Those taps and shower mixers that comes with BTO can use or not?

jericho75

Take two piece good, if u wanna do tiles, better spend a bit and do now.
Toilet can be easily replaced at anytime.

Hacking is ******* dirty and messy, those wanna whack one better do immediately.

When you decided to do in the future, resale renovation will be a lot more expensive than BTO.

But tiles is also not say forever, if one day pop, you can't just cement and put back, the height will be different.

Porcelain is about $3+ psf excluding labour.
Tiles that are very non-slip are hard to mop.

Toilet doors are not expensive, i think 600 to 700 can get already.
Remove all the frame make it as wide as possible for future wheel chair access.
Get those aluminium frame with full glass panels. The weight will actually give it more stability.
Glass is easy to clean and good for the kitchen toilet.

Use your intented budget for those atas Grohe, Hansgrohe and spend on these more practical. Showy is really 80-90% Grohe already.

I also don't recommend conceal your toilet pipes. If leak, is almost hack the toilet one.
Those with both hot and cold even more jialat, the contraction and expansion may move the connections.

I only have 1 or 2 trusted ID.
Otherwise I bao everything., waste alot of time and really alot of work but quality of course is better and save about 20-30%.

Paint job, better don't save the money, get Nippon professional team, should be the last step.
Those carousell is cannot make it and make it even more problematic in the future.

Thanks. The vinyl comes with the flat. Actually use vinyl should be ok? I know ppl have tiles and the grout dirt is making them crazy and wanna do over lay with vinyl.

HDB comes with this toilet door. Should be ok to use until pichia?

quick_sale_bto_bifold_toilet_d_1744958629_897f9be5_progressive.jpg

I think the money for taps better use it buy a marantz network player or bigger cc aircon.

LoneTraveller

Play TB brands before those cheap $50 ones, replace every 1-2 y. Then just get better brands, easy for 5 y.
Then just use hdb ones lor. My 4 room flat lasted me for more than 10 yrs before I sold the flat. Current 5 room flat lasted me more than 5 yrs. It's all paid for by cpf.

If u are rich and have the budget then buy those that u like by all means. Ur house, ur rules. Most important is u are happy.

jericho75

Then just use hdb ones lor. My 4 room flat lasted me for more than 10 yrs before I sold the flat. Current 5 room flat lasted me more than 5 yrs. It's all paid for by cpf.

If u are rich and have the budget then buy those that u like by all means. Ur house, ur rules. Most important is u are happy.

actually my current old home the taps all no branded from lelong shops. but still last decades liao.

testerjp

Thanks. The vinyl comes with the flat. Actually use vinyl should be ok? I know ppl have tiles and the grout dirt is making them crazy and wanna do over lay with vinyl.

I think the money for taps better use it buy a marantz network player or bigger cc aircon.
Grout dirt no big deal one leh.
You can get people to repair it

If you got budget, you can use Epoxy instead of grout.
This is recommended for toilet.
Epoxy won't come off so easily, it's like hard plastic, can last alot longer.
Don't believe ask AI.

Everything HDB provides all got certain standard one.
If you find okay no problem then okay lor.

Plastic are less vulnerable to chemical.

Vinyl is easily replacement, so no problem.
The one used by HDB should be by evorich, they charge like $7++ , i find it overpriced.
SPC made of stone composite is $5++. Difference is the feel is less hollow, less likely to expand and contract, really feel like walking on tiles.

For your vinyl, Evorich is using virgin plastic, meaning not recycled plastic which could be offgasing toxic and may contract or expand more.

But still, it's plastic, after some time you may see the gaps between the vinyl getting bigger.

If your tiles are properly laid, can easily last for decades.
No need marble, marble floor are PITA to care because they are porous.
You have acidic stuff drip on it is siao liao.

If your vinyl needs to be replaced every 10 years, you pay actually more in the long run. Inflation will push the cost of replacement higher in the future.

But since do liao, then live with it lor. Good thing is you can change the look and feel ten to twenty years.
Vinyl got one thing good is they are not brittle. If you drop something hard on your porcelain, it may chip off or crack.
Others to scare is they kana scratch and peel off, need to put protection felt gliders on all your furniture.
Also if exposed to sunlight, it may discolor from UV damage.

Your vinyl is at best 7mm with underlay. Tile with cement sure taller.
If you decide to change from vinyl to tile now, floor sure will have height difference.

Air con, these days i think can consider China brands.
Because all the Mitsubishi electric, Daikin, Panasonic all have motherboard problem which are expensive to replace.

Heard Midea now can take down the blower even easier than Mitsubishi. My Midea in the office i torture it and it could still last damn well. The servicing standard is good, beats alot of those freelance ones and cost the same.

