[need advice] paynowed to wrong number

Mystyque

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?

Nothing you can do, treat it as you donated the $10K to whoever that was.
Next time, always transfer $1 or something small to verify it is correct recipient before doing the big amount.
Or, don't fall for scams lah :crazy:

kebinu

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?

can only wait for the bank to clawback, hopefully there's enough fund in that account when the bank does it. else, it may become a police case then can drag on.

Comage

Don't bother going through the bank. If you have made the police report, and the IO has contacted you, inform the IO you wish to invoke Penal code 403.

The IO will reach out to the ****** to get him/her to return your money.

Also, keep screenshots that you have politely notified the guy to return you your money (chat screenshot), but the guy refuse to oblige. Also, send over the police report to the guys' WhatsApp, telegram, wechat whatever app he hasn't blocked you in to duly notify him.

Tell him he is going to be charged until this penal code 403 if he doesn't return you the money.

Do not use vulgarities in your conversation with the guy. When this is done and exhausted with no response, then inform the IO you wish to charge the guy under this penal code.

IO will do the rest to help you get your money back.

True story. Good luck.

testerjp

Don't bother going through the bank. If you have made the police report, and the IO has contacted you, inform the IO you wish to invoke Penal code 403.

The IO will reach out to the ****** to get him/her to return your money.

Also, keep screenshots that you have politely notified the guy to return you your money (chat screenshot), but the guy refuse to oblige. Also, send over the police report to the guys' WhatsApp, telegram, wechat whatever app he hasn't blocked you in to duly notify him.

Tell him he is going to be charged until this penal code 403 if he doesn't return you the money.

Do not use vulgarities in your conversation with the guy. When this is done and exhausted with no response, then inform the IO you wish to charge the guy under this penal code.

IO will do the rest to help you get your money back.

True story. Good luck.

Haa

Got "police" called me to tf back.

I went to police station to confirm, officer asked me don't transfer back directly as criminals deliberately send wrongly then ask people send back but instead provide another number to transfer. I could become the money mule indirectly and get into deeper sai. The correct way is to contact the bank to recall.

Said NEVER directly transfer back. Ask them to use bank recall back and that's the right procedure.

"police" called again. I asked him to ask the bank tf back and he also LL.

How the hack can one verify the one calling you is not a scammer these days. :o

bruiser69

Where got people transfer such a big amount without checking properly?

That the recipient block your friend also understandable. He will say he thot it was the money launderer or scammer trying to get more money from him etc.

Let the banks contact him directly.

And let this be an expensive lesson too :grin: :o

bruiser69

Haa

Got "police" called me to tf back.

I went to police station to confirm, officer asked me don't transfer back directly as criminals deliberately send wrongly then ask people send back but instead provide another number to transfer. I could become the money mule indirectly and get into deeper sai. The correct way is to contact the bank to recall.

Said NEVER directly transfer back. Ask them to use bank recall back and that's the right procedure.

"police" called again. I asked him to ask the bank tf back and he also LL.

How the hack can one verify the one calling you is not a scammer these days. :o

If such a thing ever happens to me, I won’t go out of my way to reply the person, call the bank or police etc. Why should I trouble myself or unknowingly put myself in harm’s way (eg scammer, hacker) for somebody else’s mistake?

Instead, I will wait for the bank to call me through proper authenticated channels and only then have the money recalled.

And I will just ignore the person who transferred wrongly as I don’t know who he really is. And if he starts to get abusive or belligerent, I will also block him too.

Let him sweat a bit to get his money back :s13: :grin:

andyhtc

I thought PayNow has a limit of $5k?

For large sums, transfer via NRIC is the safest.

st0rm5cap3

Where got people transfer such a big amount without checking properly?

That the recipient block your friend also understandable. He will say he thot it was the money launderer or scammer trying to get more money from him etc.

Let the banks contact him directly.

And let this be an expensive lesson too :grin: :o
Expensive lesson for TS or TS friend.. 10k PayNow never double check. Recipient right to block in case it's a scammer. Just LLST and wait for bank & police to complete the official process to recover money.

XiaoJinLing

If big amount mayb I go bank counter to do.. if the bank kaypo kaypo check more better

Kenzo88

Recently someone paynow by mistake $18 to me, demanded me to paynow back. I immediately reported to DBS. DBS said would returned the unknown funds within 7 working days. But 7 working days has passed, still haven debit from my account. Call dbs again but press so many buttons, still cant talk to anyone.

Normally how long will the bank debit the money back to the sender ah? I see the funds buay song...

Philipkee

I still cannot believe got people paynow someone without verifying the name.

Even $1 I also verify lor.
I tell you a true story. It just happened. A bit sian

I went to a hawker. It was a new hawker so I thought of trying it out. Wanted to pay by paynow but there wasn’t a QR code so I was given a number to type

1 - I key in wrong telephone number
2 - I told hawker xxx name and he said yes
3- I showed hawker the screen and he said correct
4 - I then swiped send

When the hawker wanted to take a picture of my transaction record, he said oh wrong number :(

I told him but I say the name u say yes I show the screen u say yes…. I think he was a bit pai sei then said something like it’s ok but I also didn’t feel its right (it’s a new hawker and he’s quite young) to take a meal for free so I sent a second transaction to pay him. He was grateful and gave me two extra big fish balls

So now I called the bank to try to reverse the wrong transaction. Not having much hope but money loss wasn’t so great (how much can a fish ball mee pok cost in a hawker?).

Lesson learned? I dunno. Cos yea while I should have paid more attention to the number I was keying in, I did say out the name of the account holder and showed the screen to the hawker and swiped “send” only after he said “correct”

qhong61

I tell you a true story. It just happened. A bit sian

I went to a hawker. It was a new hawker so I thought of trying it out. Wanted to pay by paynow but there wasn’t a QR code so I was given a number to type

1 - I key in wrong telephone number
2 - I told hawker xxx name and he said yes
3- I showed hawker the screen and he said correct
4 - I then swiped send

When the hawker wanted to take a picture of my transaction record, he said oh wrong number :(

I told him but I say the name u say yes I show the screen u say yes…. I think he was a bit pai sei then said something like it’s ok but I also didn’t feel its right (it’s a new hawker and he’s quite young) to take a meal for free so I sent a second transaction to pay him. He was grateful and gave me two extra big fish balls

So now I called the bank to try to reverse the wrong transaction. Not having much hope but money loss wasn’t so great (how much can a fish ball mee pok cost in a hawker?).

Lesson learned? I dunno. Cos yea while I should have paid more attention to the number I was keying in, I did say out the name of the account holder and showed the screen to the hawker and swiped “send” only after he said “correct”
Use cash best

jeffprobst

you called the bank already. is for the bank to follow up. unsure if filing a police report will help but the other end is not suppose to keep the money considering you informed the bank liao.

to play safe, just file a police report with user name, account number lor.

PaprikaSG

g8LbOlu.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.