hiring helper or nursing home?

MajiMax

Is for the nursing home. 25% to 75% subsidy
Need a strong justification to appeal for a subsidy deviation. Need to show hand everything (all children’s income, parent’s bank book and parent’s payout).

jywy2005

Ur sibling all staying with Ur parents??? Usually government based on total household income. If Ur mum works, U work and Ur siblings work (using Ur parents' address but already moved out) , it is impossible for U to apply welfare
Can ask AIC to help to apply home caregiving grant if you are hiring FDW

Note the home caregiving grant also takes into consideration the type of residence. Annual value like must be less than $21k

jericho75

thanks bro…
mine will be from myanmar, and have experience taking care of elderly stroke man before…
hope she dun run away man…

same one lor. all humans do not want difficult life.

if u maid also wanna work to take care of kids instead of elder that cannot move.

PikaPika33

if got money and willing
just send to nursing home lo
they are pro

helper most of the time no training for this
later got more issue down the road

EDMW-Hates-Me

Hiring helper must find those good 1
Because its very hard to take care.
My grandmother also bed ridden, needs 2 workers to take care. Because she is very heavy, as now she always drink ensure only. Also good for mental health to get 2 workers also because its very tiring for them. U cant expect them to work 24/7

Think u sit down with your family members and discuss.
Yes, good to hire 2 if you can. She cannot eat normal food already or the doctor asks her to take Ensure? Ensure can make you buibui easily.

robie_aibo

Ur sibling all staying with Ur parents??? Usually government based on total household income. If Ur mum works, U work and Ur siblings work (using Ur parents' address but already moved out) , it is impossible for U to apply welfare
I have no siblings as I am only child. My household only 4 of us plus helper. Social worker told me to appeal; might or might not get it.... if I approach mp, I'm sure my mp will ask me to approach SW to go through the application process.

jericho75

I have no siblings as I am only child. My household only 4 of us plus helper. Social worker told me to appeal; might or might not get it.... if I approach mp, I'm sure my mp will ask me to approach SW to go through the application process.

helper can, but u need to help out abit also. cannot expect the person to help 100%. then if day time nothing can let the helper nap.

treat the helper like family member. eat time can eat together or outside eat eat together so ppl will be willing to help u.

robie_aibo

Can ask AIC to help to apply home caregiving grant if you are hiring FDW

Note the home caregiving grant also takes into consideration the type of residence. Annual value like must be less than $21k
I only gotten the $350 grant for home care. One thing to take note is that helper will inadvertently damage household items and money has to set aside to repair or replace. My new home of less than 6 months becomes old house condition...

JustForFun

Can your dad able to move or no movement at all ? On permanent or temporary tube feeding or urinal tube (these will need professional nursing care if permanently) ?

Staying in nursing home he will likely deteriorated and lost all function or 6 ADL very fast as exercise and movement is miniment. Always on bed due to fall risk like in hospital (Non compliance will tie to bed, very sad). Nurse or nursing aide are limited and the ratio to nursing home resident very low or tight. It's not 1-1 or 1-2 ratio type, so cannot expect constant assistance or support like maid or helper. Nursing home likely only change diapers on fixed timings, food feeding, bed bathing or wheelchair shower, and don't expect to help dad assisted walking as when he like or push him wheelchair see scenary etc. Nursing home physiotherapy is also group. It can be as short as 10-30mins and back to bed. Nothing much and useless likely. If bed bound, turning body also not frequent or not at all.

It's like waiting to rot and die if stay into nursing home.

Getting a helper will be financially cheaper with closer care (your mum can see your dad daily). Get one who willing to take care your dad. The rest depends on luck and no point thinking too much. Buy portable CCTV and place them to view house and your parents conditions. Explore with hospital social worker home care help and financial $$ support she can advise of provide like daycare centre for exercise for stroke recovery, depending on the stroke conditions.

Anything emergency, just direct call ambulance send hospital.

6 ADLs:
They include bathing or showering, dressing, getting in and out of bed or a chair, walking, using the toilet, and eating

wongminmin

depend on ur household income then apply subsidy etc.

if still walkable and no need professional care and 24hrs, maid
if need professional care, daycare centre

nursing home is the last resolution.

