USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

stanlawj

This week will likely be a chop-fest with OpEx Friday.
It begins with the Trump pump (Buy stocks, trade deal with China, etc...)

Adam Khoo below is talking about sector rotation as one of the major reason for buying healthcare sector.

XLV (SP500 Healthcare sector ETF)
IHI (Biomedical devices ETF)
UNH (Adam's public stock pick)
The hot stocks on Twitter currently are HIMS, TMDX, weightloss (LLY, NVO).
On my own watchlist is MDWD (takeover candidate).
I have no positions above.

limster

NVO & LLY good picks, everyone want to lose weight the ez way

https://www.theguardian.com/society...besity-related-cancers-study-findsWeight-loss jabs could halve risk of obesity-related cancers, study finds
Experts say findings are transformational and could herald new era of preventive medicine

Weight-loss jabs could almost halve the risk of obesity-related cancers, a landmark study suggests.
Cancer experts said the findings were “transformational” and could herald a “whole new era of preventive cancer medicine”.

Obesity is associated with 13 different cancers. While losing weight reduces that risk, scientists have calculated weight-loss injections have a bigger protective effect over and above shedding the kilos.

Another report about new uses for GLP-1. Maybe the next report they will say it also prevents COVID :ROFLMAO:

spoon69

stanlawj

Booked US$1.7k profit for this morning's Trump pump in COMEX silver... still have another half position running for the ultimate final pump when the joint US-China declaration is made later today.

ITPM's Jason McDonald (former fund manager) explains what has happened so far regarding the USD flows and US equity relation and makes his projection (TLDR: US equities will go sideways while rest-of-the-world moons).
I'm not saying he is right, but it's a well-reasoned case.

d5dude

My expectation is that with all negative news and developments, market shouldn't be at 5700 for the futures. Ditto for Treasuries which should be well above 5% for the 10y.

Market is clearly not there. So it is either the people on the other side of the trade are clowns or they know something we do not. This could be because they are smarter than us or because they have non-public information.

Well we have the answer now:

https://www.reuters.com/world/china...-talks-cool-high-stakes-trade-war-2025-05-10/

Most likely outcome is a pause in reciprocal tariffs with China while Trump looks to settle for a face facing deal.

I'm a little surprised that Trump has folded so quickly, but maybe this wasnt all that surprising, afterall his approval ratings have literally crashed, last thing he wants is for his base to turn against him.

Btw you seem like a very short term trader (scalper?) who is totally focused on price/levels, no idea why there is even a need to read the news or look at fundamentals. I would have cognitive dissonance if I read the news and thought that some sort of great economic divorce between US/China was imminent, no way this can ever be bullish for US equities.

d5dude

You guys are missing one of the greatest opp. of this year, baba.

Don't read too much western msm, and believe the china haters.
I am the messiah. Buy 9988/baba!!!

ER this week, hoping to see more growth in their cloud business.

d9lives

So....recession cancelled?

I wonder how the doomsayers, fud spreaders, and gloom prophets fare recently.
Probably no impact, as they don't usually put money where their mouths are.
Just spreading doom n gloom for nothing.

stanlawj

Starts in 20mins time (3.15pm SGT)

Gqv0vSYXoAAc0AH

Gqv56XBXIAA8ONn

limster

So....recession cancelled?

I wonder how the doomsayers, fud spreaders, and gloom prophets fare recently.
Probably no impact, as they don't usually put money where their mouths are.
Just spreading doom n gloom for nothing.

I bought more 2800.HK last Friday, so indirectly, I'm also on board the 9988 train! :ROFLMAO:

I am also quite bullish on Australia as a beneficiary of China recovery. Just had a nice holiday there.

Economy seems good, and I read that Aussies are selling more beef to China to replace the USDA Prime they can no longer buy.

elvintay07

Jialat for the bears liao. I saw this heading as I was away for holiday in Chinnnnaaaaaa.

“US, China hail 'constructive' Geneva trade talks, details due Monday”

Those shorting or selling all their positions all cry father cry mother. If this really break new high, my cousin ho say liao. Just saw him pump few hundred k into the US low.

Biggest winner is the trump and XJP alliance. lol! To the moon sia. Both talk cock no trade then suddenly meet again.

Trump got scared because Pakistan helped to demo the China secret missile? Haha

d5dude

Reaction so far is dollar up, stocks moon and bonds slightly lower. Looks like a repricing of recession risk?

limster

How u manage to catch ETH bottom sia?
To me is pure gambling hehe

I didn't catch bottom, started averaging down after it dropped below $18. Final average price $14.99.

When it comes to crypto I have no idea what I am doing, but I am here to learn, so just follow what I do in equities and average down. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.