Johor is going to be the place to live, eat, play

Coffeelix

Best part i got a friend who use to work in a msian majority company .... they suppose to take turn to standby for issue on weekend or long weekend. But the boss always asked sinkies to cover for the jhk citing weekend they back in johor.

My friend du lan and fu*k the msian turn pr boss also. Jhk has family sinkies dont have ? They go back Johor cannot answer phone or no internet is it ?
Problem now is sg workforce is predominantly ex My or My so sg
certainly will b at great disadvantage on own home ground cos sg policies supported it…
Have 65% to blame for

Coffeelix

Easier for Malaysians to stay in JB and come to SG to compete for jobs. Also it hurts our F&B, retail and others e.g. medical sectors.
Can see our kids will b displaced by ex my and my …
Already mentally prepared my kids to consider to retire by age 40 in jb cos once they lost their jobs, they won’t find another replacement unless they willing to work as security guards or grab drivers or in food delivery

artncraft

Can see our kids will b displaced by ex my and my …
Already mentally prepared my kids to consider to retire by age 40 in jb cos once they lost their jobs, they won’t find another replacement unless they willing to work as security guards or grab drivers or in food delivery

Also Chinese, Indians, Indonesians etc.

JB may not be so welcoming after it becomes richer.

Kuudere

Very nice. Those photos taken from the Capri near the CIQ?
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites~? :s22:

Johor-bahru-JB-condo-Paragon-suites.jpg

Paragon-suites-JB.jpg

Paragon-Suites-at-JB-CIQ.jpg

Nice nice, same unit as you. The thing I don't like is that I always smell the sewage smell when going up the lift. Otherwise all good.

sunsetbay

Paragon Suites

Nice nice, same unit as you. The thing I don't like is that I always smell the sewage smell when going up the lift. Otherwise all good.

I only Airbnb there~ I didn't smell anything, maybe waste water leak to the lift well~?

Overall it's very spacious, high ceiling, tight security, "walkable" to CIQ but it's not near to any shops~ nearest mall is R&F though~ :s22:

Dudick

Tropicana taps global design giant SOM to lead Johor's Lido Waterfront masterplan​

By Sharen Kaur
May 27, 2025 @ 5:45pm

KUALA LUMPUR: Tropicana Corporation Bhd has appointed renowned architecture and urban planning firm Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM) to lead the masterplan for the 163-acre Lido Waterfront Boulevard (LIDO) in Johor Bahru.

This strategic partnership marks a major milestone for the development, which is set to transform LIDO into a world-class, future-ready coastal metropolis and smart city in the southern region of Malaysia. The masterplan will integrate seven key components—residential, commercial, wellness, education, hospitality, recreational, and lifestyle—into a unified, sustainable waterfront destination.

https://www.nst.com.my/property/202...-design-giant-som-lead-johors-lido-waterfront

All these take with a pinch of salt. Forest City was launch so much fanfare, reclaim land somemore etc but look at its state now?

matrix05

All these take with a pinch of salt. Forest City was launch so much fanfare, reclaim land somemore etc but look at its state now?
Forest Ghost City w/o HSR is unalive. Next 5 yr, all attention captured by developments around RTS, the wait to return to live is long.

lampano

Wah now all say dao jb got dragon got tiger. All praise and retirement there lol

Later bolehland 1 political move everything kaput lol

Shall see how it goes.

artncraft

Wah now all say dao jb got dragon got tiger. All praise and retirement there lol

Shall see how it goes.

Because you need to pay S$3 mil to get a similar sized condominium in Singapore, compared to S$300k in JB.

testerjp

Shall see how it goes.
They can't even get a PR or visa there. I don't know what retirement they talking about. :o

lampano

They can't even get a PR or visa there. I don't know what retirement they talking about. :o
Gg there for few days visit and staying there is very diff. Here u walk few steps or bus coffeeshop. Eatery or market

there u need drive everywhere..ya rite when u old see who drive u around.
See doctor also problem lol

Coffeelix

Ask them to work as civil serpents ba. Ish iron rice bowl jod :(
Not ez to get in…
Probably is who u know…
My friend’s son got into SIA thru recommendation…
I heard ICA too…

Sg is no longer the sg of yesteryears with so many new sg that “look out for your countrymen” ….

ramlee

Shall see how it goes.
We can ask pap for help :(

yobyella

Shall see how it goes.

I pray PN/PAS will be the govt of the day come next election ;)

DeadPeople

Jb sez mirror like hk n Shenzhen. Will sg economy mirror the same as current hk in the future

testerjp

Gg there for few days visit and staying there is very diff. Here u walk few steps or bus coffeeshop. Eatery or market

there u need drive everywhere..ya rite when u old see who drive u around.
See doctor also problem lol
Without a valid PR/Visa, which they will unlikely get their hands on anyway.
I think their idea is keep the house in Singapore to stay 2/3 or the time.
Go Malaysia stay 1/3 of the time.

It becomes spend alot more instead, because needs to invest in two homes and to maintain them.
Or rent a unit there.
Savings not found, lower standard of living instead

Not as if can rent out the HDB in Singapore to finance their stay there.
Without a long term visa, they can only LL come back SG to stay most of the time.

I read from the MM2H Facebook thread.
They flip prata again, only Forest City eligible for SEZ MM2H
https://www.facebook.com/share/r/1EaZVNbJMd/

Anyway the interest for MM2H is dwindling everyday, most expats gave up or left for Thailand.

Hard truth but they somehow conveniently ignore this very important point.

In 2029 Jan, the seat for the King of Malaysia will rotate again, now it is favourable to Johor because they are now the King. But things will eventually change like they always do. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.