Devilsire

helper definitely cheaper than nursing home by alot. Nursing home daily consumables adds up alot as they will suka suka keep replenishing like it's free :o
and all the attending dr fees, scans, tests etc etc

li9ht5peed

Nursing home can give him the best of care with the highest amount of subsidies.

Even if you were to outsource the caregiving to a helper, it is a matter of time before she cannot take the stress, and that will give you another set of problems..
nursing home is the worse solution. they force inmates to wear diapers and they are not allowed to wander around. so end up the inmate will lose muscle mass and also become very smelly due to urine. food is also pathetic. $100/day isn't alot of revenue for such a business. there's no shortcut. if he or she is your parent, care for them like they are your baby. it's time to return the favor until they pass away. hire a helper. i've showered old ppl, cleaned their poop and put on diapers for them while naked in front of me. unpleasant but it's your f'ing duty

mastermember

My FIL Currently diagnose with early signs of dementia. We chose option of hiring helper to stay with him in his 2RM HDB.

Sometimes have to manage the helper even though she had past experience taking care of old folks with condition as well.

But still better than leaving the elderly at nursing home where quality of life is quite bad i think.

Their condition Might deteriorate faster.

slashGNR

I think most maids will leave after the contract expires, as it is not easy to take care of some old folks. Like my elderly lady neigbour, already seen a few come and go...

robie_aibo

nursing home is the worse solution. they force inmates to wear diapers and they are not allowed to wander around. so end up the inmate will lose muscle mass and also become very smelly due to urine. food is also pathetic. $100/day isn't alot of revenue for such a business. there's no shortcut. if he or she is your parent, care for them like they are your baby. it's time to return the favor until they pass away. hire a helper. i've showered old ppl, cleaned their poop and put on diapers for them while naked in front of me. unpleasant but it's your f'ing duty
Social worker told me about this. The amount stated in their websites exclude
Nursing home fee hasn't included diapers and doctor attending fee if U dad is unwell in nursing home. If Ur dad requires tube feeding then cost would be even higher.

If U hire a helper, U can't expect a helper to 100% take care of Ur dad , do housechores, cook for Ur family , go marketing and must handle Ur mum. No one would be so multi tasking. Out front U must let the helper knows Ur expectation and requirements. It is best to hiring a helper with tube feeding experience.
Social worker told me about this. The amount stated in their websites exclude these charges. Plus minus the monthly fee can easily hit 3 to 4k. She advised me to hire a helper instead

JustForFun

Nursing home is waiting to rot and die type, meaning past time towards death with no hope of recovery at all. Constraints to hospital bed, cannot move, diaper soiled not cleaned or changed, cannot slowly eat and time up they clear all food.

Need to know the condition of dad on his mobility, can talk or cannot, on tube feeding, on urinal tubing etc. Generally his ADL, daily 6 activities below.

They include bathing or showering, dressing, getting in and out of bed or a chair, walking, using the toilet, and eating

Home helper is good as 1-1 care. Slow feeding is possible. Spouse or mum can see him daily. Anything cannot handle medically, call ambulance send hospital.

Fever is common (infection or pneumonia etc). Must have thermometer 🌡️ and measure daily .

couch.potato

same one lor. all humans do not want difficult life.

if u maid also wanna work to take care of kids instead of elder that cannot move.
Also got right amount, for the peanuts they get paid of course choose easier job

Taloona

moi colleague says helper help those cannot move elders always run road one. her record last time was 5 helper in 1 year.

if chiu maid u rather look after kids. can play still not so quai lan.
Exactly. We ourselves cannot handle it and we expect a stranger, paid a meagre salary, to do the job?

menthol28

if got money and willing
just send to nursing home lo
they are pro

helper most of the time no training for this
later got more issue down the road
Actually must also take into the feelings of our parents, most will wanna be at home instead of a hospice. My mother after just 5 months can't tahan the boredom. If not bedridden, just partial disabled, best is to stay home

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.