Strong profile local jobless, thousands of applications

DragonFire

Boolsheet. Why you all keep believing in this kind of nonsense. When you feel that a sob story is fake, it probably is. Got agenda one.

Forties, top school, distinction holder, previously in global firm, impeccable performance - no property?

Storyline fits the profile of some oppo supporters, tell ppl to migrate instead of positively providing tips to handle the situation.
More likely there is a problem with the person. We have encountered before high performers who are just oddballs. They deliver, but cannot fit in or are just plain weird. When the time comes for the axe to fall, relationships matter more than work. HR is as human as their title suggests.

When you are older you increasingly depend on friends and colleagues/ex colleagues in the industry for finding stable positions. You are supposed to have established a strong social circle for that to work out. Applications for work are sent out as mere formalities after the discussions are all over. We don't call this the cronyism capital of the world for nothing.

Oddballs who have no social circle and have to fall back on details that are largely irrelevant by that time are largely SOL. Just like a whilst a straight As report card useful at finding one a place at the starting line we call life, it is meaningless once the race is actually being run.

- don't burn bridges. even trolls need a place to call home -

miko66

Heed my advice,
Take up a security officer course
Sure land a job in 1 month no need wait 7y
No such thing as exceed expectations

It's survival

Alternatively, go sell tissues paper outside bugis GYMM temple

Acetone

This guy pichak his own lobang lah…. Should not mention great grandpa is a sinkie… now we all know it’s a holiday story. 😂

fandango

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
Your asking salary to high.

eAtNeAt

Garmen will say there are lots of jobs
Juz whether sinkies want nia.

DragonFire

This guy pichak his own lobang lah…. Should not mention great grandpa is a sinkie… now we all know it’s a holiday story. 😂
My great grand pappy was a drug lord. He ran opium dens in Guangzhou. Had to flee to SEA because of the revolution.

FerloneChiow

Possibly too high salary expectation. Like many gen z...start work only after graduation expect 10k/mth salary, 20k/month by second year.

AngelRomeo

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
kum lan left perm role

Cokacola

the problem nowadays is everyone feels they are overqualified but only shout out their ego about it and refuse to take a lower tier job during low tide of their life.

common sense will tell you that most jobs are 80% low to mid level and only 20% are top tier and hard competition placement. So the hard truth is if other people can be CEO but not you, can only mean you are not good enough be it capabilities or networking.

even nowadays my company want to recruit fresh poly grads or anyone qualified for average executive admin job at $3200 also no takers, everyone wants to work at "google" or one step reach heaven companies.

StoicGuy

You being retrenched.. interviewer also wun ask you much on why you left your last job because it's beyond your control and performance.

You resigned yourself then interviewer will dig into why you left without a job. Izzit tio pok.

Worst still. You resigned before getting a retrenchment package. Interviewer sure asked. Why this guy got money dun want???

Better dun hire him because later problematic..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.