Woman gets $1 a month in maintenance, after judge dismisses her appeal for spousal support

N4E.SI

What might happen here is that let’s say you cohabit with someone in Singapore in your flat for years. It must be years. Then you separate. You are not married so it’s not a matrimonial home or anything. But by virtue of her staying for years in your place and she is not a tenant with a tenancy agreement, she might have some rights to your place

Of cos maybe no rights at all but I don’t want to be the first person to kenna this in court to find out for sure. But one lawyer told me that all your love letters like “we will stay together in this house forever” or “what I have is yours and what is yours is mine” might actually end up as evidence in court that you promised the house to her even if not married

No guarantees or comments on the verdict la. Just be careful what you message or write even if it’s love letters

This is really disturbing. SG really finds all ways to pwn men. Get married, kena pwn by WC. Cohabit, kena pwn by what squatter's law.

So in summary, the best solution in SG is just stay single and find cheekon/fl/ml every week. Every month change girl, confirm won't lose your assets liao 😀

Joseph12

But she gets 40% of his other assets. She didn't pay instalment for the flat cos she isn't listed as co owner. She did pay but hdb refunded her as per the article.

The man still lugi. But good thing is got custody of the daughter and $300+ for kid maintenance from ex wife.
Actually the man F her up

If she paid and flat not seized and they sell later, whether ordered by court or not,
she will get bigger proportion DEFINITELY

And he persistently refused to put her name on title deed

So ended up she got lesser
This is a worthy lesson for all Singapore men.to learn
Plus he tried to send her back India

N4E.SI

take note of the $1 dollar, if next time can claim more from ex hubby.

better to have a clean cut from a stranger or ex wife.

stupid wc why still need to pay a non blood related stranger money once divorced.

SG law really takes care of the woman.

Like saying even if the wife cheats or stabs you, she reserves the right to suka suka take more money from you anytime she needs

So in SG a man literally becomes a walking ATM the moment he gets married ... lol 😀

N4E.SI

If she paid and flat not seized and they sell later, whether ordered by court or not,

Maybe he knows that under WC, he will sure get pwn. So decides to play rouge and pwn the ex-wife first 😀

I will say he quite smart to think of that

Joseph12

Maybe he knows that under WC, he will sure get pwn. So decides to play rouge and pwn the ex-wife first 😀

I will say he quite smart to think of that
That's why I said Singapore men should learn from him

Instead of getting F by WC , make sure BOTH parties suffer

dambio

I think it's a cock up
She probably is still Indian and Singapore PR
Unless she is like US national and still Singapore PR?
yea shld be. If not judge also wun say she's a foreigner. But y still say former? So quite weird😂

Ethan_

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...udge-dismisses-her-appeal-for-spousal-support

This is especially since the woman – a former Indian national and Singapore permanent resident – cannot buy an HDB flat on her own, among other factors.

Former means give up her former nationality alr? Now is not alr? Either she still is or is not. Now if is spr, means she no nationality now?

Ms Chen said that if a flat is considered a matrimonial asset under the Women’s Charter, it is liable to be divided between the couple. This is even if one spouse fully financed the property, or the flat is under one spouse’s name only.

Wc is best. Stay single better😂
Just curious, can buy it under a different entity and then rent it to live for marriage?

hwarzoner

SG law really takes care of the woman.

Like saying even if the wife cheats or stabs you, she reserves the right to suka suka take more money from you anytime she needs

So in SG a man literally becomes a walking ATM the moment he gets married ... lol 😀
exactly just really stay single and be contented, even if she kills you she still take all the money.

coldish

"46-year-old regular serviceman in the Singapore Armed Forces whose net salary is $5,212 a month."
How come 46yo SAF regular only $5.2k? Hentakai MSG or ME2 is it?
Shld be captain or entry Major. Net leh.

elloz123

Why the lawyer say her accommodation is the guy problem.
If the guy no place to stay will become the female problem also? Lovin the equality.

glarerder

He also get lesser but at least he song dao. Rather get less than give her more.

mxkxmx

In Singapore, true love and marriage is that the man surrenders 50% assets to the woman 🤣 everything has a price to pay.

Joseph12

Why the lawyer say her accommodation is the guy problem.
If the guy no place to stay will become the female problem also? Lovin the equality.

Cos the judge only awarded $1 for wife's maintenance which husband is to pay for.

The lawyer is saying $1 is manifestly inadequate for maintenance, cos it includes her eating AND housing.

Cos the woman don't pay for man's maintenance, hence his housing isn't her problem

elloz123

Cos the judge only awarded $1 for wife's maintenance which husband is to pay for.

The lawyer is saying $1 is manifestly inadequate for maintenance, cos it includes her eating AND housing.

Cos the woman don't pay for man's maintenance, hence his housing isn't her problem
No I'm asking if the roles were reversed will the woman need to pay him lol.

Laneige

this case is v diff from the usual one
she paid for the house monthly installment too
the hsb blocked her access to kid, dont pay n ask for hdb to take back house

st0rm5cap3

images
Welcome back nacht! You still keeping good in Aussie? Miss your medical AMAs...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.