Mothership - Ng Chee Meng responds to photo of him & Fujian gang member; also asks PM not to assign him govt role

Medicated Oil

If LW gives him a post now, it will be political suicide. Play the long game.
There are too many internal "influences" that will push LW to give him the post.
LW just have to take the stain.

Any sane person would not do it.
Cos we dunno what else will leak later.

Orionz

Oh really? So union leaders cannot attend networking functions? When negotiating with towkays must be done in a townhall manner, cannot close door?

How come the those European countries union leaders who attend networking functions with wine and dine and close doors negotiations with those big boss were not asked to step down huh?
Lai, i help u asked ChatGPT riaos

Is it ok for a union leader to meet billionaire business owners behind closed doors?

ChatGPT said:​

Meeting with billionaire business owners behind closed doors isn't automatically wrong for a union leader, but it raises serious concerns that depend on how the situation is handled. The key issues are trust, transparency, and accountability.

When it might be justifiable:​

• If the goal is to secure better wages, benefits, or conditions for workers and the meeting is part of a formal negotiation process.
  • If confidentiality is necessary for delicate negotiations, but the union leadership is committed to updating members when appropriate.
  • If the union leader is acting within a mandate given by members or a bargaining committee.

When it's clearly problematic:​

• If the union leader does so without informing members, without oversight, or against their interests.
  • If the meeting results in compromises that benefit the employer more than workers—especially if these are kept secret.
  • If there's no accountability mechanism to ensure the union leader is acting on behalf of the membership.
Given the power imbalance between a billionaire and a union representing working people, such meetings demand extra scrutiny. Even if they start privately, the union leader must later explain the purpose, context, and outcome to their members.

Were these meetings for bargaining? Brother Ng got mandate from the union for these bargaining meetings?
Did he publish his purpose, context and outcome of these meetings? Was there any transparency?

tmster

That’s what we all think but everytime when GE comes around the outcome is still the same. Daft people still vote for him

All i know is the younger gen really hates him, largely due to the MOE story. His reputation in the army is really really very jialat, i'm not joking, just ask anybody who has worked with him in the army. Time to just throw him under a fighter jet fuel tank, if the regime continues to shield him then something is seriously wrong.

Sauron

Wait... Means he can stay on as NTUC Chief? With undisclosed celery
Edmwers 高兴得太早了

zer0ne

Oh really? So union leaders cannot attend networking functions? When negotiating with towkays must be done in a townhall manner, cannot close door?

How come the those European countries union leaders who attend networking functions with wine and dine and close doors negotiations with those big boss were not asked to step down huh?
Meet laundry towkay? Don’t tell me he never check who and how this billionaire is?

orwell76

Iswaran can receive gifts for 8 years, and west coast electorate still vote ⚡, I am sure Jalan Kayu will condone this too

Arbalest

If LW gives him a post now, it will be political suicide. Play the long game.

Don't believe there is really such thing as political suicide in SG. GE2025 has made me double down on this belief.

In fact, I think even if TCJ did not resign, his residents will still vote him in. Jiak mangoes only ma, what's the issue if I can still find you solutions in Parliament?

Hence, I feel the PM can do pretty much whatever he wants, for better or worse, and people will still support the party

blegh…. no need wayang la. lawrence wong just step down and pass brother ng PM role can liao

osirisx

Ah Wong should just fire him ...

LoL still thinking of govt roles !

What bro ng going to sell next ?

Kayu residents ah
he's the golden boy of the whites leh, how can treat him lidat

jeffprobst

Many people hate him until he don’t dare to take up any minister position
I start to feel sad for him already
Is this call cyber bullying?
He will still be minister for jk mah. just no portfolio. But I think he should step down considering being a controversial figure.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.