc candidate to contest. This will put pressure to the rulling party to perform. Actually, PAP did not perform well. It's due to those weak opp candidate that makes people go back to PAP. Most people are rational. They want someone on par with PAP. You can see those individuals. They manage to get 30%. It shows that voters are willing to give chance to a good opp candidate.

hdsouza

You see how much resources been used to rebrand CSJ image. Many his younger supporters don’t even remember all these things with with hunger strike, CST issue.

CST left his stronghold then his health image I feel did him in. Compared to LTK who successfully break through

That explains my point. WP vs SPP - both had equal footing in 2011. Even if LTK isn't outright confrontational in the JBJ/CSJ mould, I don't think you'd argue he's still much more confrontational than CST. See how the parties have diverged since 2011.

Likewise, rebuilding CSJ's image or not - you aren't suggesting Paul Tambyah is more confrontational than today's CSJ, are you? :ROFLMAO:

hdsouza

Its hard to find talent in opp. WP will have to provide 2 more grc candidate to contest. This will put pressure to the rulling party to perform. Actually, PAP did not perform well. It's due to those weak opp candidate that makes people go back to PAP. Most people are rational. They want someone on par with PAP. You can see those individuals. They manage to get 30%. It shows that voters are willing to give chance to a good opp candidate.

Actually, I am not sure if this is actually rational. I'd imagine if you were unhappy with PAP's policies, there's no way in hell you would vote for them however incompetent the weak opposition candidates are. Spoiling your vote is a more rational choice. :ROFLMAO:

tuxguy

but somehow that is not reflected in ponggol and tampines which has good opp candidates but still lost

jericho75

The sensible takeaway - and this has persisted since the Punggol East by-election in 2013 - is that whenever there are multi-corner fights and WP is involved, the other opposition parties would be swatted away easily regardless of whether WP wins.

This also essentially paves the way towards an eventual two-party system however long that may take.

but 10 kkj 4 party also pap won. sibeh sian now have to listen to the i wake up see the sun idiot.

yobyella

Oppo should just heed the numbers, and do a marine parade on those PAP strongholds. Let them walkover

No need waste time and resources on people who don't appreciate oppo presence in parliament

True. WP did a stupid mistake. Shld just stick to MP lah

bobafettup

What are those old whiners at the kopitiam going to go? They can’t see the downfall of PAP in their lifetime. Continue to whine

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.