hiring helper or nursing home?

MajiMax

If not bedridden, they might stay till contract ends, if bedridden, must need other adult members to help too, cannot leave them drained up solo
It would be good to arrange for a respite care so the domestic helper can take a break.

Govt is subsidising 30 days per year for respite care (admit the elderly into a nursing home for a short-term stay).

pokipoki08

If money is not an issue then best will be nursing home like st Luke or tai hua guan. Reason is they have nurses for physiotherapy.
If employ FDW can appeal from MP for subsidize WP fees.
Either way if you dun have siblings to help out, U will be mentally and financially shag. Been thru this 6-7 yrs ago.
Opt 1 of elder care also not long term, best is 6-12 months and then you have time to prepare your house for wheelchair friendly access, find FDW
compared to msia, sg is better in this regard (subsidy). the only issue is cost
fdw in msia is hit n miss, some will run away, fees paid cannot recover

8zaoyu

Option 2.
Though stroke, probably still can 自里………..
Helper will be most best option.
Stroke already meant blockage of arteries to the brain , cannot further bad-temper,fall risks and blockages - otherwise surgery to the brain leh

8zaoyu

It would be good to arrange for a respite care so the domestic helper can take a break.

Govt is subsidising 30 days per year for respite care (admit the elderly into a nursing home for a short-term stay).
Oh, this is good, wish those singles who look after parents without maids can get 30 days of respite care from govt too! Of course still must afford subsidised nursing homes or community hospital first

MajiMax

So ex to send elderly to nursing home
It is manageable if the elderly is at 75% subsidy rate and with other govt payout.

Monthly payout from Pioneer Generation Disability Assistance Scheme ($100)
Monthly payout from ElderFund ($250) or Monthly payout from ElderShield ($300)
Quarterly payout from Silver Support Schemes ($860 or $286 per month), based on 3-room HDB flat.

Above Payout $636 or $686

Nursing Fees around $1,000 at 75% subsidy rate

So out-of-pocket is around $300ish.

arsenalfc85

So ex to send elderly to nursing home
i still think ideally its better to keep the elderly at home.

most elderly i think also prefer to stay at home.

only thing is i think there need to be better support for caregivers. the support is so darn weak cuz im experiencing it now

When u are struggling, i can tell u, even your neighbours, relatives and siblings alo will siam far far.

This is a society of we are trying to outdo each other, see who has more money, who has bigger house, who has bigger car, who travel to more atas country

Nobody ain't got time to care about ppl who are struggling or left behind due to unforseen circumstances like this.

Balian

Most people will say get helper, can help out with chores as well.

but thats if you encounter a gd helper

tootired

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices
1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him
2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?
3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

nursing vacancy can be long wait list. fee can apply for subsidies probably will abt 1k range depending on you household income and which nursing home.

TrollAndOgres

It is manageable if the elderly is at 75% subsidy rate and with other govt payout.

Monthly payout from Pioneer Generation Disability Assistance Scheme ($100)
Monthly payout from ElderFund ($250) or Monthly payout from ElderShield ($300)
Quarterly payout from Silver Support Schemes ($860 or $286 per month), based on 3-room HDB flat.

Above Payout $636 or $686

Nursing Fees around $1,000 at 75% subsidy rate

So out-of-pocket is around $300ish.

Gahmen refused to grant shitizen to my parent cuz he stopped working from poor health lors. So die also no 75%

8zaoyu

i still think ideally its better to keep the elderly at home.

most elderly i think also prefer to stay at home.

only thing is i think there need to be better support for caregivers. the support is so darn weak cuz im experiencing it now

When u are struggling, i can tell u, even your neighbours, relatives and siblings alo will siam far far.

This is a society of we are trying to outdo each other, see who has more money, who has bigger house, who has bigger car, who travel to more atas country

Nobody ain't got time to care about ppl who are struggling or left behind due to unforseen circumstances like this.
Last stage at my parents' hospital beds, I just sat beside them, massage their limbs and foreheads, tell them I can manage and well, if "time" comes , just "let go". They were hanging on to life because they "worries". There was nothing to do besides reading newspapers besides them only. Being the only "fit" child to them, knows they grateful got me beside before their passing of their illnesses - one cancer one stroke with tube feeding.

Lchlch

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Option 2....

hmyoth

How much are you willing to pay nursing home to operate? Optimally it is 5k/patient/mth can you pay? Or you wish like most wish almost totally by taxpayer
Nursing home is not hospice where the patients are at end-of-life illness (usually less than a few months. If the monthly fee is 3k to 5k due to high
With maximum subsidy of 75% not so much. My neighbor bro after surgery suddenly when into coma, admitted to nursing home. He told me paid $1000 plus only cos the bro is retiree stay alone. His son married and stay different address. If ur PCHI is high n don’t get any subsidy then maid is definitely cheaper .

hmyoth

The per capita income is based on the elderly who need the home or the caregivers income?
Based on number of person staying at the same address. Let say 2 working children stay with parent total income 10 k and retired parent . So the PCHI is 10000/4 =2,500

stevenang79

Nursing home is expensive and long waiting list.
Getting a helper is more feasible.
For support schemes, go https://supportgowhere.life.gov.sg/
Application process can be tricky and laborious.
Experience from having a wife whom suffered brain haemorrhage

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.