Prism i think is using Greely, if the support is good, can consider.
Greely is China's top A/C brand, even better than Midea. Someone told me can save $1k, enough to pay for alot of heavy servicing.

jericho75

Grout dirt no big deal one leh.
You can get people to repair it

If you got budget, you can use Epoxy instead of grout.
This is recommended for toilet.
Epoxy won't come off so easily, it's like hard plastic, can last alot longer.
Don't believe ask AI.

Everything HDB provides all got certain standard one.
If you find okay no problem then okay lor.

Plastic are less vulnerable to chemical.

Vinyl is easily replacement, so no problem.
The one used by HDB should be by evorich, they charge like $7++ , i find it overpriced.
SPC made of stone composite is $5++. Difference is the feel is less hollow, less likely to expand and contract, really feel like walking on tiles.

For your vinyl, Evorich is using virgin plastic, meaning not recycled plastic which could be offgasing toxic and may contract or expand more.

But still, it's plastic, after some time you may see the gaps between the vinyl getting bigger.

If your tiles are properly laid, can easily last for decades.
No need marble, marble floor are PITA to care because they are porous.
You have acidic stuff drip on it is siao liao.

If your vinyl needs to be replaced every 10 years, you pay actually more in the long run. Inflation will push the cost of replacement higher in the future.

But since do liao, then live with it lor. Good thing is you can change the look and feel ten to twenty years.
Vinyl got one thing good is they are not brittle. If you drop something hard on your porcelain, it may chip off or crack.
Others to scare is they kana scratch and peel off, need to put protection felt gliders on all your furniture.
Also if exposed to sunlight, it may discolor from UV damage.

Your vinyl is at best 7mm with underlay. Tile with cement sure taller.
If you decide to change from vinyl to tile now, floor sure will have height difference.

Air con, these days i think can consider China brands.
Because all the Mitsubishi electric, Daikin, Panasonic all have motherboard problem which are expensive to replace.

Heard Midea now can take down the blower even easier than Mitsubishi. My Midea in the office i torture it and it could still last damn well. The servicing standard is good, beats alot of those freelance ones and cost the same.

Prism i think is using Greely, if the support is good, can consider.
Greely is China's top A/C brand, even better than Midea. Someone told me can save $1k, enough to pay for alot of heavy servicing.

the problem is hdb dun let us choose what we want for certain projects. everything ppvc then build in liao. u dun want all the items also included in the price. So if vinyl can use maybe just use. i know porcelain can tahan but then after 10 years also might look old liao.

heard hdb using evorich vinyl as stock. I think they are able to due to large volume also also charged to the buyers liao. use cheapo one later more issues ppl will look for them.

aircon i keep hearing from ppl better use daikin or mitsubishi ones.

TV hisense ok because my bro got one and far works fine.

FT PRIDE

Basically TS bto is a PPVC (Prefabricated Prefinished Volumetric Construction) project, he can't choose unlike OCS (Optional Component Scheme). Everything (floor, wall, door, toilet, etc) is decided and installed by HDB.

hachi

Just get bumble grout and tiles that can be polish. Did my for current house... No more grout dirt.

FT PRIDE

actually dunno how much they charge for the OCS. but mine kenna forced to take. cannot say no.

if charge ppl 3k for toilet shower, taps and doors. also expensive leh. should give toto one.
Actually they didn't force you. You could choose not to bto that project.

weiess

can use lah..
lasted 12yrs for me, before i need to change it..

FT PRIDE

No. Pvcc one cannot choose. All included. U dun want ownself dismantle.
Yes, which is why i said they didn't force you because it is indicated in the brochure the project is ppvc. So you can actually choose not to apply for that project if you don't like the idea.

testerjp

the problem is hdb dun let us choose what we want for certain projects. everything ppvc then build in liao. u dun want all the items also included in the price. So if vinyl can use maybe just use. i know porcelain can tahan but then after 10 years also might look old liao.

heard hdb using evorich vinyl as stock. I think they are able to due to large volume also also charged to the buyers liao. use cheapo one later more issues ppl will look for them.

aircon i keep hearing from ppl better use daikin or mitsubishi ones.

TV hisense ok because my bro got one and far works fine.
Daikin and mitsubishi being reliable is outdated news for many years already. All those power efficient models are easy to spoilt.

jericho75

Daikin and mitsubishi being reliable is outdated news for many years already. All those power efficient models are easy to spoilt.

Those ah tiong brands better meh? So those 4 or 5 ticks Japanese spoil easily?

jericho75

Yes, which is why i said they didn't force you because it is indicated in the brochure the project is ppvc. So you can actually choose not to apply for that project if you don't like the idea.

If u dun apply then try other locations? If u ok with the location dun make sense dun apply right? Plus if I dun apply the next bto hiked up pricing by 40k liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.