hiring helper or nursing home?

dexterkim

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

Laneige

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

2 cheaper but u have to find someone that have take care of elderly before
Pay more lo

I think plus makan also 1.2k ba
Elderly the levy $60 or $90 I can’t rem

Nursing home too much elderly to one
Last time got one she fell on her back n I think hit her head
I don’t know if the nurses will inform the family or not but I did told them abt it n helped to hold the elderly for a while also
I told them to inform but whether the informed or not I 不知道

menthol28

If money is not an issue then best will be nursing home like st Luke or tai hua guan. Reason is they have nurses for physiotherapy.
If employ FDW can appeal from MP for subsidize WP fees.
Either way if you dun have siblings to help out, U will be mentally and financially shag. Been thru this 6-7 yrs ago.
Opt 1 of elder care also not long term, best is 6-12 months and then you have time to prepare your house for wheelchair friendly access, find FDW

888blancgmail

Few days ago, there is a thread on transferring maid, think got some1 interested. Not sure of status.

iCubes

If money is not an issue then best will be nursing home like st Luke or tai hua guan. Reason is they have nurses for physiotherapy.
If employ FDW can appeal from MP for subsidize WP fees.
Either way if you dun have siblings to help out, U will be mentally and financially shag. Been thru this 6-7 yrs ago.
Opt 1 of elder care also not long term, best is 6-12 months and then you have time to prepare your house for wheelchair friendly access, find FDW
If money not an issue should just buy land and build a nursing home dedicated for this person.

inmyopinion

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

option 1 is out.

Hiring helper is the most cost effective if you have extra space for the helper.

Helper levy is $60. Then u can pay slightly more for helper with experience.

Option 3 : expensive and u & your mom cant see your dad. This is bad.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
u don't have any siblings that could help, say maybe taking turns?

robie_aibo

I engaged helper to take care of ky dementia mum. I am only child and my mum's brothers and sisters did not lend me a helping hand. Through my friend who operates a maid agency, I hired a Myanmar helper. Talk to social worker recently about sending my mum to a home and was told I can't get much of the subsidies as I am a middle class family. The home after 25% subsidy will be around 3 to 4k... Talk to my mum's doctor and was told talk to gov loh... they don't seem to care much on the caregivers.

Spike

Nursing home can give him the best of care with the highest amount of subsidies.

Even if you were to outsource the caregiving to a helper, it is a matter of time before she cannot take the stress, and that will give you another set of problems..

MajiMax

if your dad requires assistance with his ADLs,

below are the schemes that you can apply for him, check with your social workers if he meets the criteria,

https://www.aic.sg/financial-assistance/pioneer-generation-disability-assistance-scheme/

https://www.aic.sg/financial-assistance/home-caregiving-grant-hcg/

https://www.aic.sg/financial-assist...y-assistance-programme-for-the-elderly-idape/

https://www.aic.sg/financial-assistance/Elderfund/

Does your father insured with ElderShield or CareShield Life?

icansing

I engaged helper to take care of ky dementia mum. I am only child and my mum's brothers and sisters did not lend me a helping hand. Through my friend who operates a maid agency, I hired a Myanmar helper. Talk to social worker recently about sending my mum to a home and was told I can't get much of the subsidies as I am a middle class family. The home after 25% subsidy will be around 3 to 4k... Talk to my mum's doctor and was told talk to gov loh... they don't seem to care much on the caregivers.
gov always suubsidize family have kids. but forgot about ppl caring for ageing parents oso need subsidies.

so those have kids think gov nice to u, think again. when u n ur kids old gov will ask u f off

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.