Strong profile local jobless, thousands of applications

tokong

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
Boolsheet. Why you all keep believing in this kind of nonsense. When you feel that a sob story is fake, it probably is. Got agenda one.

Forties, top school, distinction holder, previously in global firm, impeccable performance - no property?

Storyline fits the profile of some oppo supporters, tell ppl to migrate instead of positively providing tips to handle the situation.

khratit

I highly doubt TS's credibility. Great-grandparents live in Singapore. and is in his late 40s?

Come on. I am a 3-gen Singaporean in my mid 40s. My grandfather was from China and had been in Singapore since 1930s until his demise. What is the possibility of his great grandparents living in Singapore? :rolleyes:
Huh

Rast time people merry at age 16 leh

Ethan_

Can always do grab... isnt this what Singaporeans voted for all these while?
And the irony is, probably the same bunch of people who say such will also say later on, why don't get a proper job, why do grab. JJWW and 'suan'. And that is until they are also down and out, at the receiving end of such. :s22:

Solidus_GZ

Actually about the application it is quite real, from time to time I send out my cv to apply even the same position I was in now but none come back to me for interview i wonder if my cv really get tru the thousand of cv that was sent to hr.

Kwein

username checks out

rohSW6fcL4hcAVujAVFaxX.jpg

DragonFire

Strange thread. No replies from TS so far? 28 posts since 2022.

Anyway. I am not sure what industry TS is in. All I cans say is that not all jobs are equal, just as not all Sinkies are equal. My industry isn't doing well, but it doesn't sound as dire as TS's. My peers are by and large still in employment - we are all in TS's age group - and when some of us move around, nobody stays unemployed for very long. The interesting thing is that jobs are usually found by asking around in our social circles. We hardly do blind applications. What happened to TS's social circle? One should have been built by one's 40s. That is a security net made of people who know who you are, what you can do, and your work ethic.

- Never ever burn bridges or breed toxicity -

Perhaps there are other factors at play. It isn't a bad thing expanding horizons to the outside world. TS owes Singapore no loyalty just as it owes us nothing. We are a small population on a small island in a big big ocean.

Dividends

Ownself rate ownself, obviously employers don't think TS has a strong enough profile, or maybe he's too picky and has too high of an asking salary. No matter how good the specs of something is on paper, if the price is too high, no one will buy.

LoneTraveller

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
Bro, have u tried the security industry? Not as a guard but as management?

Foetid

Ts dun give up, I m in 50s I fully understand...only way is do grab or security... I know someone study until master now do security
Bro @jgrader, are u serious?? master degree become security guard, the person is 70s or 80s years old??

Lchlch

Boolsheet. Why you all keep believing in this kind of nonsense. When you feel that a sob story is fake, it probably is. Got agenda one.

Forties, top school, distinction holder, previously in global firm, impeccable performance - no property?

Storyline fits the profile of some oppo supporters, tell ppl to migrate instead of positively providing tips to handle the situation.
If he can show how he apply for 1000 jobs ..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.