hiring helper or nursing home?

couch.potato

Exactly. We ourselves cannot handle it and we expect a stranger, paid a meagre salary, to do the job?
If they do a bad job, still will kena gossip and hiam by relatives say useless no good
Think they pay that and give lodging is already very kind hearted :s22:
Tw got a saying 站著看腰不會酸

FT PRIDE

gov always suubsidize family have kids. but forgot about ppl caring for ageing parents oso need subsidies.

so those have kids think gov nice to u, think again. when u n ur kids old gov will ask u f off
Because they need more sinkies

JustForFun

I got my FDW who worked in Taiwan for 5 years and can speak mandarin. Got to pay her higher than market rate. Dun expect her to cook or clean the house. Mainly caregiving duties.

That's why it's not all gloom and doom.

Last time I met one wheelchair wearing diaper uncle taken care by a big size Indonesian helper in 40s. The helper is very good and kind hearted. She wheelchair the uncle go exercise daily. Feed him drink, cut fruits, medication. Help uncle stand exercise. Daily saw them morning outdoor few hours at exercise corner and push home during lunch time with packed food.

PikaPika33

Actually must also take into the feelings of our parents, most will wanna be at home instead of a hospice. My mother after just 5 months can't tahan the boredom. If not bedridden, just partial disabled, best is to stay home
thats why i say willing lor
but ya sometimes old folks dont want
they rather die at home, not trolling but alot of them say this themself.

nyvrem

take care ts. its a damn shag road ahead.

i stay with my parents, and my grandparents, all under 1 roof cause booth my grandparents had dementia last time so needed care giving and we all agreed to take turns to be around the home to look after them

end up got 2 helpers helping around the house with us all chipping in. not easy esp since all of us were working full time also

there was a period moi remembered, i was driving back and forth to the hospital almost weekly. could be a&e, or check ups etc.

:s22: :s22: :s22:

JustForFun

For helper, my observation on common helper is:

- Indonesia ones likely very responsible and good (for wheelchaired or bed bound)
- Philippines ones like to compare and ask for better treatment or $$, and bochap with nearby friends chat if no one around
- Myanmar depends on luck, some good some communication issues but most small size cannot handle old people. Good if take care elderly with ADLs not serious or not an issue meaning accompany go market, supermarket, hawker, coffeeshop, do simple housework, cooking etc

FT PRIDE

Nursing home rate should be b4 subsidy bah.

Taking care of stroke patient is no joke, especially where mobility is limited. Hiring a helper may be cheaper, but does she has the skill sets and patience as a caregiver? Do you trust her to be alone with 2 old folks at home?

Cost is an important consideration but should not be the only one.
They usually quote after subsi. Stroke mostly have the highest RAF

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
both got pros and cons imo

helper - usually cheaper and parents stay at home so u still can spend more time with them
home - usually more ex but could be beneficial in terms of more professional care

jericho75

Exactly. We ourselves cannot handle it and we expect a stranger, paid a meagre salary, to do the job?

some elder chin chye kind still ok. some really quai lan bloomer. then hard to manage

jericho75

For helper, my observation on common helper is:

- Indonesia ones likely very responsible and good (for wheelchaired or bed bound)
- Philippines ones like to compare and ask for better treatment or $$, and bochap with nearby friends chat if no one around
- Myanmar depends on luck, some good some communication issues but most small size cannot handle old people. Good if take care elderly with ADLs not serious or not an issue meaning accompany go market, supermarket, hawker, coffeeshop, do simple housework, cooking etc

depends one.

一样米养百种人​

like sinkies. some always no support papaya forever.

some kpkb but erection comes no change

some tekan until how also papaya the best

hmyoth

Nursing home fee based on household income per capita. If is low then can get quite good subsidy . There is caregiver fund $400 max if cannot perform 3 of the 6 ADL n $100 if patient is pioneer generation, next year June caregiver fund increased to $600 max. So total max can get $700 . But if stay nursing home i think not entitled to caregiver fund if I not wrong. See which one is more suitable for ur case. Some elderly will never accept nursing home arrangement so also must respect their choice.

MajiMax

TS, if you decide to care of your father at home, check with the social worker whether your father’s chronic condition can be manage through Home Medical services, this can reduce the trip to hospital for medical review.

MajiMax

Nursing home fee based on household income per capita. If is low then can get quite good subsidy . There is caregiver fund $400 max if cannot perform 3 of the 6 ADL n $100 if patient is pioneer generation, next year June caregiver fund increased to $600 max. So total max can get $700 . But if stay nursing home i think not entitled to caregiver fund if I not wrong. See which one is more suitable for ur case. Some elderly will never accept nursing home arrangement so also must respect their choice.
Ya, Home Caregiving Grant will be ceased when admitted into the nursing home.

If the nursing home admission is under the private route, then the recipient has to inform AIC to cease the Home Caregiving Grant payout, cause it won’t be auto ceased.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.