Other brands/models here

https://bestinsingapore.com/bread-makers/

I got mine last time from Shopee. You can also try Lazada, Gain City etc
How many breads you made so far?

Apparatus

How many breads you made so far?

Cannot remember liao. Each bread uses 290g of flour. A 1Kg bag of bread flour can use for 3x lor. Don't consume a loaf of bread for more than 3 days for it'll become hard and mouldy, if not careful because no preservatives added unlike those bought from supermarts

rogze79

But oats will cause a rapid spike in blood glucose and insulin - both are not what we want

Eating eggs is still better
And most think that eating 2 eggs daily is enough. Well, my small dog eats 2 eggs daily too.

It's kinda funny to add this or that to moderate glucose spikes.

When all we need to do is not to eat it. In this case, bread and/or oats. These are choices one make.

I baked sourdough regularly. I only eat 50g worth - 2 slices with thick slab of butter. I freeze the rest.

virtualape

Exactly bro.
I fnt understand what the hack government is thinking.
Why not expiry date extend to 3 to 5 years?
Then people can learn to be spendthrift , prudent.
But I thunk many jus anyhow waste the remaining cdc for the sake of spending it.
It's to stimulate spending to hit GDP targets... because their bonus depends on GDP.

Many ways to spend. But can't always dig roads or replace infrastructure or build founders memorial that has 0 economic benefit.

Or put it in another way, they have funds but run out of safe ideas to spend/invest to maximize returns. So cdc vouchers is probably the best way to appear helpful after hitting you with increased gst. Song bo?

Jian19

Exactly bro.
I fnt understand what the hack government is thinking.
Why not expiry date extend to 3 to 5 years?
Then people can learn to be spendthrift , prudent.
But I thunk many jus anyhow waste the remaining cdc for the sake of spending it.
Cdc was launch to help local businesses especially those around neighborhood type

Not to help poor sinkies

carey

And most think that eating 2 eggs daily is enough. Well, my small dog eats 2 eggs daily too.

It's kinda funny to add this or that to moderate glucose spikes.

When all we need to do is not to eat it. In this case, bread and/or oats. These are choices one make.

I baked sourdough regularly. I only eat 50g worth - 2 slices with thick slab of butter. I freeze the rest.
Yeah, I can eat 10 eggs at one go hahah

That's my usual go-to breakfast when I am overseas if the hotel comes with free breakfast - most of the other food are just processed carbs and sweet stuff

I also want to start making my own sourdough bread but haven't gotten around to starting the culture hahah

Freezing the bread is good as it turns into resistant starch

DragonFire

I went to buy bread.
Looking for a affordable bread.
But those healthy bread is very expensive.
And those low quality one is chap.
I go for $1.90 bread. (Daily's wholemeal bread).

The poor will probably die faster while the rich enjoy healthy food.

On the way back, took a lift with one elderly lady.

She look at the bread n the price.
I told her bread very expensive.

She told me she buy one packet of bee hoon cost $5.

I told her everything getting expensive.
It the truth.

Wheat bread as a baseline is actually very expensive whether you buy it off the shelf or try making it at home. Unfortunately all our ingredients are imported.

I haven't tried yet, but making bread out of locally available ingredients - cassava and yam will likely yield a much cheaper loaf.

I have seen people try making bread out of rice too. This is potentially cheaper than wheat bread too if a lower grade of rice is used.

DragonFire

You can add a pinch of cinnamon powder or some allulose/Inulin. They help to regulate glucose spikes. I add these to my oatmeal
Try to buy real sri lankan cinnamon. The local crap is all mainly cassia which is actually toxic in large doses. Real Sri Lankan alba cinnamon is expensive, but a little goes a really long way. It is back in stock at iherb after disappearing for a couple of years.

Apparatus

Try to buy real sri lankan cinnamon. The local crap is all mainly cassia which is actually toxic in large doses. Real Sri Lankan alba cinnamon is expensive, but a little goes a really long way. It is back in stock at iherb after disappearing for a couple of years.

Already bought Ceylon Cinnamon for my coffee and oatmeal uses

carey

It the truth.

Wheat bread as a baseline is actually very expensive whether you buy it off the shelf or try making it at home. Unfortunately all our ingredients are imported.

I haven't tried yet, but making bread out of locally available ingredients - cassava and yam will likely yield a much cheaper loaf.

I have seen people try making bread out of rice too. This is potentially cheaper than wheat bread too if a lower grade of rice is used.
Gluten free flour is definitely more expensive than wheat flour hahah

Plus gluten-free doesn't mean it won't spark blood glucose and insulin

Anyway, cassava and yam could result in starch, don't think can use to make bread bah

DragonFire

The main catch with DIY flour is that the machinery is not cheap. You'll need at least $400 for a chinese made benchtop flour mill. And if you want something more professional, the sky is the limit.

DragonFire

Gluten free flour is definitely more expensive than wheat flour hahah

Plus gluten-free doesn't mean it won't spark blood glucose and insulin

Anyway, cassava and yam could result in starch, don't think can use to make bread bah
From my readings the breads resulting are denser and not really that fluffy. Almost cake like. Characteristic of aboriginal breads. Come think of it, the colorful rice cakes offered during qing ming are exactly what one might expect.

carey

From my readings the breads resulting are denser and not really that fluffy. Almost cake like. Characteristic of aboriginal breads. Come think of it, the colorful rice cakes offered during qing ming are exactly what one might expect.
Yes, Chinese "bread" are usually steamed, not baked

Maybe that's the correct way to use these types of flour

DragonFire

Yes, Chinese "bread" are usually steamed, not baked

Maybe that's the correct way to use these types of flour
Wheat breads do well steamed too btw. I have done steamed bread balls in my steam oven just for kicks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.